Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
40
4.5 out of 5 stars
WWE - Wrestlemania 21 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 July 2006
1st Rey Mysterio vs Eddie Guerrero

A classic feud between friends including a

great corkscrew over the ropes - good opener

8/10

2nd Money in the bank ladder match

Jericho v Benoit v Benjamin v Edge v Christian v Kane

A good match although Kane gets up too quickly after getting

hit by a flying headbutt from the top of the ladder- wrong man won

9/10

3rd Undertaker vs Randy Orton

A good match in which Orton performed consitently well his dad even came and hit Taker with the cast but in the end it wasn't Orton's night

7/10

4th Trish(c) vs Christy Hemme (w)Lita

Not a very good diva match but Trish dus carry it through

5/10

5th Shawn Michaels vs Kurt Angle

BEST MATCH EVER!!!! Although i like Kurt i believe Mr wrestlemania,HBK,the icon is the best wrestler ever- wrong guy won

10/10

6th Pipers Pit

Wouldn't have been that good if Carlito hadn't shown up. It was good watchin Piper and Steve fight again and drinkin beer

9/10

7th Sumo Big Show vs Akebono

Big show did well considering it was his first sumo match but it took a while to start and was quite quick

6/10

8th WWE Championship JBL(c)vs John Cena

Although i'm not a fan of JBL he did perform better then Cena and did sum kl neckbreakers outside the ring.

8/10

9th World Heavyweight Triple H(c) vs Batista

It just goes to shoow wether triple wins loses or even wen he was in DX he always performs well

