Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 December 2015
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
Disc would not play
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2006
BLACK is quite an experience and although it may be short lived it has an immense effect on you while you're playing it. Criterion have taken the skills they got through developing their Burnout games and put all of that energy into designing one of the best first person shooters ever.

Forget storyline, character development can go to hell. This is a purely visceral experience, as you play through Black you're really sucked into the game's world, the sounds and sights so overwhelming it can make you dizzy sometimes. If anyone has ever wanted to just pick up a machinegun and go take your frustration out on a bunch of guys then this is for you, but don't expect all of Black to be like that. The game mixes full on action with stealth in a way that doesn't make it feel clunky or disjointed, and there's always time to spray someone full of bullets.

And that's what Black is really all about. The destructivenes. You find yourself ducking for cover behind some rubble then the rubble's gone because of the enemies shooting at you. Having trouble? Fire at that car over there. BOOM! Enemy down. The explosions are awesome and the deaths of the enemies are spectacular, like watching someone get dispatched by Schwarzennegger in an action movie, except you get to do it all. It really does feel like you're playing an action film, all of the weapons being stars of different movies, the AK, the Uzi, and they're incredibly realistic, right down to the kickback when you fire, the controller vibrating constantly as you drill someone full of lead.

Sure, there are a few problems with Black. One is that there's no online or multiplayer, but so what? Some of the best games are for one person only, and this is one of them. The cutscenes need to be watched or you have no clue about what's goin on but you can skip them if you really want to the next time round. Some people around here seemed to have not figured out that generally if you press a couple of buttons the thing will skip. The only major problem is the length of the game, but this is the first shooter Criterion have done and if these are the only problems it has you can expect them to be fixed in the next game which will be way more impressive when it debuts on PlayStation 3 in the next year or so.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2006
When i first played Black the first word which escaped my mouth were wow and oooo look at the pretty explosions. The game is absolutely spectacular in those respects, the explosions are huge and the action and gunplay are brilliant. This is beyond doubt the best action shooter on PS2 at the moment. The graphics are brilliant, the action immersive and truly enjoyable as well as being extremely tense. All of the weapons have a superb solid feel to them and although it may not be realistic it is truly fun to simply stand up and empty a full box magazine for an m249 into a group of enemies. Once you complete the game and play it again on the same difficulty level you get unlimited ammo which adds immensely to the fun and carnage. However this is where i must mention the games most severe flaw; it is incredibly short. There are 8 missions including a shorter prequel type mission and each mission first time round will take between 45 minutes and an hour to complete. I completed the game for the first time in under 8 hours. PS2 games cost £30 upwards and for 8 hours of gameplay this is just not worth it. Even with it being so short i may have given it 4 stars but there are other gripe to be made. For example the voice acting is terrible and your character often seems to be shouting over the radio when he should be stealthy. The gameplay eventually gets slightly repetitive and although there are some interesting twist such as making your way through a minefield, even this is used twice. In addition the explosions - the games selling point - are over used and the enemies are incredibly hard to take out, most taking more than 15 rounds to put down. This forces you to look for stuff to blow up which means that you are rarely being tactical and constantly looking for stuff that blows up which just gets repetitive.
Overall this is an excellent game and has easily the best shooting of any game on PS2. With a little more length and variety it could have been a classic. As it is it is just good. I would suggest renting this not buying it as £30 is just too much money for 8 hours of game. Either that or wait for the price to drop.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2008
This game is well worth buying if you like war games.
I've always been a big Rambo fan, so this blew my mind!
The fact everything is destructable is something that for some reason had never been attempted before, and WOW it is so much fun haha.
It looks better than any other game ever has on ps2 with the possible exception of Resident Evil 4.
Totally awesome.
The problems are that the levels can become too long(one and a half hours for a level? jeez) but once you're on it you get engrossed so it ain't so bad anyway.
And the game itself seems a little short, mainly because you don't WANT it to end, I think it only has about 6 levels, but like I said they are very long.
If this ever gets a sequel on PS3 I will own it, the online play would be amazing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2006
