Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
49
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2005
The Dangermen Sessions Volume 1 is a fantastic album. Madness have added their unique 'Nutty Sound' to each song they have covered. From 'Girl Why dont you' through to 'So Much Trouble In The World'
Girl Why Dont You - A fantastic upbeat track which has done the original proud
Shame and Scandal - Brilliant song, It is a shame and a scandal that it didnt chart higher on release
I Chase The Devil AKA Ironshirt - Max Romeo would have been proud of this version. Much better than the Prodigy sample.
Taller Than You Are - Skanking song, upbeat fast tempo
You Keep Me Hanging On - Madness have made this song their own. One of my faves off the album
Dangerman AKA High Wire - A good track but should be at the start of the album
Israelites - This has done the original justice and again Madness have made it their own
John Jones - Excellent song. You can skank all night long to this one
Lola - finally a studio version of Lola and Im not disappointed
You'll Lose a Good Thing - One of the best songs on the album
Rain - A good song. My least favourite
So Much Trouble in the World - My favourite song on the album. Fantastic version. I can picture Bob Marley approving it
All in all, a great album. Even better live. Roll on Volume 2
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2005
Just to say this is a great album from sing-a-long songs such as Shame & Scandal through to mellower stuff like So Much Trouble.
Highlights for me include If You Lose A Good Thing which is beautifully done, Rain which is a real moody song, Iron Shirt which is great fun and Girl Why Don't You which is totally 60's retro chic and one you can't help but dance to. Lola has fab lyrics and a stonking tune and somehow even well known tracks like You Keep me Hanging On and Israelites work once you get used to it.
The album is obviously the work of a band who have put a lot of care, thought and love into the songs - unlike most covers.
Lovely rich production and Madness have never sounded so good.
If you are looking for an album of great songs to while away the summer to, and enjoy a bit of reggae and soul, this is it!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2005
Madness have taken a big chance on this album and it's paid off! It's a must for every Ska lover! They've gone back to their original Ska roots in preparation for a possible album of completely new material.......
1. This is Where (intro)
2. Girl Why Don't You (5/5)
(An absolutely stomping Ska tune which should be the next single!)
3. Shame and Scandal (3/5)
(Excellent stomping tune of the tale of a lad that finds out his Father and Mother have both been playing around)
4. I Chase the Devel (4/5)
(Forget The Prodigy version this tune rocks and has mega bass)
5. Taller Than You (4/5)
(Classic Ska song which is a message to people too big for their boots!)
6. You keep me hanging on (2/5)
(The only weak point of the album - has lost it's edge in the Studio compared to when they did it live)
7. Dangermen AKA High Wire (3/5)
(A short intermission)
8. Israelites (3/5)
(A good version of Desmond Dekker's classic but nothing can match the original)
9. John Jones (5/5)
(A top tune - possible single?)
10. Lola (4/5)
(A song about a guy who takes home a Transvestite by mistake - classic nutty humour)
11. You'll Lose A Good Thing (4/5)
(Brilliant track one of my fave's off the album)
12. Rain (3/5)
(Dark yet excellent song with brillant guitar)
13. So Much Trouble In The World (4/5)
(A song so in tune with whats going on in the world today - brilliant and catchy).
Easily one of the best albums out at moment!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2005
Madness bang back to top form. OK its covers but hey they have paid thier dues over the last 26 years, its a return to thier roots and boy what a return.
Packed full of ska, reggae, touch of soul covers from little known ska tunes to 'You keep me hangin on' and 'Lola' as performed on a recent TOTP.
Catch this set live and you will then understand what all the fuss is about -GO BUY IT!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 31 July 2011
This album is intriguing - whilst it clearly has the Madness sound, it seems a million miles away from their earlier releases. Recorded on analogue tape (presumably for authenticity) they have collected together some great Ska tracks and a few more mainstream hits and reworked them, on the whole to great effect. The Ska tracks are a welcome introduction of some terrific compositions to a more mainstream audience, perhaps bringing a few much needed royalties to their lesser known authors! The re-work of 'Lola' is original and fun. Not the greatest madness album, but a lovely idea and great concept.

