Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
52
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£15.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2006
Burnout Revenge is the second game in the crashing series to be under the EA corporate umbrella. Like it's predecessor Burnout 3: Takedown, Revenge features a punk-lite soundtrack and enough adverts to drill the brand names into your mind for life. Corporate dealings aside, it's very much a different game.
For those not in the know, Burnout was one of the first game s to include extensive car damage. Unlike other games which featured lights smashed or windscreens cracked, Burnout went all the way - bumpers were torn off, tyres squealed and the cars were quite simply destroyed. The second game, Point of Impact, introduced a new Crash mode where players simply drove into a traffic-packed junction and caused the biggest pile-up they could. The third in the series, Takedown, allowed players to make their rivals crash and should players crash themselves, they could steer their wreck into rivals using the Aftertouch feature. Crash mode was redone as well - if players wrecked enough cars they could detonate their car using the Crashbreaker feature. Following on from this is Revenge.
Perhaps the most radical change is the ability to 'check' the traffic. Anything relatively small - like cars or vans - driving in the same direction as you can be pushed away from you, to get them out of the way. The moment you make contact with a car it bends and crumples with a satisfying smash and spins away, perhaps rolling over into another car, or even a rival racer to get a Traffic Takedown.
This newfound ability allows for tactics to come into the world of Burnout, - depending on where you hit the car, it will go in another direction, perhaps into more traffic constructing a blockade for rivals to win Takedowns. Traffic checking also introduces the new Traffic Attack mode, which simply revolves around checking as much traffic as you can to get cash. With each lap a multiplier increases, and the amount of destruction and cash you can create is incredible - cars spiralling everywhere, perhaps onto a road below or rolling into a bus and exploding. What would appear to wreck Burnout - a game about driving dangerously and dodging the traffic - has in fact made it far more enjoyable.
The second most radical change a lot of people will notice is that takedowns are far easier to get than they were in Burnout 3: Takedown. The tracks have been radically designed for takedowns - only one track was designed for takedowns in Burnout 3 as this element did not go into the game until the last minute - with more walls and barriers sticking out from the track edges and even ramps in the tracks to score another new type of takedown - a Vertical Takedown: land on the roof of a rival for points.
Rivalry is an intense part of Revenge, and carries the game forward. The single-player World Tour mode progresses forward via the means of an Aggression Meter - if you drive aggressively you will progress faster. This means taking dangerous manoeuvres, scoring takedowns and getting revenge on those who took you out before - hence the game's subtitle.
Aside from World Tour, there are - disappointingly - no other single player modes. The Single Race mode present in all 3 past Burnouts has been removed, which means you can't quite dive in as fast as you could previously. This can be an annoyance at first to past players, but very quickly you adjust to this new style of play and simply choose your favoured event from the structured event menu system.
Many of the modes present in previous games are all in Revenge, from Road Rage to Crash. The modes have all been revamped slightly too, to give the game a fresher feel. Some races now include the Crashbreaker - an explosive in the car, previously Crash mode exclusive - which means you can explode your rivals too should you wish to.