9/10

There are also hours of extras including hollywood boulevard WWE and a battle royal
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2005
Wrestlemaina 21 the biggest show of the year and many people say a big letdown but in fair view was overall a decent event.
Eddie Guerrero vs. Rey Mysterio - Good fast paced opener with many good highspots from both guys. Main problem was Reys constant distraction of his mask which he keeps having to fix losing the momentum which was being built, that said this match proved that both wrestlers work well together and pull off a good and enjoyable opener. 8/10
Money In Bank Ladder Match
Y2J vs. Chris Benoit vs. Shelton Benjamin vs. Edge vs. Christian vs. Kane - Great ladder match with every man involved. Lots of great moves with the ladder (Shelton Benjamin running up for the clothesline brilliant) and worthy for its spot on the card. Main problem with this match is the fact that the winner seemed less involved than all the other guys. 9/10
Legend vs. Legend Killer Match
Undertaker vs. Randy Orton - Randy proves why he is the future of the WWE putting on an amazing match with the Deadman. Second best match of the night easily with both men putting on excellent performances and captivating the crowd who got into this match easily. 9.5/10
Womens Championship
Trish Stratus (c) vs. Christy Hemme - You can really see the downfall of the womens division in just one year we have gone from two brilliant women wrestlers Victoria and Molly Holly putting on a great physical match at Wrestlemaina 20 to Christy Hemme. Sorry but why put a girl who cannot wrestle on the card at Wrestlemaina the biggest show of the year, bad booking and the match just didnt work. 1/10
Inter-Promotional Match
Kurt Angle vs. Shawn Michaels - WOW! Match of the night by far. Technical and fast paced this match had it all, Michaels spring off the apron onto Angle is spectactular. Both men give their all in this match and it shows as this really works. In my opinon this should have been the main event as the crowd were at its most hyped and there was a good feeling this was going to be the classic it turned into. 10/10
Sumo Match
Big Show vs. Akebono
I fast forwarded this segment as i could tell i would be a waste of time when i first watched the event on DVD. Looking back at it i was right this match took up far too much time and could have been replaced by people with wrestling talent. 1/10
WWE Championship
JBL (c) vs. John Cena - Not a good match both could have done better. I felt like the match was stopped a quarter way through as JBL hadnt even had more than 7 moves done on him than he was F-U'ed and lost the title. This was supposed to be the longest title reign in a decade and i thought they would have spent longer than 10 minutes stripping JBL of his precious title. Poor performance by both they should have done better considering it was Wrestlemaina, this felt more like a match on smackdown. 6/10
World Heavyweight Title
Triple H (c) vs. Batista - Better than the previous title match but definalty not the match of the night.Triple H has been getting gradually worse over the years and Batista cannot really wrestle so this was never going to be a classic main event of Wrestlemaina like Austin and The Rock or Bret Hart and Shawn Michaels but was a decent enough affair.Kinda dragging and slow at the beginning but good to see Triple H beaten at Wrestlemaina even if it was by Batista, ok match with sum good action towards the end. 7.5/10
A sighty above average P.P.V with 4 decent matches to watch. The title matches were ok but felt they were missing something and too predictable. I thought this Wrestlemaina could have been better with maybe a tag team match and cruiserweight match instead of the womens title and sumo match. Watch this event for the ladder match, Orton vs. Taker and Michaels vs. Angle.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2005
I wrote a review for the american one of this a long while ago so here's a slighty altered version of it
Much more focused and less filler than last year's XX (you could hear a pin drop during the fatal four way tag matches at XX from both respective brands), I think Wrestlemania XXI, although it does have one of two weak matches, It does live up to the hype and shows us that the WWE can still put an incredible show when it needs to.... (as they did again at the also fantastic Vengeance 2005)...
Eddie Guerrero vs. Rey Mysterio -
A fantastic underrated opener, Eddie and Rey completely surprised me with their perfect reversals and near falls and sets up Guerrero`s heel turn perfectly (even though the storyline is now laughably bad and has go on way to long, including Eddie revealing he's the father of Rey's son and 'sweet jesus' actually trying to gain custody of Rey's son, and at the time of writing has done nothing but hinder both men's career's its made Rey look stupid but not weak, they had him beat Christian last week....sigh), its always hard to pull off a face vs. face match but Guerrero and Rey did it beautifully - 8/10
Money in the Bank Ladder Match - Winner gets a contract that gives them a World title shot that lasts up to a year -
Thoroughly excellent, this match delivered bump after intense bump, of non-stop mayhem, Benoit (who after what looked like breaking his arm, did a DIVING HEADBUTT OFF A LADDER to Kane) and Benjamin (who RAN UP A LADDER and clotheslined Jericho off it!) both delivered stellar performances, Kane was in typical "monster mode" and Jericho and Christian both were great as usual, Edge was very good but seem to do much more than the ending.... - 9/10
Funny intermission involving Eugene who seemed REAL excited to be at Mania and provided some laughs, which was then ruined by Hassan and his lil' rambler Davari beating him up before OH MY GOD ALMIGHTY, ITS HULK HOGAN BWAAAH! So the crowd cheered, and Hulk kicked Hassan's and Davari's asses and people are all excited and Hulk Hogan breaks into his VERY long posing routine and I die a little more inside...(sorry, I'm no "Hulkamaniac")
Randy Orton vs. The Undertaker -
Great storyline leading up to this match about the deadman's winning streak, good ol' Taker delivered another great performance and Orton finally seem's to have escaped the baby face slump he was in and now as a fully fledged heel performed excellently with a shoulder injury, some great near falls and reversal's (choke slam into RKO? INCREDIBLE!), it had a fairly slow start though and really should have been a gimmick match (Casket or HIAC),good seeing Taker coming out on top though (I was ready to stop watching WWE programming if they chose to end Taker's undefeated streak with of all people, Randy Orton) - 8/10
Christy Hemme vs. Trish Stratus - Women's Championship Match -
The beautiful Trish carry's the horribly green Christy (my god, the women's division in the WWE is practically dead if this is the best baby face women's wrestler they can get)through an actually okay match but in the end Trishalicous beat Christy clean with a swift kick - 6/10
Shawn Michaels vs. Kurt Angle -
Man, HBK and Angle are fantastic, what more could you ask for from the two greatest performers of our generation! Intensity fuelled, amazing high flying (HBK did a moonsault to Angle on the announcers table!) technical showcase, this was a blast to watch, it started out Old School as both HBK and Angle applied holds to each other and tried to fight out of them, then it slowly turned to the WWE of today, with each wrestler throwing just about every move in the book at each other, with reversal after near fall after reversal, it was simply poetry in wrestling motion, amazingly paced and both men performed so brilliantly its hard to believe their ages, in a word, AWESOME! (especially seeing the Angle Slam from the top rope!) - 10/10
