Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
48
4.4 out of 5 stars


on 19 September 2008
if you already know of the three stooges you wont need me to tell you how great they were/are-but you should be made aware that this current collection released by sony-this being the third chapter-is by far the ultimate/definative collection-all of the classic shorts released uncut/remastered and in release order-this chapter sees all of the shorts released between 1940 and 1942-all 23 of them on 2 discs-picture and sound quality is excellent-of course this series is only available currently on region 1-so you will need a multi region dvd player to view these gems-hopefully these classics will soon make there way to region 2
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Very hard to get film, rare, with bonus short goofs and saddles. In English and Spanish language, subtitles English, French and Spanish. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2017
Classic comedy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2017
Dated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2009
My young son was first introduced to the Three Stooges during the film Short Circuit, where they make a brief appearance. We then spent the next half an hour watching numerous u-tube clips that left me in tears and him in mild amusement and incredulity.

I bought this DVD for him as an introduction into their comedy genius. While it is very funny, he was a little disappointed that his 'favourite' character Curly only appears in one of the four episodes (despite the front sleeve image, though the product description does mention it - I now find). Shemp is in the others instead.

I hadn't heard of him before and guess Curly replaced him early on for the bulk of their films. I don't regret the purchase but will be looking for something more Curly in the future.
22 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2010
I bought this set for my husband and when he watched the discs he commented that he prefers the black and white versions. I thought if it was digitally remastered and in colour it would be easier to watch and more enjoyable but he insisted that he prefers the older classics in b/w. C'est la vie.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
This is maybe more of a Three Stooge collector DVD than one for general viewers seeking an introduction - the majority of the shorts here feature Moe, Larry and Shemp rather than the classic line-up of Moe, Larry and Curly. That said, it doesn't feel like a diminished ensemble talent-wise because of course Shemp was an original Stooge anyway.

The shorts are all fine. You're not going to get anything on the same level as (say) Duck Soup or The Music Box here. This is production line slapstick for people like you and me, not studenty Doug Stanhope fan types.Some of the jokes here are so totally awful it would be difficult to class them as jokes, and are more akin to genuinely avant-garde theatre/cinema/comedy.

Product quality - something is up with the aspect ratio here. It looks like it was filmed off the telly as the picture is square.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2009
Sometimes just being funny is enough. Profound thought, shock tactics, social satire can be well and good....but funny and silly is often plenty, and the Three Stooges are masters of this. Their relentless physical comedy - mainly based on the physical abuse of each other - is still unsurpassed. This DVD provides a great snapshot of what they did. We even see Shemp in action who took over from Curly and proving what an alble replacement he was. And look out for Curly's idiotic attempt to take the oath in a courtroom....Magical stuff!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2009
What can anyone say about the Three Stooges. This DVD is four of their very best short films. Took me back to my childhood! This is a must for any real fan.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
Me and my kids got belly ache with laughing the only downside not long enough and all three episodes should have Larry curly and moe not shump who is not half as funny
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)