Crash has been massively overhauled. A meter now appears at the start and hitting the 'sweet spots' in the meter gives you a faster start; miss the spots by too much and you'll either stall or blow the engine. After you start, you can choose where to drive into to launch yourself - checking traffic to start a pile-up early - and using Aftertouch to get more cars after you crash. Wrecking enough cars activates the Crashbreaker, and with repeated hammering of R2 you can create a bigger explosion. Even after it's been detonated, the Crashbreaker can be used again and again if you keep wrecking more cars - which makes for devastating fun.
Graphics are extremely impressive; it holds its own on each format with each car - from shiny sports machine to banged up 4x4 - intricately detailed, even when it's just a sharp piece of scorched metal. Damage is enough to make people cringe for the worry of their driver - of which there are none, to avoid a higher rating - with the car's body being able to bend in 3 different places and bumpers and wheels and even doors can be torn off and flung aside.
The sound effects are your screeches, bangs and booms - typical Burnout fare. The music is not so good - less bearable than Takedown's - and unless you're a massive fan of college rock the chances are you wont have heard of anyone except Maximo Park, Bloc Party and the Chemical Brothers. Some songs can be listened to, but the playlist is also shorter than the one in Takedown which means you'll probably hear some songs more than once in a single sitting - but that we can blame on EA's corporate blarging.
Online is still featured and is managed very well - any buddies you have can all play a game as a single party with a few presses of buttons and the game is fast and slick as it is offline. The only criticisms that can be made of the online is the rather large presence of shrieking ten-year-olds.
Multiplayer mode is fine - Race makes it with Crashbreakers on some courses, Road Rage and Traffic Attack feature and there are 3 variations on Crash mode too. The lack of a Single Race mode is still a slight annoyance, but Criterion can be forgiven for that.
In the end, Burnout Revenge is a great package. Nudging traffic about and sending rivals into the nearest oncoming bus is great fun and playing with friends makes it even better - and makes it last even longer. It's like a snuff film for Gran Turismo fans; beautiful cars being bent and destroyed in every way imaginable - even off of huge cliffs - but who cares when it's this much fun?
Graphics - 5/5
Gameplay - 4.5/5
Sound - 4/5
Lifespan - 5/5
Overall - 5/5
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
Did not work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2006
One of the best driving games I've ever played. The game is very fast and full of action. The graphics are breathtaking at times, and most crashes are spectacular. The scope for different races every time is enormous, due to the variation in game modes and crashes. Durability is therefore strong. If you're looking for a F1 kind of game, this wouldn't do for you, but if you'd like a twist on a rally/arcade racing game, this is a simply must have. It has come so far since the original two burnouts. If you own previous editions, it is well worth the money to upgrade. Multiplayer mode is also good, and would provide hours of fun and revenge amongst friends. The only critisism I have about the whole game, is the fact that it can be difficult to see clearly at times when using split screen two-player. It is not a big flaw, and was obviously bound to happen with so much detail and action going on in a single screen. You will not be disappointed with this game. I have not had a chance to play the next game in the series, Burnout Legends, but if it is a further improvement of Revenge, it should be well worth a viewing. Awesome.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2006
It's not often a game comes along in which you think "Wow, it's everything I wanted a game of this genre to be". "Burnout 3: Takedown" did this with the racing genre, creating a superbly fun and original racing game.

