Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
51
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.76+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 October 2016
A 5 star classic !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
All time classic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Great film. Fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
"A Shot in the Dark" is an unrecognised classic of comedy. There are those who prefer the later Pink Panther films, but to my mind, they are just silly, non-sensical, commercial rubbish. "The Pink Panther" and "A Shot in the Dark" are the definitive Sellers/Clouseu comedies. The element of innocent comedy, coupled with the familiar faux-pax that all of us encounter, makes these films far more personal than the later films. Comedy cannot be described in words. Watch this film and enjoy.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2011
Heralding the future success of two new characters - Herbert Lom as his boss, Police Commissioner Charles Dreyfus and Burt Kwouk's Cato as his valet - who made their first appearances in this, the second of the "Pink Panther" series starred Peter Sellers again as the hapless Inspector Clouseau; they would continue as integral features of future films.

Clouseau bumbles his clueless way through a murder investigation this time leading to a successful and stunning solution meeting Elke Sommer along the way whose beauty, of course, sways him not an inch.

Completed and premiered less than a year after the first film and full of glorious gags with Sellers at his best, ably supported by Lom's unsuccessful attempts to control him and Cato's surprise attacks to keep him on his toes, it is an excellent example of cinema humour of all kinds. A laugh (or two) a minute.

The DVD was difficult to obtain for a while but now, at under £2.00 (a cup of cinema coffee), it will provide hours of laughter. A classic.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
My husband is a great Pink Panther Fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 August 2009
Never having been a Peter Sellers fan, I bought this title since it was so cheap, and there were several other actors in it that I thought I might like to see - one of them being the talented actress Ann Lynn, but despite being credited, she is neither heard nor seen (she has her head down in her lap, being found after her character has been murdered and therefore could have really been anybody...) and so this was really disappointing for me... However, I still gave the Picture a go, and I have to admit that I found it quite funny in places, though I suspect many would find the comedy a bit 'too' ridiculous to laugh at - at least if you hadn't had a few drinks first!

Also stars a couple of actors who are clearly out of their depth here; Herbert Lom and George Sanders - to name but two, the latter who is looking rather old and tired in this, whereas in total contrast, Lom is decidedly still good-looking and handsome - as he still is today at the ripe old age of 92!!

Good in parts.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 April 2009
The Pink Panther franchise is on the whole a very funny series but until recently you could only buy 'The Return of the Pink Panther' individually on DVD. The remaining 5 films were only available together in a boxset but I have been on the look-out for them to be released on their own as I only really liked 3 of them ('The Pink Panther', 'A Shot In The Dark' and 'The Pink Panther Strikes Again').

'A Shot In The Dark' takes off from the first movie where Inspector Clouseau was a supporting character to David Niven's jewel-thief lead character. In this film, Sellers has the starring role as Clouseau and we are also introduced to his boss, Police Commissioner Dreyfus (played by Herbert Lom). There isn't a diamond in this movie - instead we have a murder case and Clouseau has to solve it. However, Clouseau hilariously bungles each and every avenue of investigation. This drives Dreyfus mad setting the tone for a story arc of Dreyfus trying to kill Clouseau, which continues into the next couple of films. Despite his sheer incompetence, Clouseau's luck never runs out and the case is solved!

This ranks as one of Peter Sellers best films and I highly recommend it to fans of classic comedies from the good old days.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
It is clearly child of its time. Peter Sellers was unic and this film is i good representantive of Inspector Closeau films.
Some gags in the first movie are still even more unic but this one has its golden moments. Its a movie its better than life;
thats why we look at them. German cute actres Elke Sommer helps the movie nicely and Closeau in love is funny too.My five stars comes obviously from that it brings time back. the time that we tought that it could be possible to see life as comedy. Filmakers today are preparing us to disasters and wars. They dont know how to make comedy thou life is comedy. It can be easily proven.
Plot is not the most important in this film. The story goes smoothly enough. Blake Edwards know how to direct comedy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)