Akebono vs. Big Show - Sumo Match -
This was...okay, look let's be honest the "biggest match in Wrestlemania history" (Good lord, Tazz and Michael Cole are idiots) never was going to be showstopper (more like a slowslower, or a snoresnorer considering I found it hard to stay awake during those awful promos for this match on Smackdown!) but it was competitive for a...sumo match, even though Show lost (I'm speechless really) - 5/10
PIPER'S PIT, WITH SPECAIL GUEST STONE COLD STEVE AUSTIN: Hell Yeah! First minutes between the Hot Rod and the Texas Rattlesnake were awesome and then the frankly brilliant Carlito came out to tell the two that they were not "cool", getting a stunner for his troubles, then Piper and Austin pop open a few cold one's and Roddy gets "stunned"!
John Cena vs. JBL - WWE Championship Match -
JBL who after holding the WWE championship for 10 months (in my opinion, a underated heel champ, wrestling god reign) and beating top guys; Eddie, Undertaker, Angle, Big Show, Booker T and more in the most brutal, long, bloody encounters in recent memory, loses the title in 12 minutes to John Cena in an awful match, with no near falls, one reversal (count em' ONE ) I realise they had to cut down the match time because of the (boring) hall of fame ceremony, but come on! If there was one match on the card practically crying out for a gimmick stipulation this was it, this was one sided garbage, barely acceptable on Smackdown! Let alone on the grandest stage of them all at Wrestlemania, the disappointment of the year (they sort of made up for it at jugdement day with their voilent I Quit match) - 3/10
HALL OF FAME INTERMISSION: Uh yeah, this covers the ah..... Hall of Fame induction ceremony that took place the day before Mania and then it brings out all of the guys out on the main stage who all get silence except *sigh* Hogan! Still though it's a nice way to calm your nerve's after that rubbish performance by John Cena and JBL, but it only increases your hunger for....
THE MAIN EVENT: Batista vs. Triple H - World Heavyweight Championship Match -
Feeding off their fantastically intense storyline they had on RAW, Triple H did what many thought was impossible, he carried Dave Batista through a fantastic match that went over 20 mins, filled with power moves from The Animal but crucially proper offence from the Game as well it managed to be absolutely blinding, although it didn't hide Batista's weaknesses he more than made up for it (and unlike Goldberg he seems to know the timing of his move's right) in an absolutely mind blowing finish (The look on The Game's face and reaction from the crowd as Batista powers out of the Pedigree is incredible) the crowd was into it too, showing no matter how Batista fares as the World champ he's definitely over with the fans- 9/10
Now WWE get down to releasing a Kurt Angle DVD, I mean if you can make one for (dear GOD) John Cena, then surely you can make one for our Olympic HERO, just make sure you include loads of his great PPV matches and his pure comedy gold promo's as well!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2005
There were a lot less matches at this year's Wrestlemania than last year (12 matches at Wrestlemania 20 , only 8 at this event), which I thought was surprising. However, this doesn't manage to lower the quality of the event.
The card is started with a match between then-Tag Team Champs Rey Mysterio and Eddie Guerrero (wasn't this guy main-eventing this PPV last year?). It's a good match, and just what you'd expect from these two. This was the start of the feud between the two.
The Money In The Bank Ladder Match is next (not sure why this is only match #2). You can't go wrong when you stick six Raw superstars and a ladder (actually, quite a few ladders) in a ring together. High spots everywhere. Too many to mention.
The first of two Interpromotional matches follows, when Randy Orton takes on The Undertaker. After watching this a second time, I realised that this was better than I thought. Orton's counter of the Chokeslam into an RKO is impressive.
The fun stops for a bit though, when Trish Stratus defends the Women's Title against Raw Diva Search Winner, Christy Hemme. Nobody expected this to be brilliant, and they were right. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't awful, but the WWE probably shouldn't have put someone with little wrestling ability in a title match at Wrestlemania. Trish has some 'unique ring attire' as JR put it.
Kurt Angle VS. Shawn Michaels? That sounds like a good match for Wrestlemania. Though it starts out a little slow, this match turns into the kind of match you would expect when you put two stars like Angle and Michaels in a match together. Well done to both of them.
After this great display of wrestling, we get...a Sumo Match?? All righty. Former pro sumo wrestler Akebono and the Big Show collide (I mean that literally) on the grand stage. This match was pretty pointless, but seeing Show in a sumo outfit was kinda funny.
The two main events are next. First, JBL defends his WWE Title against John Cena in a disappointinlgy average match. There jsut seemed to be something missing from this match. JBL had held the gold for over 9 months at this point, and the outcome should have felt more important.
The last match of the night is the World Heavyweight Title match between former Evolution buddies, Triple H and Batista. For the second time, Triple H is played to the ring by Motorhead. Both times, they seem to have brought him the same luck... Anyway, the match was better than expected, with HHH even getting busted open during it. A decent finish to a decent Wrestlemania.
This is isn't an event that you should get for just one match. With the exceptions of the Sumo Match, the Women's Title match and the WWE Championship match, all the matches range from pretty good to brilliant. If you haven't got it just now, you probably won't regret it if you buy it now.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2005
One of the greatest Wrestlemania's ive ever seen it starts off with the national anthem and a recap of all the wrestlemania trailers.
Rey Mysterio vs Eddie Guerrero the first time ever two of the wwe tag team champions went one on one with each other great match. 6/10
Money in the bank ladder match Brilliant match between six of the best superstars in the wwe alot of action with ladders.
9/10
Also eugene surprises the wrestlemania fans when he returns
but only to be interupted and attacked by Muhammed Hassan
when the hulkster hulk hogan came to eugene's aid.
Randy Orton vs The Undertaker legend vs legend killer match
good match a littlen bit boring at the start great ending though. 6/10
Trish Stratus vs Christy wwe womens championship
very good match between two lovely divas. 5/10
Kurt angle vs shawn michaels one of the best matches of the night between two very talented athletes. 9/10
Pipers Pit special guest on pipers pit stone cold steve austin.
piper wanted the meanest guy in the wwe and he got him also carlito came to the ring and said that austin and piper are not cool but austin and piper teamed up on him and austin gave him the stunner. Piper and austin were drinking beers and celebrating but only to have austin give piper the stunner aswell.

