Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
12
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2008
This DVD is described as "gathers together incredible archive footage from the era, much of it never before seen, and intersperses the footage with old recordings, memorabilia and in-depth discussions from the world's foremost Music Hall authority, Peter Gammond."

If that was the case it would be a great DVD.

It isn't. Because there are not enough clips, just Peter Gammond and Lionel Blair talking to camera.

Very disappointing.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
Very dry and dull. Not enough live performances and doesn't put across any excitement. Rather too much of Lionel Blair. More for the real fans.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
I was a little disappointed with my purchase ,due to the fact that I was wanting to do some research on the way a Music Hall programme was presented . What I got was a Documentary on the history of Music Hall entertainment . However , I did learn a lot from watching it . Perhaps , hidden away in your Archives ,you may have a D.V.D., of a performance ,or two , of an evening at a Music Hall . My research tells me that it would be either a "Sachs' ( I think that was the name of the Chairman ) or the Leeds Music Hall . Please advise as I would definitely be interested in purchasing a copy
Cheers from Australia
Andrew Robertson
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
i bought this for my parents, both of whom have Alzheimers. One of my best purchases! It brought back many happy memories and they both join in the songs. DVD contains many songs, old footage and good commentary. Highly recommended for elderly folk - in fact i have bought it again to give to the old folks home in the village.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
Although the DVD was quite intersting, sadly it didnt conatain much actual on stage acts, in the context of the Good Old Days TV program I was expecting.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2011
was actually after the tv series The good old days and found this, really a documentry but interesting all the same
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
Great Item Many thanks. A+ seller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
Interesting for what it was but I was looking for nonstop genuine performance. The actual ambiance of the hall would be nice. So little of this material is retained.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2016
Great introduction to music hall.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2016
Good to see
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)