On paper this looks like your standard FPS. Selection of weapons, a few big bangs here and there....Oh NO!!! This is much much more. As you may have gathered this is more than just a shooter. Lets start at the start, your first mission(I wont ruin anything for you dont worry), youre in a room and you need to get to the street below you. Theres a door, but when you walk up to it, theres no message saying 'Press X to open door', but there is a shotgun next to it...hmmmm, what do you do, blow the door off its hinges of course!!!!!!! Another example, your being shot at by a sniper high up on a crane, you have a sniper rifle yourself, but everytime you poke your head out he takes a shot at you..What do you do.See the welding kit next to him..Shoot it and blow up the crane!!! This is basically the game, no stealth, no puzzles, no problem solving except for whom to aim for next. The only problems i have with it is its length, only eight levels, but lets consider they each range from 30 minutes to 1hr 15 and their intensity makes them seem triple that. I could go on and on about all the features and briliance of this game, but i wont, i'll let you find these out. Buy it now, smack the volume up high and be blown away!!!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2006
When i got my hand on the demo of Black it took my breath away, Shooting at a grunt causing them to fall of a ledge in the most realistic rag doll affect i have ever seen. And the AK 47 on fully automatic caued concrete dust to fly into the air so all you could see was the enemys barrel flash. The difficulty level is good for any in season fps fan and the grunt's A.I. is amazing they try to flank you and use loads of military Tactics. One of the best things on that game is the attention to detail on the guns : the sounds, the looks and how they reload them is even better than Killzone which was amazing. This is a must have for any Killzone fan and any fps fans so if you own a PS2 buy it if you don't buy one then buy it
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2006
Managed to get my hands on a demo for this game and it is superb. The sound, the guns and the gameplay is pretty amazing compared to alll the other available first person shooters on the PS2.
However the only reason I gave it 4 stars was the slightly hard difficulty level. But I guess we'll have to wait and see if things are sorted out for the final version. Otherwise, a very good trial run!!!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2006
Maybe a little harsh but i was a little dissappointed due to the 'friends of EA games fan club' writing top notch reviews on it. I was expecting a lot more.
The game itself is very repetitive and quickly becomes boring.Due to the shoot at anything mentality.Coupled with the ps2's clumsy gamepad controls.Various explosions have some nice effects but once you've seen one...you've seen them all. The AI is stale and predictable.Once again a full AK47 magazine into the chest of an enemy to drop him is just down right annoying. Bullet proof vest or not. Thats plain fantasy not realism.
Thats not to say this is a bad game . Its not. Its just ok...
Hyping a product like this always leads to huge expectations from your serious gameplayer today. So anything released has to be something very special. In my opinion Black is not it.
If you've just finished playing 'Fear' for the 3rd time like i have i think you'll be seriously dissappointed with 'Black'.Take it for what it is.An average ps2 game that tried to make the ps2 FSP a little different but just didnt quite make it........
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2006
I love FPS (first person shooter) games and they are basically the only games that make up my game collection. And because of the reviews i had read about this i was just gagging to get my hands on a copy, when i did, i was dissapointed!
Dont get me wrong, this is probably one of my favorite FPS games i have on my PS2 but there are so many simple flaws that could have been easily added to the game.
One of these main things is the lack of a multiplayer. Which is very dissapointing as these days basically every FPS in existance has a multiplayer and for black it would probably be quiet good and requier a bit more tatics than an ordinary multuplayer.
The second thing i didnt like was the lack of weaponary and overated 'destruction' feature of the game. Apparently basically every object you see in the game is destructable. This is not true. There is nothing here you havrent seen before in other shooting games. The amount of guns and weapinary isnt exatly what youd call vast either. The effects that make the shells and the reload sequences are amazing but the guns themselves are nothing above avarage.
Although the story mode for Black (which is pretty much the 'game' itself) is incredible, it may drag a bit as there is not much of a story and all you do is shoot, shoot again and shoot some more (which does drag, even if you like this sort of thing, believe me), but that doesnt spoil the great enviroments and sound effects, as well as great enemy AI. When you kill an enemy too there are loads of ways that the person you just shot will fall or be forced away from you, or mabe towards you. The sounds that the guns make are goos too, this is probably the first game that ever made me realise that too. And although we may say its not the way a game is made that makes it good. The way a game sounds and looks makes them all the better.
Overall, a must for all FPS fans and PS2 owners. But dont be expected to be occupied for too long!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)