Sumo match Akebono vs The Big Show
short and not what i was expecting but was okay. 4/10
J.B.L vs John Cena wwe championship
Excellent match the crowning of a new wwe champion very entertaining match. 9/10
gene okerlund presents the class of 2005 hall of fame inductees
Nikolai volkoff
The iron Sheik
Mr wonderful paul orndorff
Cowboy bob orton
The mouth of the south Jimmy Hart
Rowdy Roddy Piper
The immortal Hulk Hogan
Triple h vs Batista World Heavyweight Championship
Amazing match between the game triple h and the animal batista
also an appearance by Motorhead who played triple h's entrance theme. And the crowning of a new world heavyweight champion.
AN AMAZING PAY-PER-VIEW This is must buy dvd or vhs.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2005
EDDIE GUERERO vs REY MYSTERIO
This match was looked at as being entertaining but in my opinion i think it was just an opening match because WWE Bosses had no other one. Dont get me wrong a good match and 2 great superstars but it was just to start the night off 5/10
LADDER MATCH MONEY IN THE BANK
Great entertainment all around by these great superstars and possibly event of the night. Great athletism shown by everyone.
Edge didnt deserve to win it. 8/10
LEGEND vs LEGEND KILLER
Undertaker and Randy Orton put on a fantastic match and they showed great rivarly with doing eachother's moves. Absolutely great. 8/10
WOMEN'S TITLE
An alright match which entertained the crowd 5/10
KURT vs SHAWN
What can i say- a great match by 2 great veterans. Another match of the night candidate. 8/10
BIG SHOW vs AKEBONO-SUMO MATCH
An alright event that showed the crowd something differnt. Just ALRIGHT 5/10
PIPER'S PIT- STONE COLD
Great to see him back and also Roddy Piper returning to WWE. Great entertainment and typical Austin finish. 7/10
WWE CHAMPIONSHIP- JBL vs JOHN CENA
I think everyone knew Cena would win. Good ending with F-U but the whole match wasnt that entertaining. 6/10
HALL OF FAME CEREMONY
Great to see these legends back and also Hulk Hogan get great respect.Very Good 8/10
WORLD HEAVYWEIGHT CHAMPIONSHIP- HHH vs Batista
Good entertaining match. Typical finish with Batista Bomb. We all knew he was going to win it from HHH 7/10
WWE could of brought back the Rock and some other legends to wrestle to liven this event up a bit. WWE didnt make it good enough for those who have watched sine the 90's
OVERALL SCORE FOR WRESTLEMANIA- GENEROUS 7/10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
This was, for the most part, a very good show. It was let down in a few places but it featured numerous exciting matches and it certainly had the look of a big time show (I thought the stage looked great). This was also a highly significant event since Batista and John Cena, who would both play a major role in WWE for years to come, ascended to main event status.

