Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
43
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2017
The Stooges first album is an absolute classic, It includes his rightly famous brilliant songs I Wanna be your Dog, No Fun and 1969 along with lesser known classics such as Ann, Real Cool Time, Not Right and Little Doll, and the 10 minute long We Will Fall, (which I have to admit I didn`t like at first but since grew to love). It`s worth getting the 2CD deluxe version, with alternative John Cale mixes, alternative vocals and wonderful extra long versions of Ann and No Fun. Wonderful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2005
How to write and record an album in less than 24 hours. You don't get albums like that anymore. You certainly don't get a band covered with pimples in a studio with a producer in the calibre of John Cale.
Even more so when the songs are only half baked ideas. Back then, however, it was revolutionary. Nowdays, even with tons of pimples on your face, you're still expected to sound polished to death, and worse, with no pimples at all.
The great thing in writing and recording within 24 hours - like this one was - is that you can capture a very specific mood and sound. The benefits: it makes the album homogenous, and the improvisations help in making the result intersting even after 20 listens.
Immediate and raw - 'I Want To Be Your Dog' and 'No Fun' are easily amongst Iggy's best 10 songs ever.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2004
The thing that struck me about this album when I first heard it was how 'un-Iggy' it sounded. However it still sounds great. The opener "1969" is grunge meets Bo Diddley with Iggy drawling his lyrics before going into a screaming coda. The next track "I Wanna Be Your Dog" is pure classic Stooges, the relentless riff, thumping drums and Iggy's sexually driven vocals driving to a superb guitar solo , making it probably one of the must influential songs ever. The songs attracted many cover versions, most notably by Sid Vicious. The songs "Not Right" and "Real Cool Time" are the most straight ahead rockers here, and impossible to dislike. "Anne" slows the pace down a little, adding a strange spookiness to the proceedings. The centrepiece of the album is undoubtably "No Fun", a tour-de-force of the band sound. This attracted an almost identical cover from the Sex Pistols. What should have been the albums closer, but was bizzarly placed in the middle, is the 10minute opus "We Will Fall". Sounding strangely like the Velvet Underground (due to John Cale's production), the song features Cale's droning viola, reverb drenched tom-tom beats, and a 'Holy Grail' style monk chant all the way through. Truly a stoner's thing! All in all, despite it's faults this is an essential purchase for any fan of rock.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
I was just on my way out to the doctors when I remembered I hadn't reviewed this one yet. I've literally got five minutes so please excuse me my uncharacteristic brevity. I wouldn't want to appear dismissive. It's just I've been having these terrible heads of late accompanied by what I can only describe as an almost complete derangement of the senses (see Rimaud, Art., not Rambo, John). For example, I was in Presto the other day, there to buy a lemon and a pair of socks, when it appeared that the old woman behind me was leading a bullock rather than pushing a trolley. It was only later that I recalled that Presto had ceased to exist years ago! Then there was the occasion a couple of weeks back when I could have sworn that a small dog called me a 'Preening tart' in the local park. There are many more episodes but I don't want to miss my bus. I could drive but the idea of my having one of my 'visions' at the wheel frightens me. I dread to think of what sort of mayhem might ensue were I to see Rolf Harris riding a reindeer down the high street dressed in tight Pink Panther pyjamas, while in command, or not, of the Sierra.
Which said, I bought this believing it to be the comedy trio and haven't even listened to it yet. I'll probably pass it on to my son, Leif, after the singer, Garrett, a great favourite of my late wife Judy, after the singer, Garland, a great favourite of her even later father Bing, after the singer, Crosby, a great favourite of his mother, whose name I forget, who recently began a course of antibiotics for a bit of trouble he's having 'downstairs' and needs cheering up. It's more likely his kind of thing. He's very keen on The Busted or something. Must dash.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2000
Self expression is hard to come by when you lack any talent or ability. This album just goes to show that with the smallest bit of ability, a pinch of skill and the simplest of chords and scales, something truly transcendent can be created. Hell, wasn't that what punk was all about? The bigger question is why do so many of these try hard musicians end up sounding so damn good? Lou Reed, Johnny Thunders, Richard Hell, Alan Vega and yes, even Iggy Pop and Ron Asheton. This album is just the b**locks. Every song burns with some of the greatest riffs created, lacking anything like the polish of fellow early stalwarts and riffmeisters Led Zepplin. Sounding ten times better also, for all their crudy roughness. Powerhouse drumming and Wah Wah noise to fry an egg on. Worth noting is the producer, none other than Welshman John Cale, bringing his noisy, avant garde sensibilties on the back of two other seminal, pre punk, Velvet Underground albums. This Album inspired many artists to pick up the guitar, learn a couple of chords and make music, including myself. This album hasn't aged a jot, unlike contempories The Doors, whose music The Stooges took to its logical conclusion, including Iggy's cavorting. Sound's fresher today than freshly caught fish, taken to the fresh market on freshday, and sold by Mr Fresh the fishmonger. Bow at the alter of apocalyptic guitar heaven.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
When this album was released in 1969 it was too out there and ahead of its time,to get mainstream acceptance.It is now regarded as a classic and a template for punk,that came 7 years later.The quality recording of this remastered edition,makes the album sound awesome,especially when played loud[the only way to hear it!].The songs...just listen and you'll understand! those guitar riffs,that voice,the bass,the drums its all here. This is well packaged,containing a decent booklet with plenty of info about the stooges and the recording of the album,plus some decent photos. Best tracks on 2nd disc are the full length versions of ann and no fun.If you're looking to discover the stooges,this is your way in.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2016
Ditto the previous review pointing out the issue of the tracks running too slow. Rhino issued a statement at the time to the effect that the speed was consistent with the master recording they used, which is hogwash. Iggy sounds as if he's on Mogadon! (He probably was at some point, but not this time). This issue is unfortunately consistent with the downward trend in the quality of Rhino's output in the 2000's. Doesn't anyone there actually listen to the material they are releasing? To add insult to injury, Rhino included a repressing of this 2 CD set WITH the original order with a note to the effect that 'the label colour' was incorrect on the original pressing, STILL with the incorrect speed! The whole schmear is ho-hum (considering the cost), some wonderful unseen photographs, an eccentric and amusing choice for bonus seven inch, but shoddy packaging and dismal annotation. This was THE opportunity to document the definitive story of this classic album - it should be a nerd-out - and this has been passed over for fast bucks, it seems (an unfortunate conclusion to any endeavour Iggy is involved with, it seems. To wit, the equally disappointing 'Raw Power' box, using (and losing) the masters for the RCA albums as collateral for a new record deal, 'TV Eye Live', Car Insurance ads, etc. I know this all goes to show what a Wild, Untamed Rocker he is, unconcerned with heritage or history, only with his next fat wad, but how many fans will put up with having their faces rubbed in it for so long?).

