Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

  • Today
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
70
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£34.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 November 2015
Elvis Today Is a Landmark Album it is classed as The last official Album to be recorded by The Legend That is Elvis. The Album kicks off in style with The Track T R O U B L E Not to be confused with an earlier song of The same name which Elvis sang in The movie King Creole. This is more Hard rock style similar to Presley's earlier Hit Guitar Man. Just Hear Him croon His way Through The Perry Como Hit And I Love You So or The Tom Jones classic Green Green Grass Of Home and you can see why Elvis set The standard for all other artists. Hear Him give His all to The Billy Swan standard I Can Help almost outstripping The Swan original. The Album comes complete with alternate Demo versions of all The Today songs But you Don't really notice much Difference CD 2 Gives us Tracks recorded in concert more familiar Elvis Territory Here with classics like The Wonder Of You. The Album is packaged in sturdy carboard with full colour information booklet I would have preferred The standard CD case But The whole package is nicely put Together. I still Have The Today Album on vinyl which I bought when it first came out I was impressed Then as I am now. One Thing is certain Elvis's recordings sessions went out in style with The release of This Album. A Must Have.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2005
This is one of the better 70`s albums by Elvis offering a varied collection of songs ranging from rock(TROUBLE) ballads (And i love you so, country (green green grass of home) gospel(Shake a hand)etc. Its an album with alot of great tunes which makes it highly listenable. This two cd set includes the original album with outakes(includes a jam version of Tiger Man) and a second disc with original session mixes which were rejected by Elvis and remixed by Felton Jarvis, his regular producer) Its interesting comparing the different versions.Also on this disc are 6 songs which were worked on by Elvis and his band at 6363 Sunset studios in Hollywood. The packaging is superb, a fold out gatefold sleeve with booklet (the usual high standards from FTD).
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Great performance from my favorite artist
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
Brilliant cd highly recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
Super Elvis cd just buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
completely satisfied
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2003
This album sends shivers up and down my spine. Here's why: The King was simply at his absolute very best vocally. His delivery is breathtaking and the voice is unbelievable - right from the first note to the last chord of the last track. Ten gold-plated songs filled with awesome power and soaked with pure emotion. He sounds Rock; Country; Rhythm; Blues; Ballad; and Gospel - all in one album!!!

Recording at RCA's Studio C in Los Angeles between 10th and 12th March 1975, the session proved to be the last time Elvis Presley would record in an actual studio. He kicks off with T-R-O-U-B-L-E and you can tell immediately that he means business. This is his heaviest and fastest rock track of the 70's. He just attacks it head on. No one else can deliver with the same aggression. And the 'hiccup' sounds at the end are mesmerising.

AND I LOVE YOU SO comes next and Elvis does true justice to this classic. Just listen to that voice. Suddenly you are a ballads fan! SUSAN WHEN SHE TRIED would have sounded too country but Elvis turns it into a brilliant country-rock piece. It ranks as one of my favourites here. WOMAN WITHOUT LOVE takes you into another world as backing vocals come in very prominently and beautifully here.

The rest of the album is truly superb with notable outstanding tracks such as, well, all of them. Just listen to the phenomenal power of SHAKE A HAND and decide for yourself if this is a blues, rock or gospel - or the emotion-filled PIECES OF MY LIFE. The beautiful FAIRYTALE shows us how country music should sound - Presley style!

Next the Billy Swan number I CAN HELP and you can sense how much Elvis is into it just by that powerhouse ending. BRINGIN' IT BACK is so good that words alone cannot even come close to a description - those few minutes are worth the album alone. The Tom Jones hit GREEN GREEN GRASS OF HOME is the last magic spell on this CD. But this is a very different version with Elvis and backing vocals merging beautifully to really blow you away.

ELVIS TODAY was released in mid 1975 - when Elvis had turned 40 and the world was watching his waistline rather than his work. Glam rock was at its peak and Presley was now more of a concert performer than a recording artist, having not recorded anything in a studio since late '73. The puzzling crime however was that although Elvis was performing sellout concerts to screaming fans all over America, this album should have gone to number one but didn't.

I hope you enjoy Elvis Today as much I do. Just turn it up loud! Today
22 Comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2003
There are few albums i listen to without skipping a track but this one is so good that all you have to do is sit back and listen. Vocally Presley is fantastic - from songs such as the fast T-R-O-U-B-L-E or the slow Pieces Of My Life, he carries it off superbly. I think this version of Green, Green Grass Of Home not only matches but betters Tom Jones' version. With much more emotion and strength in his voice. I can see that maybe it wasnt the right choice of songs for the average music fan in 1975. But for Elvis fans i fail to see how its been so overlooked.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
great extras
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
already revieuded
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)