Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
392
4.4 out of 5 stars
Sin City [DVD] [2005]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 August 2017
A great film when it's Mickey Rourke who's starring, not so good when it's Bruce Willis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
LIGHTNING FAST SHIPPING, WILL BE BACK FOR MORE 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
Very good quality and fast delivery,well worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
If I could give this a rating of 4.5 I would. A very good set of stories with minor flaw's, but do not be deterred It's still great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 February 2006
A very interesting action film with the feel of an old detective novel and of a comic strip. I loved it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2016
A+++++ Love this film, partly because my wife hates it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 9 February 2009
It is very difficult to review this film without the word "stylish" and indeed stylish it is, in a comic-book, film noir, pulp fiction way. I was not surprised to see Tarantino credited as guest director, and his DNA is evident throughout. Think Kill Bill, in monochrome with vivid slashes of primary colours and you're getting there. An excellent cast perform in several separate stories in Basin City, loosely linked but all extremely dark and violent.

This was Mickey Rourke's comeback as the brutal "Marv", out to avenge the death of his "tart with a heart", Goldie. Going by his recent outing in The Wrestler, he did not require that much in the way of prosthetics for his straight-nosed mug of a face. Having said that, he is excellent in this, the brave casting paying off in spades.

Bruce Willis plays erm...Bruce Willis, a grizzled cop, framed for child molesting and on a mission to save the victim (the stunning Jessica Alba) from the clutches of the real perpetrator - the mutilated son of a powerful crime family.

Clive Owen is the crim turned hero out to protect his girl from her violent ex who turns out to be a cop. His travels lead him into "Old Town" run by Amazonian gun and sword toting hookers in a power struggle with the mob. If there is any weak casting in this film, it is Owen who to me always looks more like a vet or a supermarket manager than a vigilante.

Ok, did I enjoy this film. Yes and no. It had been on my "to see" lists for a long time, attracted by the original styling and strong casting. The plot could be a bit weak in parts and the monochrome and first person narration is nothing too new but gave it a good atmosphere.

It is very dark (the "noirest" of "noir" if you like), very well made, sadistically violent but a good cinematic experience. Don't buy it for your gran.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Spirit [DVD]
£3.75

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)