Now, we can see that "Burnout 3" was just the beginning. "Revenge" Takes one of the most amazing games a step further. The brilliance comes from a combination of all factors being perfect. That includes graphics, gameplay, sound (Some good music on there) and longetivity.

Even if you don't like racing games, you will be missing out dearly by not getting this. It's one of the most addictive games ever.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2006
If you own Burnout 3: Takedown, you won't find much difference between this and that. The most noticable difference, in terms of gameplay, is that your car doesn't spin agressively out of control every time you hit a vehicle, no matter which way it is travelling, oh no. In Burnout Revenge, you get points added to your Burnout meter each time you crash into a vehicle moving in the same direction as you (i.e, a vehicle infront), but you're car does 'burnout' if you hit an oncoming car.
As usual, the game doesn't feature any real named cars, but names such as Sports 1 (can't remember the exact names off the top of my head)

Like all the other burnout games, Revenge features Crash mode, which I find the most entertaining mode in the game, but you can obviously also opt for Multiplayer, race etc.

In terms of soundtracks and playlists, there are a few good numbers on there, including fall out boy, but quite a poor remix of the doors' "break on through".

Overall: 3/5
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 25 September 2005
....then don't fix it! Those guys at EA are smart, they know how to satisfy those zillions of die-hard Burnout fans by giving us all the things we knew we already loved and just adding more of the same. As each of the Burnout iteration has come out it's always been an improvement on the one before, in Revenge there are few real shocks for those familiar with Takedown but it's all much better integrated (racing, crash and road rage) and now there's a kind of 'aggression reward' which means there's little to be gained in racing like a gentleman - you've got to do it like a madman with a hunger for taking down as many of your competitors as you can even though you don't necessarily need to to win a race. I'm glad they haven't messed with the basic formula too much, it's as addictive as ever and manages to blend skill & difficulty with good old laughs and entertainment; you're never left to feel a loser even if you don't win, and this is the key to its success, I reckon. You can't really compare Burnout with Gran Turismo, I know, but while GT4 is for purists and can be harsh on those who fail to make the grade, Burnout focuses on what video games should really be all about - having fun and putting a smile on your face whether you come first, second or third. Of course, winning is very satisfying but unlike GT4 it's not everything. I've tried a few other vaguely similar games (Need for Speed, Juiced, Driver3 etc etc) but Burnout, and now Burnout Revenge, is still the best fun of the lot. An absolute must-have!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2005
Take this review two ways - if you don't own a Burnout game and you would like to own a fast paced race game, with big crashes and lots of explosions then I simply say that this is fantastic. It plays like a dream, looks lovely, the online version seems fairly solid and plays well and you won't go wrong with this 'best in class' offering. You can race against opponents, you can race against the clock, you can bully your way through traffic with the new 'traffic check' idea, you can crash your car into busy intersections and you can generally drive like a demon with no care and consideration. When things get hectic, with lots of oncoming traffic, the winter sun in your eyes and your boost on full, then it is a nerve shredding experience, and that has to be a good thing in this kind of game.
But what if you have already mastered Burnout 3? I did, and I'm working my way through Revenge pretty quickly. The changes in game play are nice but not revolutionary. The inclusion of dozens of short cuts around each track is cool, but I don't think it changes the game massively. The new cars and new tunes are nice, but largely cosmetic. The removal of the icons from the crash mode just means that you aim for something different, and it doesn't really make any deep down difference to the game. Vertical takedowns (you land on someone) are a nice gimmick but that's as far as it goes. In my opinion, the changes to the game do not transform the game into something worth spending another 30 quid on. They are very good, but B3 was very good as it was and it's on platinum now.
Having said that, I can't wait to see this on the PS3....
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2009
Burnout Revenge continues Criterion's ongoing Burnout franchise, it has since been superseded by newer Burnout titles, but this still remains as one of the last proper arcade style Burnout games. The newer Burnout Paradise for the next-gen consoles is completely free-roaming, which may not be to everyone's liking. This version has the classic arcade style of choosing individual levels/circuits etc. each with a specific goal (smash things up, race to the flag etc.)

One of the best things about Burnout (not just this version) is the offline, splitscreen multiplayer, Burnout Paradise does not have splitscreen multiplayer, only online multiplayer. Playing this game with my friends is one of the best things about the hectic Burnout series, smashing up each others cars, competing to get more takedowns, or win the race (or both) was great fun, and this is one of the last installments for the PS2 that has proper offline multiplayer support.

One of the aspects of the game that some of my friends did not like compared to Burnout 3, wasthe new ability to hit the civilian cars during racing/road rage etc. I personally don't have a problem with it, it opens up new game modes (traffic attack for one), and it makes gameplay more chaotic in general (also, in the previous games you could hit the cars you where competing against, so why should you blow up just because you've hit a little civilain car?).

