Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
48
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2005
It may be old, but its certainly not dated, the storys are gritty and realistic, and still have the power to grab you, mainly due to the quality of the writing, and the excellent, low key performances of the actors, which prevent it looking like 70's kitch.An award winner in its day, and it's easy to see why.
One question.....when's season 2 coming out?
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Lt. Theo Kojak - probably one of the coolest telly detectives of them all. Played with infinite charm by Telly Savalas, Kojak is a tough New York policeman who is about as straight as you can get, doing his best to keep the innocent citizenry safe. A character with wit and intelligence, a heart, and a no-nonsense approach which allows the rules to be bent if it means bringing a villain to justice. Savalas is perfect in the role, his imposing physical presence filling the screen and his magnetic charm keeping you glued to the set. With his nattily dressed style, deep reassuring voice and well chosen naturalistic sounding `street' dialogue, Kojak is an impressive and believable construct, almost a living being rather than a work of fiction.

The joy of the series for me is that while it has a strong central character in the form of Kojak, it also has a very strong supporting cast, especially Dan Frazer as Kojak's Captain, and Kevin Dobson as Crocker, Kojak's number two. Kojak might have the brain that fits the pieces together, but the detective work shown here relies on a team, all doing the boring stuff of checking files and making endless phonecalls in order to find the clues Kojak needs. It's as much about the team as it is about the main character. That the script writers managed to make mundane policework look so interesting is a testament to their abilities. There is also quite a bit of comic interplay between Kojak and Stavros, played by Savalas' real life brother George (here credited as Demosthenes), which never feels too jokey or out of place - it comes across as tough men doing a tough job letting off a bit of steam, another credit to writers and performers.

This set contains all 22 episodes from series 1, on 6 discs. Beautifully remastered and with great sound, these look and sound fantastic. As far as I can tell the episodes are uncut. It is a real pity that the same care and attention was not taken with the release of later series. There are no extras, and the pilot episode, the Marcus Nelson murders is not included. I suspect this will be in a later release of the Kojak films, expected in March 2012.

An excellent set, a real gem in my DVD collection. 5 stars, no hesitation.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2005
Kojak is a terrific show. Great performances and chemistry from a terrific cast. No chocolate box good looks here, these are real characters played believably by real actors in a gritty situation which today's voguing TV cops in their stylised grittiness would do well to take a lesson from. The plots are suprisingly hard nosed and the episodes are often bitter sweet with more of a gallows humour of cops who have seen the seedy underbelly of society rather than other shows of the period the tone of which was far lighter and eventually degenerated into more humour than drama (Starsky & Hutch) or ridiculous premises such as McCloud (the plot of the cowboy in New York worked for Coogan's Bluff because it was a one-off and besides Dennis Weaver is no Clint).
My one complaint is the packaging. Kojak is a New York cop. New York as in Manhattan: an island with a number of bridges, beautiful bridges; the Brooklyn or Queensboro bridges over the East River the washington Bridge over the Hudson. these are good bridges, nothing wrong with these bridges so why is there a picture of San Francisco's Golden Gate bridge on the DVD cover? Dumb graphic designers. Sad.
44 comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2010
I bought the zone 2-4-5 (Pal) of Kojak - Season 1 (22 episodes, 1973/74) (6 dvd's). Bar code: 5050582343717 (Universal Studios, 2004)
I'd like to complete the language informations of this edition:

Languages: English - French - German - Spanish
Subtitles: English - French - German - Spanish - Dutch

In the cover only the English (language and subtitles) is indicated.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I can remember 'Kojak' as the number one TV show from the 1970's. A must see for Saturday night at 9.00 p.m. then!

This DVD box set brings all this back.

A must for a fan from the 1970's - a must for the new fans today.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 July 2012
Closing in on 40 years old Kojak is still a joy to watch. I kind of remembered seeing it when I was a nipper back in the early 80"s and Kojak is a tv legend even today.

Half way through the series I've enjoyed every one and New York looks fantastic. The transfer looks better than some blu rays I've purchased.

5 stars.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
Brought back all those memories from the 70's, now they can be seen in much higher size and definition it's interesting to see how many external scenes take place at the same location in different episodes with same cars in the background but with the main characters wearing different clothes.
Very good episode content and reproduction and highly recommended for a bit of nostalgia.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
Kojak is a unique experience for every viewer. You can enjoy the series on so many levels but it's something best enjoyed occassionally like a very strong coffee. Personally I like seing the New York landscape from how it looked in the 1970's. Iconic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
The first TV series of Kojak with its grittiness, New York City nostalgia, excellent dialogues and dodgy pussycat humour must be around 40 years old. Its absolutely superb if you are used to the acting, writing and techniques of that era and its got subtitles for the hearing impaired. Grab it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2009
BOUGHT THIS AS A PRESENT FOR MY PARTNERS BIRTHDAY. WAS VERY SURPRISED . NOT THE TYPICAL ACTION AMERICAN COP SERIES WE'VE BECOME USED TO . KOJACK IS A REAL CHARACTER WITH A VERY NICE LINE IN DRY WIT. VERY ENJOYABLE.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)