Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
14
Another Day On Earth
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£24.99+ £1.26 shipping


on 5 November 2014
an excellent Eno album.....some really nice concepts wrapped up and presented in his inimitable musical style....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2017
Have always been a Brian Eno fan and this does not disappoint
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2016
As described - thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2015
As good as his classic 70's albums - brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 July 2005
This is an interesting record. On first listening it comes across as quite a traditional record which does not challenge the listener as such. There are straight forward songs, last heard on 'Before and After Science' as well as more ambient orientated pieces.
Repeated listening throws up a lot more on offer, in that there are distinct references to 'Thursday Afternoon', 'Music for Films' and 'Another Green World' as well as a nod to other musical movement over the last 10 years or so. The music doesn't quite go where you expect, which is very enoesque. Some of the tracks such as 'this' and 'botomliners' take up where Eno's collaboration with John Cale 'Wrong Way Up' left off, where it featured multi-layered vocal tracks.
The record does have a number of very beautiful melodies but there is also a sense of menace on a couple of tracks such as 'passing over' and 'going unconcious'.
All in all this is an excellent record. There is plenty for those who enjoy the tweaks and deconstruction of classic Eno, as well as some truly relaxing and melodic electro-ambient pieces.
Recommended.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I am a long term fan of Doctor Eno and I absolutely affirm, on behalf of this long experience of more than 40 years, that this work is an absolute masterpiece, maybe one of the most perfect albums of contemporary music (both ambient and pop).
A wonderful work, a chef d'oeuvre, a clue of inspirational advisory for any future composer, my favorite soundtrack for any film I have never seen but would love to see.
Thank you for this sounds, for this bone bomb of possible musics finally made present, Mr. Eno.
I would be happy if you would offer us an expanded edition of 3 more volumes to this heavenly experience for the mind and body.
Yours sincerely, etc...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2005
Magic, wonder, surprise, beauty, darkness, twists and turns, deeply touching melodies, rich and profound textures, miles away from any mainstream, but accessible in all its beauty! A touch of melancolia, songs about living and dying, twilight zones, dark romance - and, on a planet full of madness, such an album comes as a relief, as consolation, as something worth to spend many days on earth with! Eno's four solo song albums from the 70's ("Here Come The Warm Jets"; "Taking Tiger Mountain (By Strategy)", "Another Green World" and "Before and After Science") are now regarded classics, "Another Day On Earth" will be a classic in ten years from now. I hope Mr. Eno will continue singing - it's a singular, and , in a very english way, soulful voice!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2011
One of my favourite Eno albums. Great melodies, sweeping soundscapes and beautiful imagery. There isn't a bad track or any inconsequential fillers on the entire album. A great listening experience, get it now!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2005
Eno's first "vocal" album for 20 odd years isn't the quirky, manic pop of the 70s but rather a continuation of the chillout ambient sound of Drawn From Life with treated vocals. In fact it's melodic and dare I say it commercial, and the track "And Then So Clear" wouldn't sound out of place on one of those Chillout compilations alongside Dido et al. This isn't a criticism however because this album is a grower and once it seeps into the consciousness it's irresistible and certainly a worthy "follow up" to Before And After Science. So many great tracks on here, the Bowie-esque opener "This" and the aforementioned "And Then So Clear", a wonderful melody and dare I say it a possible hit single. "Passing Over" nods to Kraftwerk and Krautrock, while the folk inflections of "How Many Worlds" reflects Eno's political and social concerns particularly with his involvement in the Warchild charity and Make Poverty History campaign. It's an album that's less insular than his 70s work, more interested in wordly concerns than the trademark abstractions of previous albums. So not a groundbreaking album but one which gets better with every listen. Certainly one of the highlights of the year, and worth the 27 year wait!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2006
I'll be really honest - I'm disappointed with this. I suppose it's unfair to expect a third album of the calibre of Antoher Green world or Before & After Science but I suppose that's exactly what I was hoping for, and this isn't it.

I like Eno's singing voice but it appears he doen't. At least three tracks here feature that bloody awful vocoder thing that Cher used years ago, and it spoils the tracks completely.

The dynamics I anticipated aren't here; the "open spaces" are filled more often and the songs are just not up to the standard I anticipated - I've lived with this album for a while before reviewing because of the way I felt.

It's okay but really nothing special.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Music For Installations
£52.99
Finding Shore
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)