The sense of speed in Burnout Revenge is slightly more intensified than previous Burnout games, it makes for an adrenaline rush that would please any hardcore gamer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2007
I Got it for Christmas one year and near enough completed it. I then lost the CD. So a few months later, I missed it so much that I bought it again!
I've done that with GTA: San Andreas too, and that's only because, as many people WILL back me up on, is such great fun and you can never get bored of it. For me, Burnout: Revenge does that too.
I had Burnout: Takedown on xbox and completed it. I did think it was a really fun game, but then I played this and thought WOAH. It certainly expresses takedowns in a way to make them look really cool! :)
I could name a few bad points but they're just your usual errors and glitches in the game which, to be frank, don't spoil the game at all. They may not be the best graphics compared to the Xbox 360 or PS3, but for a PS2, these graphics are exceptional compared to early PS2 games. Besides, when you're playing this game, you don't focus on the graphics, and you're not bothered either, because this game doesn't take itself seriously in a way other racing games such as Gran Turismo or Need for Speed do.
*
The BEST thing about the game is the in-race Crashbreaker: an AWESOME addition to the Burnout series. It reminds me of a matrix-style effect, of which when you crash and activate a crashbreaker explosion, just before the explosion, the game 'slow-motions' for a second, before unleashing the ripple of destruction! :)
I love it, it lets me take so much anger out in a sort of mick-taking way.
4.5 Stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2005
The latest offering from the Burnout stable is something of a mixed bag. The first thing you'll notice is the slightly more hardcore look to the whole game, it's now set in a gritty world that can only be viewed through a spectacularly soft-focus lens. This gives the whole game an edge but at the same time provides an odd sensation - everything looks more details, but is it, is it really any better than Burnout 3? I think Revenge just trumps Burnout 3 in the graphic stakes but it's a hard comparison to make as Burnout 3 relied on vivid colours where-as Revenge wants to be grimy, it's a tough call but Revenge just gets it.
The second thing you'll notice is that they've finally fixed the music from being simply screaming American indie/punk/nu-metal and they've instead provided a sound track to Revenge that does sit quite well with the games slightly revised format.
This new format consists primarily of "wants" that have been added to the original modes i.e. rather than just normal "race" you can now unlock "crash breaker race" in which simply crashing is not the end, just hit the crash breaker button and takeout whoever just took you down. There are many permutations where crash breakers now "enhance" normal events; crash breaker road rage etc.
However, the main draw-back with crash breaker mode is that once you're in the lead it's very hard to lose, no longer are you penalised for being taken out, simply take the computer out too (or if you've got a large enough chunk of boost take all the AI opponents out in one huge blast), this results in you retaining the lead and also retaining your boost. This does detract from the game in my opinion as once you master this technique there's little challenge to be had (and therefore little fun).
The second item you'll notice that's been impacted by the addition of crash breakers is the crashing sound effects... Crash early on in your career (when crash breakers aren't unlocked) and everything feels rather quiet compared to Burnout 3, no shattering glass effects, no slam of metal on tarmac, the car just bumps along to a stop. Granted, the cars now deform in spectacular fashion however, until you get crash breakers unlocked (the explosion will obviously replace any crash sound effects hence why these have been kept to a minimum) you will be very disappointed.
This isn't the only place where Revenge feels strange, the ability to check traffic (hit same-way traffic out the way) should be a welcome addition, but the impacts feel wrong; like all the cars are made of rubber, not only this but your car doesn't appear to be affected by slamming into another car (either visually or in the speed stakes).
My final moan would be with the races themselves, courses now allow multiple paths through them, with you able to switch between tracks and jump down levels however, this hasn't been very well thought out as there appears to now be no structure to a course you just feel like you're ambling along a totally arbitrary route with no sense of sneaking into the lead when you take a "shortcut". Not only this but now when you crash there's tremendous scope for the computer spawning you right in front of a "split" in the road leaving you to crash again into the dividing wall.
Don't get me wrong, Revenge has improved on Burnout 3 in some respects; crash is now the best mode by miles, the detail, the extra thought required; whereas 3 required you to hit a lorry and grab the 4x multiplier to pass, you now have to plan your path of destruction and it's immensely satisfying when it pays off! As I mentioned before, the crash breaker modifier added to race and road rage now vastly improves them, although I think in the case of road rage there's be something of a step back in the fun stakes, with race being preferable - the impacts just aren't a fierce as Burnout 3 when it's your car against a rival.
How can I sum up this game? Playing it I initially thought it was worse than B3, then it became significantly better when I unlocked crash breakers in races etc but now it just feels "ok". I don't think it's a particularly huge leap for the series despite the inclusion of so many different items/modes. If you've got the previous Burnouts in the series you're likely to feel slightly under whelmed by Revenge however, if this is your first outing into the Burnout arena then you won't want to stop playing - ever!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here