Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
15
4.2 out of 5 stars
Revelations
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 September 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Delivery arrived as promised, condition excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
v good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2005
Aside from their L.P. ' Extremities, Dirt...' this one is probably their most darkest. Running through the undercurrent of the making of this were internal squablles with Big Paul and Youth and Jaz's fear of an impending apocolypse that led him to flee to Iceland shortly after the records release to escape what he saw as the end of the world. As empire song entered the charts the rest of the band had to make do with replacing Jaz on Tv apperances with either a scarcrow or someone in a bee-keepers outfit.
Apart from all this the songs are excellent. Geordies guitar cutting a swathe and snaking in and out of the 'beating pulse like' drums and bass guitar, and the keyboards rumbling through on some tracks or leading like a pipers battle cry on 'The pandys are coming'
Fully recommended
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
Put this album on,then listen to 1986's "Brighter than a thousand suns",and you would question yourself.'Is this the same band!' Both terrific L.P's. Revelations is a very edgy post punk affair,totally distorted and noisy,used to maximum effect,this is where 'Geordie' shows his guitar genius. You would either find this album irritating or wonderful,for me the latter.'The Pandys are coming' track,is about a non-existant land called 'Pandyssia' where all the dishonored are sent. See my review on "Brighter.."..as this is nicer on the ears..but has a post apocalyptic sound all the way through.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2011
I started with Joke's excellent 2010 album, Absolute Dissent and basically acquired their back catalogue in a matter of weeks. Of all the albums, I find this one the most difficult. The songs are uninspired as are much of the performances and it all sounds a bit of a dirge with one track blurring into another. Only occasionally does one get an interesting riff or vocal line. Now I pretty much love all the other albums but this is a real let down. I expected much, much more with such an intriguingly apocalyptic title!!

How the band that later gave us The Raven King, A Southern Sky, Twilight Of The Mortal or Money Is Not Our God could once have produced such a slog of an album is baffling!
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2005
recently remastered and reissued this overlooked classic sounds even more intense and claustrophobic than before! The best way to describe this album is intense riffs and vocals coupled with danceable beats and a great bass groove. Stand out tracks are Empire Song, The Pandys are Coming and the fast punky Land of Milk and Honey. The remastering gives this album a new depth and clarity whilst still keeping the bleak edge
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 August 2010
Where the first two Killing Joke albums were and are still, utterly untouchable, with Revelations Killing Joke entered even darker territory. Paranoia of impending world destruction lead to Jaz running off to Iceland in abject terror.

Before he left, this album was unleashed. Kicking off with the slow crawl of the Hum you're immediately dragged kicking and screaming into a dark corridor down into a grey and rather paranoid world.

There's a more sparse nature to this record, yet it also showed the first signs that Youth was about to depart, the trademark bass lines are not quite as prevalent, perhaps fatigue, perhaps internal difficulties.

Either way, as a unit, this is still a cohesive work with some incredible songs 'The Hum', 'Empire Song', Pandys, Chop Chop, I could go on, but it also signalled a need for change, for me, with the inclusion of Dregs which is a bit of a throwaway track.

It is an essential purchase in the same way as the first two albums are, but perhaps not quite the cornerstone of a superb career, that shows no signs of waning just yet.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2009
I agree with previous reviewers that this is an excellent album - I would name Chapter III as another stand out track with it's resouding chorus: 'take now or stay the same!'

However when I first purchased this album I was surprised to see an obvious filler track 'Dregs' on an album which is only 36 mins long, and that remains a gripe with me. This edition has good quality remastering but I'm sure there would have been room for some more bonus tracks - maybe something from the Birds of a Feather EP for example?

I'm being mean giving this 4 stars but I can't really give it 5 in view of the above.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2009
When I bought this album in 1982 I hated it.Now it is one of my favourites.It is true that the additional track could have been accompanied by Sun Goes Down, Birds Of A Feather etc. but you get them on Ha! I just add the related files to my iPod.

Revelations is a brutal record in every way. LSD featured heavily at the time( as folklore would have it) hence the strangeness of it all.Dregs is basically a studio jam where Jaz just makes the words up.

It took me 15 years to get into this record and I do not know why because it is awesome.

Standouts are Empire Song, Chop Chop and Chapter III.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)