Much as I love the man, it is crucial to remember, amidst the all-conquering Pop ego, he has always been reliant on superb musicians in order to enable him to effectively perform his act, in spite of his often spiteful denigration of their talent.

What's more, I sold on my copy during lean times for considerably less than the hundred quid it now sells for - S**T!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
The 2010 Collector's Edtion contains all the original John Cale mixes (track 10-17, disc 1). Unfortunately they are unlistenable, Rhino Handmade made a mistake. The speed is wrong, they are way too slow. The 2005 2CD set reissue have four of these eight songs in the correct speed, and it's also much cheaper.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
What can I say?
This album is a classic by itself, but with the additional versions it is a masterpiece!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 October 2011
I'm reviewing the The Stooges' original album, not the double disc reissue, which is surely of interest only to the serious collector. Much is made, especially in the sleevenotes, of this album's influence on punk, etc, but rarely of its antecedents. Sure, it influenced what the Sex Pistols did and that's hugely significant, but the third album 'Raw Power' is much closer to late 1970s punk rock and is a far better album.

'1969' looks both back and forward, which is ironic in a song which purports to be about the present. Musically, it recalls Bo Diddley and the first wave of British r&b, with the addition of the wah wah pedal, an effect which is overdone to the point of tedium across the album. Lyrically, like most of the songs, it says little. The Stooges main ploy is repetition, their simple but relentless riffs working up a feverish groove and this extends to Iggy Pop who keeps repeating mundanities such as 'It's 1969, baby'. What is forward-looking, however, is the line, 'Another year with nothing to do'. There was plenty of social and political protest in music at this time, but issues of personal frustration and boredom were largely swept under the carpet until 1977.

The outstanding 'I Wanna Be Your Dog' sounds like a continuation of what obscure, angst-ridden US bands like The Seeds and Count Five had been doing for a few years. While their predecessors had been writing largely misogynistic lyrics, however, The Stooges simply lusted. It's noticeable too that across the album, Pop often sings 'we' rather than the selfish 'I'.

'We Will Fall' is the biggest surprise, like a mantric chant performed in a stupor, but highly effective. 'No Fun' is, of course, the direct line to the Pistols and sounds almost as if it could have been written for them. After this, however, The Stooges begin to repeat themselves, a symptom of a band of limited technical ability. Moreover, 'Not Right' simply sounds like a rip-off of early Kinks, though many other famous bands have been guilty of that. I don't agree with other reviewers that the stuff this was up against, such as Led Zeppelin, is dross. For me, the important thing is a healthy variety. 'The Stooges' stands out only because there was a dearth of this kind of approach to music when it was made. It's an album of exciting moments, but is by no means perfect.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)