Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
35
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
32
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2015
This is the DVD of live footage recorded on the "Through the Ashes of Empires" Tour which has a set list of 14 classic Machine Head anthems delivered as only Machine Head can! The footage is professionally shot and the sound quality is top notch. The DVD includes behind the scenes footage, promo videos, interviews and much more! This DVD is essential for any Machine Head fan and is well worth the price!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2005
Unfortunately, when this DVD was released, I didn't have enough money to buy it, so after a couple of agonising months of my friend watching 'Elegies' again and again, he lent it me and I finally got my grubby mits on, what has to be said, could be the single greatest music DVD in the history of music DVDs. Let me tell you all: the wait was most definitely worth it.
This is not just a DVD with a live show and the band members acting like idiots like most run-of-the-mill DVDs are these days. This is far better. Yes, there is a live show as the Brixtom Academy with Machine Head musically tearing every crowd member apart like 5000 sacrificial lambs, and there are clips of inspring vocalist/guitarist Robb Flynn, ace of bass Adam Duce, lead axeman Phill Demmel and powerhouse drummer Dave McClain occasionally having a good time, but to be honest, this pratting about is not what the DVD is about.
To me, the greatest feature of this overall brilliant DVD is The Making Of Through The Ashes Of Empires. From the exhilerating highs of headlining the With Full Force festival and playing to thousands upon thousands of people and the frankly abysmal lows of being eventually forced to write a (probably never to be released) radio-friendly song and sitting in front of a camera selling themselves to record companies, this documentary grabs the whole length of time from MH's 2001 release Supercharger to the American release of the hellishly metal Through The Ashes Of Empires and rams it through your skull, forcing you to take everything in. It is an awesome piece of video, a real credit to Machine Head for laying everything out for fans to see.
The promotional videos for 'The Blood, The Sweat, The Tears', 'Days Turn Blue To Gray' and 'Imperium' are included as well, as well as short clips showing how they were made, which is interesting as well as fun to watch.
This DVD is the best DVD I have personally ever watched, and I can say that truthfully. It may have something to do with SF Bay Area thrashers Machine Head being my favourite band of all time, but even people who don't consider The Head to be their favourite band watch the DVD every night for 2 months. Surely that conveys the pure awesomeness of this release. Surely that makes you want to part with your hard-earned cash for this masterpiece of video technology.
If not, you're missing out on the best. I mean it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2005
wow this dvd is the best well recomended for any metal fan or Machine Head with a Sneak Peek At Life On The Road With Machine Head which is so ace :)> it as three muisc videos which rocks with the making of them and the making of The Ashes Of Empires well recomended go on peeps go get this dvd!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2005
never seen machine head live but after seeing the dvd i cant wait. this is the complete collection from machine head. a full concert of all there best known songs plus there studio videos as well. behind the scenes documentary. it has it all. go buy it you WONT be dissapointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2005
Many live DVDs offer little beyond an hour and a half of average concert footage, often spliced with unnecessary diversions from the show itself (Korn - 'Live' being an example, while being a great gig and DVD it was full of frankly odd CGI sections which added nothing at all to the package).
Machine Head's first DVD is nothing like this. For one, the gig itself, filmed in late 2004 at Brixton Academy in London, is to put it lightly, stunning. The band are on what must be very close to top form throughout, and give both new and classic songs a thourough run out here for over 90 minutes. The concert is intercut with behind-the-scenes footage, but there's an option to leave these out if you so wish!
Not only the show itself impresses. There are three videos to be had here (including Imperium), and their respective 'making-of's as well.
There is also a very good insight into the last few years of Machine Head, documenting their struggle to find a new record detail after their split with Roadrunner, their search for a new guitarist, and the band asking themselves if they really wanted to carry on as Machine Head. It's almost a mini-Some Kind of Monster, but with less group therapy and less Lars.
This is near-essential for any Machine Head fan, and even more so for those who've never been fortunate enough to see the 'Head live for themselves. Well worth the money. 5/5
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2005
Machine Head – Elegies
If you’ve even seen Machine Head perform live then the quality and quantity of this DVD will come as no surprise, if you haven’t seen them live yet then this DVD will show you see exactly what you’ve been missing all this time.
Machine Head have starked around in the dark outer reaches of the Metal world for over 10 years, regularly stepping into the lime light to claim new members to their own dark cult, training them in the ancient art of thrash & head banging.
However after many years dominating the out skirts of metal and with over 1.7 million in world-wide sales under their belt, Machine Head have returned to claim their rightful succession to the throne.
A DVD full of live, full throttle extremes from both the band and audience alike, with superbly typically over excellent performed set list that is so Machine Head at their very best.
But wait that’s not all the DVD also has a generous amount of behind the scenes footage as well as their past video releases. So in short if you like or love Machine Head buy this DVD, however if you have not yet tasted the sweet nectar that is Machine Head, then you should very definitely buy this DVD.
