Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Fitbit

  • Amber
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
21
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 18 January 2004
Their final album before they got too harsh for my liking. This album is considered their best by many fans of the group, but I'm sure fans of the harsher material like 'Tri Repetae' would have something to say about that! (I think 'Incunabula' is their best anyway!)
But for me, this is a snapshot in time. Warm melodies combine with shimmering electronics to form magical electronic pieces. Sure, there are harsh and abrasive elements on here too, and they are also enjoyable. It's a perfect balance.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2011
I have in the past `skipped' several of Autechre's albums, the beats being too concentrated to slip inside an ambient mood. But this album serves well those that admire Autechre for the way they construct works from synthesizers. The voices/timbre's are extremely advanced, as is their fine tuning and adjustments. It is a crisp, clear album that deserves great respect, and if I was on the ISS I would be entering the dock of the craft that takes me to the next galaxy, just to play this album at full volume whilst watching the stars go by. It is for the Techno-nauts! And light years ahead of its time. Don't skip this album. For those that enjoy Autechre, you must have it, and for those that are new to Autechre, get ready for light-speed into the future. One of their best!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2000
Some of autechre's finest work, and a natural progression from Incunabula. A classic on its own, which keeps on suprising every time you listen.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2001
This is my second favourite of the Autechre album as the later ones become a lot harder on the ears. Even though this is no Incunabula, it does come close however. Most of this music is great for just playing in the background or for sending you to sleep as it is soooo beautiful but it also has some highlights that need inspective listening such as Further, Nil and TearTear...ummm nice.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2008
When this came out in 1994 it blew me away by its sheer brilliance.Every track offers a different soundscape of beats rythmns and melodies. From the instant fix of Montreal, Slip, nine,Nil and teartear to the growers like Piezo and Further. Its a right box of tricks. Unfortunately the bilge they come out with recently makes this a gem to cherish. Buy it as it sounds as fresh today as it did back then.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This beautiful album has an utterly unique sound, even within Autechre’s ouevre. It may be electronic music but the sound is anything but mechanical, with its strangely compelling textures and beats. The mood varies from eerie and distant to weirdly inspirational and delicately moving, while the music evokes vivid images. The track Silverside even has some muted vocal samples, while tracks like Further evoke the pitter-patter of raindrops and other nature sounds. The tempo also varies: Glitch and Piezo have a fast beat, while Nine and Yulquen are slow and soft. The closest I can come to a comparison, would be to Peter Baumann’s Trans Harmonic Nights, and then only to a certain extent, as Amber is charmingly diverse. I suppose one could describe this as classical electronic music, and this album certainly is a classic in more than one sense of the term.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2007
Amber' is a remarkably atmospheric record - pure electronica with a cold, programmed, robotic feel which is nevertheless eerily compelling.

The opening track `Foil' sets the scene superbly. Mechanical pulsing drones are overlaid with unconventional bursts of sound and percussion to create an unlikely but effective melody.

There is beauty too on this record - `Silverside' features glacial synth washes sweeping over heavily-treated babbling vocal effects and harsh mechanical beats. The track ends with a lovely synth flourish. The following track, `Slip' has almost perky beats and frolicking percussion.

But the over-riding feeling to the record is of a robotic dystopia which conjures up `Blade Runner' style visions. The sound is cold: `Further' is driven by dripping sounds which could be melting glaciers, but `Amber' is haunting and really gets under your skin. The strong closing track `Teartear' is brutal and menacing and sounds like a legion of battle robots on the march. Overall, it sounds hard to believe that this record wasn't made entirely by machines and that is a compliment to how well its atmosphere works.

My only criticism would be the length. At 74 minutes `Amber' is too long and its slight lack of variety shows through. Even so, I like it very much.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2008
Totally different from recent offerings from Autechre, a lot more accessible, but then it is 14 years old.

Without doubt one of my Top 5 albums of all time, it works well as an album, not just a collection of tracks. A must for anyone interested in ambient / electronic music.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2016
Not my favourite from Autechre but need to give it a few more spins before really judging!!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2003
Le deuxieme album, apres le cultissime "Incunabula", des pionniers de la techno expérimentale et de l'Electronica est sans conteste une grande réussite.Le duo britanno-américain composé de Sean Booth et Rob Brown démontre une fois de plus l'étendue de ses talents, que ce soit avec "Silverslide" où Autechre perfectionne les rythmes minimalistes de l'album "Incunabula", ou encore avec les effets organiques mais non moins grandioses de "Piezo" ou "Yulquen".
La seule critique que l'on peut formuler à cet album qui reste reservé aux initiés au genre électronique est sa similarité au premier album, "Incunabula", même si le duo réussit malgré tout à élever d'un cran la qualité et la complexité musicale et à accéder, tout comme Aphex Twin ou Plaid au rang de "Mégastars" de la musique électronique.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)