Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 December 2014
"Clerks" is the directorial debut of Kevin Smith and is the birth of the "Jay and Silent Bob" characters. The movie is shot in black and white. The soundtrack is quirky and hip as is the dialogue. The story follows the average day of a convenience store clerk and shows his misadventures around his hometown. There is a socially conscious undertone that spans the movie and is handled in an adolescent manner with hilarious consequences. If you like quirky movies you'll love "Clerks".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
I can understand why people find it funny , honestly , I can , but after about 30 minutes the joke wears very thin and it simply gets rather boring.
It is not without merit , but...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2016
very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
What a great Film, proves you don't need to spend Millions on making a classic. Kevin Smiths a genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Great Movie..It's Kevin Smith - Enough Said!!...Real Nice Steelbook...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Good movie excellent edition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2007
I bought this in a box set with two other films - JAY & SILENT BOB STRIKE BACK & CHASING AMY. I had heard great things about this film and when I finally watched it last night I was not let down - I thought it was really funny and to be honest not a lot of things happen so the comedy is in their conversations to each other and how they interact with customers. All the story is about is a day in the lives of Dante & Randle, Dante works in a corner shop and Randle works in a video rental store next to him.

Randle comes in to talk to Dante and basically spends all day there. While there they engage in stupid conversations about the Death Star in Star Wars or stupid questions customers ask in their stores. Jay & Silent Bob are in this too - as two youths that hang out outside the shop doing nothing (and thats all the way through the film) One of the funniest scenes in it was when Randle was ordering loads of porn videos infront of a customer.

The DVD its self is brilliant what you have is 3 DVDS - Disc 1 is the theatrical version with a cleaned up picture and clearer sound, Disc 2 is The Extended Cut with about 20 mins extra at the end of the film and thats it so your not really missing much, Disc 3 is jam packed with special features and there is too many to mention.

Last night was the first time I had seen the film and to be honest was the first film I had watched that was directed by Kevin Smith. So all I can say is buy yourself a copy and have a good laugh at it and yes it is black & white but don't let that put you off, I can't wait to see CLERKS II because if this is anything to go by then I'm in for a right laugh.

Thank you for reading my review.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2005
Made in 1994 for $27,000 on Kevin Smith's credit cards, shot almost entirely at night in the store where he was working, oddball friends roped in for every job on both sides of the camera, and possibly the funniest script ever written specifically for 18-25s makes Clerks one of the greatest achievements in indie filmmaking.
We see a day in the life of downtrodden slacker Dante (Brian O'Halloran) who gets called into work in his convenience store in Anywheresville, New Jersey at dawn on his day off. What follows is the weirdest day in the history of low-end retail. No spoilers, but Dante is harassed both physically and mentally by his boss, his boss's wife, customers, friends, colleagues, sales reps, corpses, lovers, ex-lovers, ex-lovers of his ex-lovers and the two local drug dealers. He lurches back and forth between earth-shattering revelations and bizarre crises until someone from the past turns up and he makes his worst decision yet. The earlier events of the day are as nothing compared to what fate has in "store"..
Many of the sublime setups revolve around his best friend Randall (a seminal performance by Jeff Anderson) a video store operative who makes Dante look like a Lexus Dealer, and who is the source of Dante's chagrin on more than one occasion. The film also introduces Jay and Silent Bob (Jason Mewes, Smith's muse, and Smith himself) as the local substance wholesalers with wisdom beyond compare when Jay is not abusing the local community.
The script has just as many quotable lines as Withnail and I - grotesque, cringeworthy, profane in the extreme and very, very funny. Kevin Smith would never reach the same heights again, getting closest with Dogma, although all his films are watchable. Clerks does not appear on TV very often in the UK, and has not been available on R2 DVD before, so if you've only seen his more common recent work this film will put it those films in context. See how Jay and Silent Bob started out, and see all the characters that are referenced in "Mallrats", "Chasing Amy", "Dogma", and "Jay & Silent Bob Strike Back".
Just remember - NEVER walk into your local video shop and try and rent 'Happy Scrappy Hero Pup'...
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 February 2015
This is a brilliantly irreverent film full of foul-mouthed profanities, hilarious deadpan humour and unique philosophical observations. It follows a day in the life of 22 year old Dante Hicks, a New Jersey convenience store `clerk' who is called into work on his day off by his boss to cover for another employee who is sick. Dante's best friend Randall (who works in the next door "crappy video store") is a cynical Sancho Panza to Dante's downtrodden, discontented and pathetic Don Quixote, and through a series of encounters involving mostly customers we experience life from behind the counter. I challenge anyone not to be amused by the discussion about Star Wars and the construction workers killed by the Rebel Alliance attack on the Death Star. Outstandingly original, blatantly provocative and very, very funny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 July 2011
If you have any interest in this movie, you've probably already seen it. I happen to be a Kevin Smith fan, therefore I love it, if you don't like Smith, move along now, nothing to see here. The idea of a film this cheaply made on blu-ray is somewhat laughable I will be the first to admit, but if you're upgrading your collection, why the hell not! There are lots of great extras on the disc, including an alternative cut, documentaries and a Q&A session, this is all the same as the 10th anniversary DVD set Clerks X, but you do also get "Oh What a Lovely Tea Party", a feature length documentary about the making of Jay and Silent Bob Strike back. I had heard this was on the US release but for some reason it is not listed in the extras on the UK box, however if you were considering purchasing this blu-ray for Tea Party, it IS on there, and it is worth a watch if you're a fan. Overall a worthwhile edition to your Blu-ray collection if you love the movie. If you have no interest in Tea Party though, you may as well stick with the clerks x box set, because there's nothing else new, and the visuals are not improved any!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)