Rey Mysterio vs Eddie Guerrero 5/10
The show starts with a babyface vs babyface match between tag team partner buddies Mysterio and Guerrero. This was rather disappointing, it just wasn't anywhere near as exciting, smooth, fast paced or innovative as, say, their Halloween Havoc match from 1997. They were also hampered by the fact that the rivalry between them was too friendly. It certainly wasn't bad but it fell short of the expectations of the fans and the participants (Guerrero was very obviously displeased by the way the match is progressing).

Money in the Bank ladder match 10/10
The first ever Money in the bank match and, I feel, still the best. It was perfectly paced, with just the right number of stunts for the time, and all the participants were on form. Shelton Benjamin, in particular, looked great. The winner was extremely deserving. During Kane's entrance for this match some ladders on the stage are set on fire, amusingly this leaves scorch marks on the stage which are visible for the rest of the show.

Before the next match we were 'treated' to Eugene coming out and cutting a promo, he was then joined by Muhammad Hassan and Davari. Hassan ranted on about how he had been excluded from the show. Hassan attacked Eugene and put him in the camel clutch. Hulk Hogan then made the save and effortlessly battered both Hassan and Davari before posing in and around the ring for ages.

The Undertaker vs Randy Orton 8/10
A very exciting match in which Undertaker made Orton look very competitive before beating him. At this stage this was one of the best matches of Undertaker's streak.

Women's title: Trish Stratus vs Christy Hemme 5/10
I thought this was a fairly good women's match, especially considering Hemme's lack of experience.

Kurt Angle vs Shawn Michaels 10/10
Match of the night and the match of 2005. A superb effort from both men, with loads of great moves, reversals and near falls. It built up beautifully becoming ever more dramatic and exciting as it progressed. The finish was also perfect.

Next we get a Piper's pit segment with Roddy Piper and Steve Austin. This segment was quite amusing and Carlito's appearance was welcome even if he was only there to take the inevitable stone cold stunner.

Sumo Match: Big Show vs Akebono 0/10
This was just tedious. They took forever to set the match up and then when it started it only lasted 63 seconds. The sight of Show and Akebono in traditional Sumo attire was quite disturbing.

WWE title: John 'Bradshaw' Layfield vs John Cena 2/10
A really poor match which the fans didn't care about. The finish came out of nowhere, which partly explains the crowd's embarrassing reaction to it. At least it marked the end of JBL's dreadful title reign.

World title: Triple H vs Batista 5/10
While far better than the WWE title match, this one lasted far too long and was sluggish most of time. As a result of the plodding action the crowd were very silent for much of the match, they did come alive for the finish though. The closing few minutes of the match were, admittedly, exciting.

While the world title matches were a letdown, this card had much to enjoy about it. Money in the Bank, Orton vs Undertaker and Angle vs Michaels all range from very good to outstanding.

