Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
26
Formula One 05 (PS2)
Price:£10.00+ £1.62 shipping


on 13 September 2017
A very good f1 game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2017
Great game carnt fault it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2005
Hi
First Of all this game is excellent, the graphics are superb and the commentry is also a nice touch also the radio from your team is very good and adds that extra touch of realism.
Many Views of the Model are created from being in the drivers seat to having a whole view of the car from behind.
As i said you have to be willing to put alot of time aside for this game its not just ill do a championship in half an hour. If you want to get you moneys worth do the full seventy laps.
After looking for screenshots over the internet i could find quite a few but none of them give this product justice.
Now the problems i can only really think of one after a while of going round the track and you go and look in the mirror your eyes will be very bloodshot.
Overall this is a top game really has everything:
Graphics 9
Graphics Of Drivers 5
Car Graphics 10
Fun 8
Overall 9
Trust me this game is excellent and well worth the asking price, but dont buy it if your not serious.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2005
'Formula One 05' is a clear step up from its predecessor, and I assume the game is getting near the point, where the console's capabilities start setting the limits for further improvements. This edition is a very realistic Formula One experience.
Handling is better, such as the car's reaction when going too early on the gas. Also, the driver's hand reaction in the cockpit view is excellent and very familiar from the television footage of the real thing. The somewhat odd helmet view from the '04 version is replaced by a much better full view, which makes driving more realistic and vision better. The options to customise your car, your different racing modes/sessions and the overall operation of the game, have become completely flexible, inclusive and logical. For instance, the screen display can be tailored with just the information you need - while maintaining as much vision as possible.
The only drawbacks I can point to at this point are 1) the damage dynamics that seem a bit too forgiving and 2) that there is no possibility of having pit communication and television commentary in career mode (as far as I can see).
It is a great game, and except for the minor issues above, I have a hard time seeing what Studio Liverpool can do better for the '06 version - other than updating the driver and team line-up, the tracks, the rules and whatever Mr. E comes up with.
PS! Excellent game intro with music by Muse
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2005
With the new consols on the horizon this game had to be good, and it is, very good. Motion blur is much better than i can describe to you. And the game play and AI are 100% better than 04. If you liked 04 this will blow you away.
This years "Must buy" game!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2005
Having been a bit dissapointed with F1 04 I was pleasantly surprised to find f1 05 has moved on leaps and bounds from its forerunner. I palyed it initially using the controller but the experience is 100 times better using a foece feedback racing wheel. Graphics are excellent and you get a real sense of speed which f1 04 lacked. Its so good that even my xbox and Forza Motorsport have been temporarily abbandoned.
Buy it, but use a force feedback wheel, u wont be dissapointed.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2005
I was a bit dissapointed with f1 04 but when i got f1 05 it was much better.
The new career mode is a lot better with different difficulty settings and you can also choose the race length which i prefer because i like playing the full race distance.
The graphics are very good and so is the handling because it is very realistic. The motion blur is so good that you think you are really going that fast.
The damage is good because the front spoiler wobbles before it comes off and you can get a puncture as well. The bad point about damage is that you really have to bash the car to damage it, so its not quite as fragile as you may expect.
Overall this is probably the greatest f1 game ever on ps2 and i cant stop playing it!!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2006
I am a massive F1 fan and have bought all the f1 games since f1 on PS1 (even the rubbish F1'99 on PS!) and this is a decent game. It is instantly playable, and if you have bought any of the other PS2 incarnations of the series you will see a definate marked improvement. The new track (Istanbul) is fantastic fun, and many of the niggles of the previous games are gone. Career mode is improved, however there is still no inter-team driver changing so if you become the no 1 Ferrari Driver they kick out Schumi (Yeah Right) and not Rubens, and no A1 driver swaps occur between teams. Other problems include the damage being very limited and if anything, the game is too easy, even on hard with no atificial assists such as abs or auto gears. I got the 600 points necessary to unlock all the helmets in the game ion 60 races, that included wins in Red Bulls, Toyotas and to hinder myself Minardis! Despite this though I think that this is a good f1 game, with 2 player races being able to use the entire field, online capability, and as stated earlier many of the previous games' niggles removed, it is the best console F1 sim out there. I look forward to 06 which should be out soon as hopefully it will be yet another improvement.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2009
My first Formula 1 game, F1 '04, was a resounding success story in my world. It was fun, had a great sense of speed and contained all of the F1 glamour that you'd expect. Then I bought F1 '05. This game, in comparison to it's predecessor, was the bee's knees. On the 2004 game, the cars, to be honest, felt a little 'loose' under heavy braking and turning. The '05 game on the other hand, is just staggering! You really need to concentrate hard on a lap...and that's just on medium mode! My personal favourite track on the game is Sepang, the home of the Malaysian Grand Prix. The gradient of the track is correct, it flows and there are two mega-fast straights, making this a low-downforce circuit. Anyway, many people criticise the game for being way too easy (easy) or way too hard (medium and hard) but I am not one of those people. Frankly, if you use the practice sessions wisely and find a decent set-up, it isn't too difficult. Personally, I'd recommend using the instant race option to get used to the game. After that, you should try the simulation feature and then go for World Championship glory in the exciting career mode that will have you glued to your TV for hours on end.(to start your career relatively successfully, go with Red Bull Racing, it's the best of the starting teams) So if you want a fast, furious game, buy this one: it's as close as you'll get to driving a real F1 car!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2007
I'm enjoying playing this game its graphics are fine although the backgrounds may have needed some improvements. The sounds however i found impressive much different to any other F1 game ive played, no longer just the engine over revving but some realist bangs and clunks to go with it you really can here the car working giving a more much cooler experience. But apart from that the cars are very easy to handle they seem to have a solid presence making twitching around corners a rarity. Having the option of the racing line and breaking zones is also a great help, im only just starting the career and im not over impressed so far just isn't detail enough other than the odd email saying thank you for winning the GP bit disappointing to be honest but still a cool game.

I also recommend F1 Career Challenge although the handling takes some getting used to its still a good game and has much more detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)