Volume 2?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2005
Being a Madness fan its hard not to be biased, but at the same time the thoughts are there, lurking away in the back of the mind that maybe Madness are just making a bit of extra cash from their ever loyal fanbase with this release-and after listening to this long awaited release its definately NOT the case!
After the intro track it kicks straight into a kicking version of Prince Busters 'Girl why don't you' which you just can't help 'skanking' too (also the case with 'taller than you are' and 'john jones').
Much justice is done to Desmond Dekkers 'Israelites' and a brassed up version of the Kinks 'Lola'...either of which, must be a radio friendly candidate for the 2nd single.
A highlight for me is the version of 'You keep me hanging on' which is a track that really shows how much effort has been put into this album of covers.
This album seems packed full of energy and gives you that summer buzz that only Madness music can.
Great effort boys....lets hope volume 2 is in the pipeline!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2005
Madness are back with this fantastic new album of cover versions of thier favourite songs. Dont let the fact that it its covers put you off, Madness are the masters at taking a song and giving it the nutty touch we all know and love. The single 'shame and scandal' is fantastic, as is their version of the kinks 'lola'. Madness have been refreshed and intensified to bring you this great album which your in danger of playing over and over! The essential summer album!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2005
Have been waiting for this release with anticipation since the "secret" gigs in London last year - and have to say it was worth the wait. One of Madness' many trademarks is being able to take original songs, cover them and make them their own in doing so (e.g. It Must Be Love, One Step Beyond and Madness) - well for the most part here they've done just that here, especially with the lesser known tracks. Taller Than You Are, Girl, John Jones, Shame & Scandal and You'll Lose A Good Thing all have single written over them. The better known tracks such as The Israelites, Lola and You Keep Me Hanging On suffer a little from over production, but are still carried off with panache. All in all this shows that Madness are back to their best - and as their old Stiff record label catalogue numbers used to say: "Buy-It"
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 February 2006
I have been a fan of Madness for over twenty years now and have experienced the pleasure of their live set on a number of occasions and have found them to be one of the most accomplished bands around delivering perfect pop music. I was, however, a little sceptical of an album of cover versions, especially when some of these songs just don't seem like your average Madness fodder. How wrong can you be - this album positively rocks. The only self penned track is the first one which is really just an introduction. The strength of this album lies in the quality of the music, and the styles that the band use to transform the tracks to a collection of little gems. I would heartily urge you to buy this album, it is ideal for a summer's day chilling and sunbathing, and still gives you that summer feel even in the bleak midwinter. One of the other things I found refreshing was the bands' honesty - in the insert Suggs admits that in Lola (a song about a transvestite originally performed by The Kinks) they forgot to sing the final verse (the one that gives the game away abiout the fact that Lola is really a fella) and Suggs had to talk over the fade out to include this verse - you could'nt tell that was what had happened from the song so hats of for that! Go and buy The Dangermen Sessions Volume I and I, for one, cannot wait for Volume 2 to surface.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2005
This ablum is an absolute revalation and should please Madness fans and old school ska fans alike. It's always been apparent that Madness have always had their roots firmly planted in ska traditions but their interpretation of it has always leant a little towards the pop side for many afficionados tastes. Well, no more! These 13 tracks are impecable versions of old standards. The sound and soul of these covers stand up to scrutiny and can stand proudly along-side recordings by the greats of old sounds system music such as Lloyd Terell, The Maytels, Don Drummond, Lee Perry and of course Prince Buster. Listen to "Ironshirt", "Taller Than You" and "Shame and Scandal" with your eyes closed and you can almost be back in the old dance halls of the late fifties, early sixties. This is fantastic stuff and arguably the best cover album ever. This should sell by the skip-load, but I fear it won't as it is a very niche genre and, let's be honest, Madness arn't the flavour of the month and havn't been for some time. But put your predudices aside, buy it. It'll be the best buy of the year. Trust me.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)