Special features include the 2005 Hall of fame induction ceremony and the pre show 30 man SmackDown! vs Raw battle royal. Also included are all of the movie spoof Wrestlemania trailers, some of which are actually quite amusing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2005
Having read some reviews already, I have to say there are some match reviews I don't agree with. So please allow me to have my say on proceedings:
1. Eddie Guerrero vs Rey Mysterio
As the was the start of their feud, it wasn't a bad start. Lately their feud has gone into the stratosphere but as this was the catalyst they can be excused if it wasn't pitch-perfect. I felt some reviewers have been very harsh on this match so I will award it a little higher.
Mark: 7/10
2. Money In The Bank Ladder Match
Many people have lauded this as superb but although I liked it, it wasn't up there with two other matches on the bill. This was quite good with some supreme spots but the match was over too quickly and the finish was a little disappointing.
Mark: 8/10
3. The Undertaker vs Randy Orton
Given that The Undertaker had recently been saddled with jobbers like Heidenreich and Luther Reigns in his last few pay-per-views, it was only fitting that the legend was given a proper outing against the future of the WWE Randy Orton. The match was absolutely superb from start to finish and the only reason I haven't awarded full marks is that Orton should have won the match and definitively earned his 'Legend Killer' tag.
Mark: 9.5/10
4. Women's Championship Match, Trish Stratus (Champion) vs Christy Hemme
Abysmal. As someone who has seen proper women's wrestling in Japan with promotions such as GAEA, women like Christy Hemme just don't cut it. Trish can pull off a good match given a decent opponent but this well short of anything good.
Mark: 2.5/10
5. Shawn Michaels vs Kurt Angle
What can I say about this match that hasn't already been said? This match was flawless as everyone predicted it would be and was a perfect example of how breathtaking wrestling can be if you get two men in the ring who can work properly. As an old-school fan of Michaels I was surprised to find myself rabidly willing Kurt Angle on to make Michaels' tap - which he duly did. The best match on the card, just edging out Taker vs Orton.
Mark: 10/10
Piper's Pit
Wasn't an actual match but I suppose it was good to see Austin and Piper back, even if the useless Carlito diluted the nostalgia. Although Piper's slurring of his words did make me feel quite sorry for him.
* No mark as this wasn't a match
6. Sumo Match, Big Show vs Akebono
Another huge (pardon the pun) waste of time. For it's purposes the sumo contest was well constructed but as this was a wrestling extravaganza it made it feel flat and out of place. You'd think Vince would learn by now - although the money he must have generated from Japanese buy-rates would have been big given their sport being broadcast on a major American telecast.
Mark: 4/10
7. WWE Championship, JBL (Champion) vs John Cena
Pretty bad, even by their low standards. These two can't work but because Layfield is McMahon's pet (well, one of them) and Cena is currently hot property in merchandise sales they are allowed to contest a main event. This match proves how far down the card they SHOULD be.
Mark 5/10
8. World Heavyweight Title, Triple H (Champion) vs Batista
This match was better than a lot of people give it credit for. The criticism of Batista is sometimes warranted but Triple H is, and always has been, one of the best workers on the roster. As far as this match goes perhaps it did drag on but they managed to make it look decent and Batista came out of it looking like the monster they've billed him as. Plus, this was the culmination of a 3-month storyline which was well worked.
Mark: 7/10
All in all, a very good pay-per-view with two matches in particular worthy of being billed as world-class.
Overall Mark: 8/10
If the WWE can keep producing PPV's like this throughout the remainder of the year, then perhaps they can start to make the money and the ratings they had from 1998-2001.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2012
Wrestlemania 21 took place in 2005 at the Staples Centre in Hollywood (Los Angeles), California, hence the tag-line: 'Wrestlemania Goes Hollywood', which actually worked very well for the Company, I might add (more on this later).

Fans are treated to a lovely opening to the event, as WWE's own Lilian Garcia delivers a lovely, 'moving' rendition of 'America The Beautiful'. This performance is broadcast alongside a video montage of WWE Superstars meeting U.S. troops serving in Iraq. Despite all of this, in my mind, nothing shall ever topple Lilian's performance of the same song at the Smackdown 9/11 Tribute Show back in 2001!

The first match on the card features Eddie Guerrero against Rey Mysterio. This was indeed a very unique matchup because both of these men were tag team partners at the time, however, Eddie had to 'prove' that he could beat Rey. On that note, it is Eddie who dominates most of this bout, although you will witness great athleticism from both men. In my honest view, the wrong man wins here (I should also point out that, for diehards, this match is indeed historical because this would sadly be Eddie Guerrero's last Wrestlemania event; he would tragically die in November of 2005, R.I.P Eddie!).

Next up is the first ever Money In The Bank Ladder Match. With hindsight, I had no idea how chaotic this match could be!! You have Chris Jericho, Chris Benoit, Christian, Shelton Benjamin, Edge and Kane competing in the first ever match of this kind. This match is complete 'chaos', as everybody 'destroys' each other. A classic Edge and Christian moment on offer here, too. Shelton Benjamin has a 'fantastic' match aswell. However, Chris Benoit should have won this match, watch and see why! Overall, a fantastic match, one of the best!

It gets even better next, as we are given a 'true' Wrestlemania Moment. Eugene (remember him?) enters the ring and talks about how happy he is to be at Wrestlemania, only to be interrupted by Muhammad Hassan and Davari!!! Who saves Eugene, only the 'immortal' Hulk Hogan!!!! A truly wonderful, classic moment here!! You can't miss this.

Next, The Undertaker takes on Randy Orton. Question: Did anybody really think The Streak was going to end here??? I thought not, 13-0 at Wrestlemania 21.

Trish Stratus battles Christy Hemme next. Generally, I dislike the Women's Division and there's no pun intended there. Anyhow, I'm glad to say that the right woman wins here.

Shawn Michaels vs. Kurt Angle. With hindsight, I can safely say that this match 'literally' has to be seen to be believed! BOTH men steal the show here and ONLY at Wrestlemania will you see a classic bout like this!

