Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2006
This has to be one fo the most enjoyable games i've ever played, the gameplay is fantastic. I lost the original disks so got this one (exactlly the same game as far as i can tell & includes patch. Only difference is the pictures on the CDs & the autorun menu. Same install menu though). Its one of those games you can end up playing all day and forget you haven't eatten, and that it's now early morning and you need to get up soon - but it doesn't matter because you've got Red Alert 2! Ok maybe a bit OTT but it happens! It's great! It's the Half Life of RTS games.

If you're worried about the resolution if you've got a monitor bigger than 1024x768 or a widescreen monitor like me don't worry, you can run in any res you like. See here for the fairly simple instructions : [...]

Just buy it - what possible reason do you have not to! Especially for only £5 - thats 2 drinks or a cinema ticket.

Enjoy!
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2006
when i wondered round the shops i stumbled on this new game brought out called Red Alert 2. I thought what the hey and bought it.

The story line was fantastic, the game play was one of the best i have ever experienced. I know that nowadays the graphics are perhaps out of date but thats not why this game is what it is. This game is what quenched hours of bordem as a young teenager.

Multi-player is also absolutely superb, both networked and online. Without doubt this is the most exciting and revolutionary tactical game ever...

But don't just take my word for it....buy it yourself and be prepared for an experience that will keep you at your computer for days on end!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2007
I have always been a big fan of the C&C games from the original game on the ps1 all the way to C&C generals, I have yet to play the latest game. Of all the C&C games i've played this one is by far the best, even though it's quite old now it's just so much fun to play, it's really easy to get used to and theres plenty of different things to build. The graphics are quite good too. I would even recommend this game over C&C Generals because i found that generals takes to long to get your base setup which makes the game quite boring to play. I still play this game almost everyday and haven't got bored of it after years of playing it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2007
Honestly, although it is years out of date, i have yet to find a game better then this. Sure, it's graphics aren't exactly state of the art, and it's hardly the fastest game in the world, but nothing can beat the tension, the enthusiasm, and the utter exasperation (when losing, of course!) in this game. Not to mention the the pride that you feel when you win, even if it is for the fifty-millionth time. Trust me, if you don't buy this game, or buy it and don't give it 5 stars, then you are a fool, a liar, have VERY bad taste, or a mix of all three. Take my word for it... this is the best strategy game i have every even seen getting played.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Brought this for myself, Christmas day my grandchild age ten was happily playing it but he was continually disturbed by my three sons aged 26-32 offering him "advice" and tuition on the best tactics.
A game enjoyed by three generations, cheap hours of pleasure. We don't make these games any more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
This was one of my favourite childhood PC games and I'm so glad I found it again on Amazon. Initially there was some issues with installing it on my laptop as the menu bar and text wasn't showing. After changing some of my screen settings, I could actually see the menu bar and play properly.

This game is amazing and so addictive. I would recommend this game to anybody.

The only issue is that I couldn't get to connect to the server to play multiplayer with my friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
Despite being almost antique in comparison to todays games, this addition to the Command & Conquer franchise still holds its own in terms of playability and fun. The cut scenes are some of the campest and funniest in computer gaming history but it's all the more enjoyable for that.

Younger players will enjoy this as much as us more mature gamers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
The usual C&C gaming, and for me with Win 7 64 bit I was expecting emulation but, no it worked straight off!

Only niggle is on Skirmish you can't pick an army to work on your side. Useful if your trying to learn the new weapons etc and don't want to continually blasted to bits by the "easy" enemy!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2010
The long-awaited sequel to the ground-breaking Red Alert, which combined the definitive real-time tactical engine with a high octane alternative history storyline, had a lot to live up to... but it may well have done it.

The engaging plot was one of the keys to success of the original Red Alert, something which the creators of Red Alert 2 have reproduced here, if not topped. In this sequel's plot, much of the action takes place in the North American theatre, which is cunningly a refreshing new arena from the European setting of the original game, definitely a smart move capitalising upon the chance to explore some different locations and settings. Like the previous game, the plot is engaging, gripping, and epic, as the Soviet Union launches an all-out invasion on the United States of America, under the orchestrations of the creepy Yuri and his mind control technologies.

The graphics are absolutely tip-top; sharp, detailed, well-coloured, exquisite. The flying units cast shadows as they move overhead, and the special effects on the chrono legionnaire units are something else. The game is mainly a challenge of strategic and tactical thinking, you have to use your wits and the strengths of your faction to outmanoeuvre the opponent and exploit their weaknesses, whilst being aware of your own weak points. There are a variety of problems and puzzles to solve, so the setup is by no means base-building and sending out an attack force of tanks every single mission as in some games of this style, there are a good couple of naval warfare missions in there, as well as small strike force infiltration missions, and missions where you sit and play defence rather than focusing on building up your attack forces. The game has a nice in-built difficulty arc as well, teaching the player slowly as the campaign progresses how to handle and overcome increasingly difficult challenges. The fact that there are two campaigns and not just one also increases replayability, and if you like you can play random skirmishes too.

There are a couple of things that the original Red Alert does better by a shade, but in other areas Red Alert 2 brings us new units, new environments, new challengers and more colourful characters. Definitely worth it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
The game it self is excellent, back in 2000's they knew how to make amazing games. I definitely recommend it. The only drawback is that under Windows 8&8.1 it tend to freeze after a while, best solution is to run it with Windows XP sp2. This game is a must have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)