Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2006
Are you a fan of Catherine Cookson's novels? Were you a fan of these dramas when they were originally shown on TV? Or are you simply a fan of Sean Bean, Ray Stevenson or Jonathan Cake? If you can answer 'yes' to any of these questions then this is the collection for you. Full of the feisty heroines, dastardly villains and working-class heroes that we have come to associate with Catherine Cookson at her best, this collection will provide hours of entertainment, and is probably best enjoyed on a rainy afternoon with your feet up and a box of chocolates on standby.

Give or take a few dodgy wigs the quality of the adaptions is generally very good, although some of the novels have understandably been shortened or changed slightly for the purposes of televisual drama. The picture quality is acceptable, although maybe not as super sharp as modern dramas, and there are no extras on the dvds, just subtitles and scene selections. There are quite a few famous faces amongst the cast members, including Nigel Havers, James Fox, Emily Mortimer and Sean Bean, and perhaps the only real downside is the inclusion of 'The Storyteller', an hour long drama about Cookson's own life. Interesting enough, but I personally would rather have had another adaption of one of the novels.

Nevertheless, on the whole this collection offers some top drama at a reasonable price, and includes two of my favourite adaptions: The Fifteen Streets and The Girl. Definitely worth purchasing if you're a Cookson fan.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
Arrrived promptly, well packaged, was as described, in fact it was better than expected. A good few hours of escapsim. Some of the stories can be a bit 'samey' though - if you know what to expect, its perfect to curl up on the sofa too and lose yourself!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
this dvd set is very good for devotees of catherine cookson an excelent gift idea.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2007
On the whole all of these are very good. The Rag Nymph and 15 Streets are the best by far, but the Wingless Bird is also well up there among my favourites. The Girl is the one I like least and I think its because its changed. It doesn't flow. Having said that as an avid reader I could criticise all of them for not being identical replicas, however in some cases it definately works better than in others.

I second the recommendation of a long wet weekend and a box of chocolates as being equally essential when you plan to watch them all. Also pretend your not at home and take the phone off the hook. Most of these deserve your total attention and should be treated with reverence. Certainly when watching the 15 Streets make sure that a do not disturb is posted to all your nearest and dearest if they aren't going to watch them too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
A fantastic film, but then what else would you expect from a story teller like Catherine Cookson. My aim is to collect all 23 films if I can.
Happy viewing Janet
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
bought to complete series for my mother who is a great lover of Catherine Cookson. Also found at a reasonable price which was far better priced than the shops.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
I brought this on behalf of my friend whose
wife is a catherine cookson big fan. products came in
good condition. no probs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
Loved these stories.wish there were lots more to buy, but gave. Most of them now. Great writer and compelling films
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
I've already got the video tape versions of these films that it was time to get the DVD sets. Great value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
good selection of dvds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£19.99

Need customer service? Click here