'Rowdy' Roddy Piper returns to Wrestlemania and, with that, so does his Piper's Pit Segment. I can best describe this as very funny because Piper's special guest is none other than Stone Cold Steve Austin himself. Like many reviews have said here, this segment is going great, that is, until bloody Carlito makes an (unnecessary) appearance! Nonetheless, a classic moment is guaranteed at the end. 'Save The Best Til Last', eh?

Next up is the first ever Sumo Match where Akebono takes on the Big Show. Ok, this is pure filler and it is (very) obvious who wins here. Even so, this is a very interesting match to watch. I say this because, being a Japanese contest in origin, it's all about Tradition, so it makes for an interesting view. Not many will agree with me there, but meh!

In the first Main Event of the night, John Cena faces JBL in a pretty uneventful, boring match overall. Bradshaw dominates Cena throughout most of the match, that is, until Cena 'suddenly' bursts into life from out of nowhere and defeats JBL to claim his first WWE Championship and, in doing so, have his Wrestlemania Moment.

Then in the Main Event of the night, Triple H fights Batista for the World Heavyweight Championship. Overall, this match is very much like the former. Triple H dominates Batista until Batista gains momentum and delivers a 'Batista Bomb' and has his Wrestlemania Moment at Wrestlemania 21!

Overall, I felt that Wrestlemania 21 was a very good event and was very enjoyable to watch. If, like me, you are a collector of WWE events, then you should purchase this boxset. It really is great value for money.

Special Features: You are given all of the WWE Produced Promos that were aired on TV prior to the event. These are absolutely must-own TV, so buy this for these!! Also, you get to view the WWE Show on Hollywood Boulevard, in highlight form, that took place a few days before the event. Both of the above Special Features back up the tagline of 'Wrestlemania Goes Hollywood' in superior fashion! There's also a featurette showing Triple H hanging out with the band Motorhead as they play an unplugged version of 'The Game', Triple H's theme song in the WWE. This footage is incredible, really very enjoyable. There are some more special features included. The third disc features the WWE Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony of 2005 in its entirety. These are really brilliant to watch and this one is no exception.

Wrestlemania Went Hollywood in 2005!!

Buy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2008
Some of my fellow reviewers have stated this is the best wrestlemania of them all,they arent far of the mark in all fairness,this has a great card and lives up to the expectations of that card,i aint gonna say its nailed on perfection but i rate this event highly.
The tagline was mania goes hollywood as that was the location of the event,plenty of promos were shot with a homage to films with WWE stars playing roles and this built up the interest levels to feverish highs,the promos all feature on this three disc boxset so dont panic.
The event started off with a bomb with eddie guerrero going up against rey mysterio,this feud in some ways at this point had run its course but this match was mint and the feud went all the way to summerslam on the back of this great performance from both men and yes this was only the beginning.
Next up was a six man ladder match for money in the bank title opportunity to be used anytime within the follwing twelve months,this was a superb match,didnt last too long and was just great and engaging and everyone played their part,everyone.
After a brief time for hulk hogan to come out and whip the crowd into a frenzy we got a great match between the undertaker and randy orton that was again very good,the match changed and shifted accordingly and in the end the outcome although expected was good.
Next up was the ladies match that didnt move blow back anyones hair with its quality really,trish fough christy hemme in a pretty low key match that smacked of filler yet again,oh no.
But,wait a second,an order of majestic heights was about to be restored when kurt angle went up against shawn michaels in a match that many cite to be one of the best of all time and they have a point in saying that,what a contest,what a show,what further proof could you need of the brilliance that the wwe has when all the stars are alligned and the heavens get involved,brilliant.
Next up was a fun pipers pit,not world class or anything but fun with piper interviewing stonecold and carlito coming out to say hello,we then get a match that had some hype but wasnt that great but then again that depends on whether sumo wrestling ticks all your boxes,this was a contest between big show and sumo legend akebono,not my cup of tea really.
Next up we have a title match between the champ JBL and john cena,this is a quick enough match but is high enough in quality even if the ending didnt entirely convince me,that showcased the quality of both athletes.
Finally after the hall of fame ceremony,we get the world title match between triple H and his once evolution partner batista,this was a great match,simple as that really,triple h does not do average very often and he doesnt do it here,batista busts his gut here giving his all in making a match worthy of the occasion,a great all round wrestlemania when you think about it,well done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)