Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2006
When I first heard about ‘Marc Ecko’s Getting Up: Contents Under Pressure’, I assumed it was a lot like those violent street thug games like the ‘Grand Theft Auto’ series. After reading a few game reviews about it I decided to see what it was like for myself, considering some reviews said it was excellent and some said it was bad. This game has a lot to offer; it involves quite a lot of strategy in places where you have to work out how to get to a certain place to tag. This may involve climbing over fences, walking along beams high above a city, climbing drain pipes, etc. After a while you may think that this game will become easy, tedious and repetitive, think again; there is much more challenging events later in the game. One includes trying to graffiti a moving train while trying to avoid being hit by low lights, signs to the sides of the train, signs to the top of the train and other oncoming trains (which I found very hard yet fun). As for the violence in the game, it is quite strong but not quite as gruesome as some games. When you fight enemies like the police (CCK) or gang members, you can use sloppy combo moves. I say sloppy because you don’t fight like a karate black belt at all. You fight like you would instinctively, tackling, punching, kicking, using other objects, etc. Most importantly about this game is the graffiti; the graffiti looks very realistic and you are able to use many styles. Another thing about the game is that the further into the game you go, the more skilled your character will become with his graffiti. After a while of playing the game you will start to appreciate graffiti more as an art form than an act of vandalism. If you are interested at all in graffiti, revolution and fighting, you should give this game a try. This game is like marmite; you’ll either love it or hate it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2006
Excellent game. Good soundtrack, Roots Manuva, Talib Kweli, Rakim, Mobb Deep, Pharaoe Monch. For you rock heads theres Kasabian and Bloc Party. The gameplay is brilliant. What it has over most graffitti games is that you can tag ANYwhere. A bit like an urban Prince of Persia. Good storyline.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
I love this game. Ok it's getting old now but I think they could remake this game for the new generation of consoles and it could look marvellous. Obviously the gameplay might feel a bit stilted now but at the time I thought it was great. So much so that I had to buy it again after deciding I wanted to keep a PS2 and try to get a collection of my favourite games. This is definitely in the Top 10. The concept was so different to most games out there. No guns, you're just armed with cans of spray paint with which to defeat a fascistic authority. What more do you need?!?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2010
I had been waiting for this game to come out for a while before it was released. I was handed a promotional black book for free at a game store whilst buying another game. The book was pretty special looking and intrigued me, when i got home i read through the whole book and was won over instantly. The game is actually more than a game, its a story about the culture and history of graffiti it's roots and it's heroes. In the game you actually play the part of a modern day graffiti hero in the making. Amazing game amazing story just totaly Amazing!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2006
The game strikes a nice balance between fighting and tagging. At the forefront of Getting Up you'll find not only the graffiti, but also the entire culture surrounding it. By enlisting graffiti legends such as Futura and Shepard Fairey and hip-hop artists like P. Diddy and Talib Kweli, Getting Up presents itself as an immersive experience for those new to graffiti culture.
so try this game out it is amazing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2010
Nice game ,you get to go , "street roaming" , and go where you like , and you can climb little buildings and stuff , to get to graffitieng , really enjoyable , its kind of like , "Tony Hawks Underground 2" ,if you've played it , and i like it when you get to verse this person on a "one on one" basketball match , to graffiti in this guys court , you can if you win , and if he wins , funnily for me , he said , " you get off my court , and dont come back" lol . But , i dunno what happens
, cause i haven't lost the basketball match ! Really fun , only difficult when you get more into the game , like it starts hard at , about level 7 , but by the time you get onto that level you've already mastered the controls, but real fun anyway !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2006
I ordered this game ages ago, and waited for it to arrive with eagerness. One week later I have finished it and find myself wanting more.
It's a shame.
The game had some very cool bits about it - there is no faulting the authenticity, and the graffiti legends and styles are cool as you like. The variety of tunes, from Del the Funky Homosapien to Kasabian to Nina Simone is spot on (although it would have been useful to have in-game control of the music).
The tags, throw-ups and wildstyle graf pieces you have at your disposal get better and better.
But then the game starts to disappoint.
Essentially what you end up with is a bit of stealth a la Metal gear Solid (but not as sophisticated), a bit of fighting, a bit of graffiti (which ends up being too simplistic to be challenging) and quite a good story line.
But it lacks the true freedom of sticking any tags anywhere, and the jumping and hiding aspects of the game get too easy too quickly. The fighting just involves bashing all the buttons and hoping for the best. It's never quite as revolutionary or inspiring as a genuine graffiti game should be.
It a damn shame.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
I loved this game as a kid and I am loving it the second time around, couldn't be happier with this game since it is many years old. It plays like it would if it was new and I've almost completed it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2016
too much games with black guys in it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
Perfect quality, extremely happy :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)