Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 August 2014
A beautiful, tragic, yet ultimately uplifting story about how one man's impossible choice during the war haunted him for the rest of his life; but how he was able unwittingly to inspire a stranger to follow her dreams. As ever with a film by Ozpetek, it's beautifully constructed and filmed. In my opinion, it's his masterpiece (so far).

NB: My version was bought direct from Italy and has a separate DVD of extras, behind the scenes stuff etc. Plus you can turn off the subtitles!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
A great film that'll definitely appeal to a cinema and cinematography fan. beautifully shot,played, and sending an important message across.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
The Italian Almodovar's brilliant story, slowly developing but deep, of an era I barely knew about before. Passionate and intelligent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
I love this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Facing Windows" (La Finestra di Fronte) (2004). In this 107 minute, full color contemporary Italian romantic drama, directed by Verzan Ozpetek, we find Giovanna, (Giovanna Mezzogiorno), a Roman housewife and mother, stuck in a dull marriage, to a man who loses his jobs often; a dull job, at a chicken packing factory, and a dull and hopeless feeling life. But she finds some interest in Lorenzo (Raoul Bova), the handsome, well-built man who lives across from her, and whose window faces hers. And she, surprisingly, begins to rebuild her life by learning to care for Simone AKA Davide Veroli, the internationally-famed fine baker and senile Jewish Holocaust survivor who has wandered into it one day.

Simone appears to be obsessed by the long-ago happenings of Autumn, 1943, the waning days of World War II, when Rome was occupied by the Germans and the lives of many Jews were in danger. But, as played by the veteran actor Massimo Girotti, (The Art of Love), he functions as the heart of the movie, and has many life lessons to teach Giovanna, not least in the areas of love - and fine baking. The film is dedicated to Girotti, who died shortly after its completion; before casting him, director Ozpetek,( Steam ), considered casting the better-known Jean Rochefort, (Mr Bean's Holiday), and Serge Reggiani, ( Casque D'Or ), for the role.

The movie was filmed on location in Rome, and shows it as the lively bustling cosmopolitan city it is today. The Holocaust theme, which is at the core of the movie, is an original, powerful, graceful and moving one that I've not seen or read of before. But, apparently, the film makers didn't trust it to carry the film, and so chose to utilize a flashback and frame structure to tell their story. And, unfortunately, the contemporary romance that frames the evocative wartime romance is predictable. We've seen it, many's the time. Worth seeing, for those who care about the subject matter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
A very good film, beautifuly acted, and a wonderful story which slowly unwinds throughout the film. There's also a very good theme of questioning whether we really want what we think we want and that we should all be true to what we want to do. No spoilers there, but all those themes are present!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2016
Amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2010
Beautifully filmed. Superb acting (Massimo Girotti at his best in his last role). An amazing and utterly entertaining intelligent film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2011
This is an unusual Italian film full of human drama and the complexities of life against the backdrop of the eternal city, Rome.

The film was recommended by a friend in Italy and I watched it after a visit to Rome, so it was particularly enjoyable but that dimension is an extra. This is a compelling and moving tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
If you like a nice romantic film this is lovely, is easy to follow only slight draw back is it has english subtitles
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)