Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
17
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2006
Now being a massive fan of the original, having read the other reviews and watching with the knowledge that a different director was used I was not really looking forward to seeing this sequel. HOWEVER I must say that this film pleasently suprized me. It very easily picks up from where the first left off and indeed the general tone of the film ideally matches that of the first. Okay perhaps the ending isn't as fantastic as the original but with a host of new baddies and battles to face Aya Ueto does a grand job of playing the "cute" (to quote basically all male characters she comes into contact with)assassin. Indeed this film is better described as a continuation rather than a sequal to Azumi. It may not rock your world like the first but if you are a big fan I think this film will suit your expectations!!!

The major problem however is that the making of extras are not translated which means a brush up on your Japanese listening I'm afraid!!!!

But anyway ENJOY!!!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 July 2007
Despite the generally negative reviews and poor reception this film has received I actually think it's a great sequel, not as good as the original film admittedly, but far better than most sequels. It actually continues the story very well and the action sequences are just as good. I also love the variety of bizarre, almost supernatural, characters, especially the big guy with the double-ended blade weapon which he throws like a giant propeller, and the strange monkey guy with the razor-wire - these make the fight sequences that little bit different and more interesting. In fact the film reminds me of the anime 'Ninja Scroll' as there are a lot of similarities with some of the characters. Aya Ueto as Azumi is as gorgeous as ever, and it was nice to see Chiaki Kuriyama of Kill Bill fame in a small but equally evil role. It would be great to see a third Azumi film to round up the story and make a great samurai trilogy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2005
Where the heck is Ryuhei Kitamura? There is nothing in the universe he could be working on more important than this.
The first Azumi was a stunning, brilliant and beautiful film. After seeing this i am both disappointed and mortified. Director Shusuki Kaniko does not even compare. He lacks imagination, originality and seems to have no passion for this story. Ryuhei Kitamura used his skills and inventive ideas to bring forth jaw-dropping cinema. Watching the documentary on the first DVD shows us he was not happy with just average. He pushed everything to its limits, including the fight scenes, special effects and actors. He had huge passion for this story and it showed. So why did they settle for this other guy?
It seems that they had their budget halved since the last film, as the set pieces look like they were all shot in the same place. The whole story is in a forest. The first film had stunning villages, mountains, ships, castles and ghost-like towns. The cameras here are wobbly and look like their trying to mask something. There are no vertical rotating cameras or huge roars and explosions, just plain old slash ... slice ... slash... *yawn*
The cast is okay. The actors do nothing wrong, but most are actors who played roles in the first film playing different parts. It's like they didn't even audition them.
Let's compare the films. The great thing about Azumi was it had a great storyline and dialogue. Azumi 2 feels like it was quickly jotted down on a piece of toilet paper. Azumi had a great array of bad-guys, who we were able to both fear and hate...especially the brilliant Bijomaru. The enemies here are more like cartoon characters, and are not menacing at all. Azumi 1 boasted great fight scenes, especially the mind-blowing finale. The sequel has average fights, and the finale is a total yawn fest, very anti-climactic. You would hope they aimed to top the original film. I was looking for bigger expolsions, set pieces and more sword fodder. But it feels like the creators didn't even watch the first one. Another strength of the original is the storyline, dislogue and acting were both stunning, brutal and able to shock and startle you. By the end of the first film you feel quite emotional. In some parts I was very sad. The only emotion I felt after watching the sequel was anger.
Optimum have also done a poor job in releasing the DVD when it somes to extras. We get trailers. And a making of. "What's wrong?" i hear you say. Well. If you don't speak japanese, the making of is useless. They couldn't even be bothered to subtitle it.
If there is ever going to be an Azumi 3, i have only one request:
WHERE IS RYUHEI KITAMURA??? GET HIM NOW!!! GIVE HIM EVERYTHING AND ANYTHING HE WANTS, WHATEVER THE COST!!!
That will be a good film. He never lets an audience down.
22 comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2012
If you're big on Asian films with plenty of action and violence and bloody swordplay and over the top stunts and at the same time an awesome story, then you will certainly like AZUMI 2. Also on the plus side she is gorgeous so it's hard not to like her. Well worth the money a must own classic and unique film. Be sure to get the original AZUMI as well it's equally as brilliant.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
Konnichiwa
This is hardly an adult product and a bit too brutal for children.
Follows the Manga series in Japan. If you know the authentic history behind this type of film, it may interest you.
Sayonara
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2010
Same actress continues the character brilliantly. Its a pity her fight with the other great young Japanese actress was made so short just a few seconds when this should have been a great fight. However overall still a brilliant continuation of the first brilliant film and by comparison to most films these days way ahead of the rest. It has lots of emotion sadness and drama. The sword play is out of this world.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2009
This film is certainly a good sequel to the original Azumi, with one slight exception made for the ending. After the final battle, we don't find out what becomes of her, and so many questions are left unanswered (part of the charm I guess). Don't let that detract from the experience of watching the film, however, which is truly an equal to the first.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2011
big fan of AZUMI films wish ther were more in the making,still good things and little packages,must see these films if you like action,great filming it all looks so real and scenery excellent all round top film,cant wait for 47 ronin
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Despite the success of Azumi the makers appear to have cut back on the budget for this sequel and as a result we get much less in the way of innovative action and a LOT more of wandering around in the forest.

The story picks up not long after the first with Azumi and Nagara still going after the warlords intent on seizing Japan. She soon meets a rowdy young rebel called Ginkaku who looks a lot like her dead boyfriend Nachi (a weird plot that goes absolutely nowhere) and joins forces with them to fight evil.

Some nice fight scenes follow but they use waaaay too much CGI blood effects (a horrible trend that is becoming more and more popular) and none of them have the eccentric flair of the original movie. The ending doesn't amount to much either but I'd still watch a third if they were to make it.

The Optimum Asia DVD, as well as apparently being cut, is absolutely atrocious btw and features one of the worst transfers I have ever seen of a movie, which is shocking for a film from 2005. The Dolby 5.1 soundtrack is also a remix (a 2005 film made in STEREO???).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2005
Better than the original. Only let down by anti-climax ending and Chiaki Kuriyama playing basically the same roles as she did in Battle Royale and Kill Bill
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here