Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
36

on 14 August 2012
A tough all weather case from Samsonite suitable for larger digital cameras with viewfinders such as the semi-pro Nikon P7xxx and Canon G1x series. The internal dimensions are 7cm x 8cm x 13cm and the case has an outside zipped pocket for storing extra memory cards or spare batteries. Made of well padded black nylon with leather trim and a rubberised base, it has a concealed rain cover for any inclement weather. A belt loop and padded neck strap are provided and the case has a large velcro flap to seal the camera compartment allowing easy access to the camera kept snugly inside.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2009
This is a fabulous little bag that fits my Canon G10 perfectly. It has a main pocket for the camera and a zipped pocket for spare cards etc. It can be slipped onto a belt, and it comes with a sturdy and comfortable strap. The strap is long enough to wear across the body and has a well padded neck section so it's ideal when I'm out walking. The bag opens and closes easily and the camera is readily accessable. The bag is showerproof - it's been out with me in all weathers and has kept my camera nice & dry. Finally, it's build quality is excellent and it looks stylish, as you would expect from Samsonite. All this for such a reasonable price - what more could you want?
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2012
I bought this case for my Sony NEX-5N with 16mm kit lens. I had previously bought the Sony LCSBBDB Alpha Soft Carrying Case and was disappointed at the complete lack of protection and awkward access.

By chance I came across this Samsonite case, although there is no specific mention of any customer buying this for the NEX-5N. However it fits quite nicely with a little extra space that allows me to wrap the shoulder strap around the camera before placing it in the case. The main hood fastens with Velcro and is really convenient for quick access. Other cases I've tried have angled zip fastenings that make it awkward to get to the camera in a hurry.

The front pocket is big enough for a spare battery or filter. Within the case, there is room either side of the camera to fit the standard flash unit and a remote control - although this makes it less convenient to access the camera. There is a discreet rain cover in the back sleeve that also adds extra padding.

The level of protection is fairly good - enough to take a few knocks. Not up to the standard of a Low Pro (which I also own), but far better than Sony's own Soft case.

Overall the build quality is very good, as expected from Samsonite. It's quite a bargain - seems like there must have been a mistake in the price or else it's an old line. Either way, money well spent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2013
Purchased this case for my Canon G15 and it could have been made for it.
It fits the camera like a glove, and I can get two spare batteries and an SD card in the front pouch.
The case is nicely styled, however I have docked one point for the closure.
Why oh why did Samsonite decide to use velcro which is noisy and has a finite life, when they could have come up with some kind of zip fastener, which would also provide a bit more security.
Could do better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2011
I bought this case for a sony camcorder (dcr SR55E) It fits a treat. There is enough room for an extra battery, usb cable, and a memory card if needed. There is also plenty of room for an oversize battery if fitted to the camcorder. Also comes with a waterproof cover, tucked in the back, and a rubber pad on the bottom for extra protection. An excellent quality case, and well worth the money. Obviously other products of a similar size can also be used in this case/bag.
I have bought another, smaller one for my camera.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I had been searching for a compact case for my Fuji X10 - something that would offer some protection but with minimum bulk. Although this case does not quite meet my requirement I bought it because the price was so attractive that I took a punt. I can only say that it is a bargain. The X10 fits very well and surplus bulk is mostly due to pockets for spare accessories. It turns out that a spare battery is fairly essential on the X10 so I needed the pockets anyway.

I particluarly like the top loading with this case which makes for safe storage and retrieval. I also like the velcro closure which gives fast access. The closure could leak, but it comes with a rain cover. The cover doesn't quite fit 100%, but it does cover the bits that are most likely to leak.

It also comes with a very nice shoulder strap and a belt loop. I can't imagine that there is a more functional case out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2013
I had been looking around for a suitable case for the X10 and had narrowed it down to a Lowepro or the Fuji old-style camera case. Then I came across this Samsonite. It seemed too good to be true at this bargain price, but being tight with a quid I took a punt on it and am delighted.

It's well made, has plenty of padding (and a rubberized bottom for putting on wet ground), an extra zipped compartment for battery and cards and will take the camera with strap coiled up in the main compartment. There's a decent strap with shoulder pad and a belt loop. The only drawback is the flap design, which is probably not waterproof in a downpour, but I'm in the pub long before that ! It is bulky compared to the official Fuji case, but it does more and is £50.00 cheaper - 'nuff said !

Fast and efficient service from fotoSENSE, so all in all highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2013
Looked all over the internet for a case for my Fujifilm X10 with filter attached and this is one of the very few that offered a reasonable fit. Handy fron pouch takes spare battery, memory card and remote release cord as well. I would have been prepared to pay more for this well made, versatile little case.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I own 2 other of these Samsonite Trekking cases. The DFV 20, and the DFV80 (see my other reviews).
They are all extremely well made as you would expect from Samsonite and at the prices often on offer for on Amazon, are an absolute bargain. This one houses my Nikon Compact Binoculars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2013
Lovely small case just the right size for a small camcorder or camera with a small pocket on the front for a memory card.

Cheaper than buying a well known make of case with a really lovely strap that can be worn for ages without being cut into like some straps do. Have taken it off this case when not using camcorder in bag to use for my Pentax K5 Digital SLR that is how good it is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)