Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Darkness [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 26 February 2018
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2016
brillant thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2013
to be honest i lost interest hhalf way thru its too slow and not much to it its not scary and not the best ive seen its ok if your bored and want something to watch x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2016
Weren't too bad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2017
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2008
A family return to Spain from the U.S.A, and move into an old country house.Soon strange events happen. The father Mark(Ian Glenn) starts to have unexplained fits and appears to be undergoing a nervous breakdown,Mark's young son Paul has bruises on his neck and shoulders,and the daughter Regina(Anna Paquin) is determined to find out the history of the house. What she discovers is something evil from the past, that threatens to break out into the present.
I simply can't believe all the negative reviews that I've read for this film. I think its a wonderfully creepy film, with several genuine shocks and a insiduously creepy atmosphere that really grabs the viewer by the throat. One criticism I've read is that the film is confusing. Well this might be partly down to the fact that the theatrical release has been severely cut. Still, I found the plot easy to follow, maybe just a bit of imagination is all the viewer requires. A second criticism I've read is that the plot is derivative of earlier, better films. Sure, it does remind you of other films, but when its all done as well as this, it really doesnt matter.
It really is a film with several very creepy moments(i.e the demons that can escape from the photograph and impersonate the living) and I wholly recommend it to fans of intelligent horror films, and also to readers of Ramsey Campbell and H.P Lovecraft. A superb film(though I wish that the unrated longer version was available commercially) and please go ahead and buy it despite any negative reviews you may read. 5 out of 5
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2011
I might have brought this to get off or just for fun I don't kow cos it was neither. I must admit Mission of Darkness is a bit of a laugh if some naked bird screwing an alien to death is your cup of tea and if your 18 it might be other than that it's a bit sad. Don't buy a box set of crap because the first dvd is just BORING!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 December 2013
We have a saying in the UK about the food product Marmite, that it's one of those foods that you either love or hate. Jaume Balagueró's Darkness is one such Marmite Movie. You will get it and find it intriguing, or you will be like me, wanting to stick your head in the microwave until death comes mercifully.

Plot finds an American family moving into a Spanish country house only to find it haunted by the ghosts of evil deeds past.

Starring Anna Paquin, Lena Olin, Iain Glen, Giancarlo Giannini and Stephan Enquist, it's a film that's as muddled as it is silly. Cast work hard to make the flimsy material work, but the repetitiveness and unadventurous formula of the whole thing hamstrings their efforts. Balagueró is let loose with his digital editing device and tries desperately to induce shocks, but it all looks so fake and lazy. While the script produces dialogue that is wholly unbelievable and the ending thinks it's clever, but really it's a very unsatisfactory and cheap pay off.

3 jars of Marmite out of 10.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2013
The movie is slow to develop. This normally is not bad because during this time most scripts build character. This movie never builds character, which is its major downfall. Anna Paquin is the main character as the daughter Regina, yet we never get to know her. She is a moody teen who can swim. He has a bad feeling about the house, but it is displayed so poorly. The movie starts to get exciting about half way through. If you can make it until Dad is slicing fruit and is angry, congratulations the movie is about to start. At this point the dull movie begins to get clever. The images of dark figures flashing in the darkness and then not being there is a simple but effective scary effect.

An American family moves to Spain. It is the part of Spain where everyone speaks English and all the radio stations broadcast in English. The house is "haunted" and weird things happen when it gets dark. The darkness is evil and has intellect. The problem with the plot twists and scary images is that we really don't care about the family because they never developed them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2013
I agree we many of the negative reviews of 'Darkness' here but didn't find it all that bad...honest!

Strangely, despite it all being very cliched, the first hour of the film kept my interest gripped - like willing a horse to win a race I was thinking 'just keep going and you'll be fine' - problem is the plot and realism falls apart pretty abruptly and ends up tailing off into a very mediocre, cheesy and slightly confusing mess.

This makes me less willing to accept the earlier architypes - think Amityville with a bit of The Shining and The Orphanage (only from a large rural house in Spain perspective) thrown in and you pretty much know the score.

The positives, and there are plenty, are that the 'horror' itself is well crafted with the tension levels high and the scares a plenty. Also, the characterisation is strong (in that yes, I did actually care for their plight) and to be honest the acting, production etc are good too.

At the hour mark, as mentioned before, the problems start - the Grandfather figure becomes a little laughble, the well measured scares become rushed and over the top and the very end scene is a little too predictable to be true. It amazes me how so many films can't end themselves properly!

Think of 'Darkness' as being given a birthday cake, taking your first bite and then dropping the rest on the floor. Basically, for all the excitement and build-up all you're left with is a mess to clear up!

All things equal, it's 3 stars from me - just!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)