Rock your socks and shoes off !!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2005
oh god its explosive I need to see this band and with this dvd I might as well have seen them live. You can watch this and stand back and it feels like your there. You can feel the electricity in the crowd. The riffery is tight and the vocals are powefully brutalising. The drums are no less then to be expected with dave thumping along at brakeneck pace. The raw energy is carried through the crowd whipping them into a frenzy while Machine Head with the experience of gods show why they are metal legends at the top of the sound chain. This dvd is nessicary metal viewing for any fan of rock and metal! If you need an idea or dont know what music dvd to buy this is it by far. I work in a music store and this dvd has been selling faster than we can get it onto the shelves I know this is a good choice and i know the second I am finished writing this I will go watch it again. I implore you all to buy this dvd. Machine Head elegies...metal purity
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2005
How is it that some bands never cease to push the boundaries of their genre? Machine Head have been doing just that from their debut album over ten years ago, right up until their latest release 'Through the Ashes of Empires'. The trend doesn't stop there. As soon as you place 'Elegies' in your DVD player you know that you're about to view another slice of archetyepal genius from the bay area thrashers.
Most music DVDs contain a live show, and a smattering of videos. That's if your lucky. Elegies on the other hand, gives you all that and more. Not only is there a full concert from the Brixton Academy, interpersed with featurettes about touring, and life in Machine Head. There are three videos, each paired with their own mini-documentaries, containing footage from the shoots aswell as interviews and background from members of the band themselves. There is also an hour long feature on the turbulent period between the completion of Machine Head's 'Supercharger' album, through to the US release of their most recent record, managing to document the harsh realities of a band being dropped by their label, and almost sliding to the point of break-down. As if that wasn't gritty enough, the live show documents one of Machine Head's most brutal and explosive shows to date, with each shot giving you the feeling that you're watching a truly original documentation of one of the most crushing live bands in metal.
It doesn't take much imagination to see this DVD being just as influential in defining those which dare to follow, in the same way as every Machine Head album has before it.
This truly is an essential addition to anyone's collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2005
First of all wow what a dvd. Better than the usual live dvd, Elegies stands out from all others, If you shut your eyes it would feel like you were there. The sound quality is something else not to mention the outstanding visual quality with pyrotechnics and cross cutting that allows you to see the band doing what they do best and the crowd at the same time. When you look into the crowd, you can see and feel the crowds energy and the brutally of the pits during anthems such as “Bulldozer” “Davidian” and “Block”. As the lights go down and “Imperium” smashes, in the sold out 5,000+ crowd at London’s Brixton Academy turns into nothing less that a war zone. Followed by the amazing “Seasons Wither” you know this is going to be something good. Between songs of Machine Heads flawless set there are chapters on the band including interviews with all four members and backstage footage showing you the story behind the band and life on the road. This backstage footage gives you an insight into the lives of all 4 member and almost makes you feel like you know them.
This masterpiece also includes the making of the hits “Imperium” “The Blood, The Sweat, The Tears” and “Days Turn Blue to Grey”. Furthermore it also includes the making of “Through the Ashes of Empires”. This starts off with interviews with members from many of other great metal bands such as Chimaira and Devildriver saying what Machine Head means to them and what influences the band has had on their lives. And if that wasn’t enough you see Machine Head’s struggle with record labels and the lose of a member. You also see the band when they were at their lowest point ever but then prevail with new guitarist Phil Demmel to come back and reclaim the metal thrown. Once again these interviews and backstage footage really gets you really inside the legacy of Machine Head.
Elegies is 5 out of 5! I seriously recommend that everyone buys this dvd or puts it on their Christmas list. Because if you don’t own Elegies you are missing out in a very big way!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2005
As this is the first DVD release from one of my all-time favourite bands, I have to say my expectations were very high. Having seen Machine Head live just served to increase those expectations.
What can I say? I certainly wasn't disappointed. Far from being another run of the mill live DVD, featuring substandard camera work and poor sound quality, this perfectly captures a flawless performance by Machine Head, and combines it with behind the scenes footage which really lets you get to know the band, making you feel like you're interacting with them.
The quality of the footage really is second to none, capturing the atmosphere at London's Brixton Academy perfectly, especially the pyrotechnics! The quality isn't just in the camera work either; the sound quality is equally astounding. Machine Head were totally on form for this gig.
An interesting feature of this DVD is the ability to choose between watching the gig with behind the scenes footage inter-cut with it (which is done very well), or to watch just the concert. Other added bonuses of owning this masterpiece are the 3 music videos which are included, and as usual, they too are awesome.
Overall, I'd give this DVD 5 out of 5. It is without a doubt one of my better purchases of the year, and unlike some other bands live DVDs, this is one that I'll be watching regularly, it won’t just sit on my shelves. If you like Machine Head, then this is an essential purchase. Just get it now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)