Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
37
4.5 out of 5 stars
A Prize Of Arms [1962] [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.99+ £1.26 shipping


on 6 June 2017
Great dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
great dvd no trouble reminds me of league of getelmen jack Hawkins
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2008
I'd never seen this film, never even heard of it. But I found it whilst browsing Amazon and noticed that 2 of our best (deceased)actors were in it. Stanley Baker and Tom Bell. This was a very good film with an excellent script if maybe a bit far fetched, but it had me interested right up to the end. I wanted them to get away with it. Also look out for appearances by some other probably unknown actors at the time. Michael Robbins and Stephen Lewis from On The Buses. Well worth the money. If anyone from Odeon entertainment read this, can you release another excellent film called Jigsaw with Jack Warner 1962. Pleeeeeaaase?????
11 Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
This virtually-unknown heist film from the early 1960s is a real find.
Thanks to Mondo Esoterica, I discovered this superb movie, which is now one of my all-time favourite British films.
An amazingly-suspenseful tale of three ex-army men who come up with a clever scheme for robbing their former employers.
Shot in moody black and white, on real Sussex locations mostly at night, this is one of Stanley Baker's very best features.
How on earth this is not much better known I simply do not understand, but I guess it's a perfect example in this regard of the madness and fickle nature of the film industry .
Beautifully photographed, with a minimalist music score and a deeply cynical eye, this tightly-woven tale does not contain a single unnecessary shot, right through to its thrilling climax.
The print used is acceptable though not great, and the sound is a little muffled at times, but just be thankful that Odeon have put this out on optical disc at all.
A ludicrously-tense piece of obscure British cinema, and one of the best of its type out there.
Outstanding.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 December 2008
Having just acquired Sky I came across this film of Films for Men I checked it on the Internet and was interested to know it had good reviews for a film I had never heard of.

It has a stellar cast of bit part actors who later became famous. You will enjoy yourself just spotting the actors such as Blakey and Arthur form on The Buses and Rodney Bewes etc. A veritable cornucopia of British acting talent. It is a gritty well constructed story.

You know what they are going to do but not the actual method. It then unfolds with plenty of surprises and twists.

An underrated British black and white film from the era when the story was all. Stanley Baker playing he usual put upon role of a character with a chip on his shoulder if not both of them Tom Bell in a very good supporting role.

It is set in the British countryside and the depiction of the British army during the 1950s looks and sound very authentic.

If you get the chance to watch this film, do not miss it.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2007
A really well made true British film, with terrific performances and very able direction. It kept me entertained right until the closing credits. Well done Odeon for releasing this gem.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2009
A strong storyline and an excellent British cast - just right for those of us who sometimes suffer / enjoy a bit of nostalgia. Is it me, or have you noticed how some of these old black and white films seem much more colourful than most modern films somehow?
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
A great classic crime film with a strong cast led by Stanley Baker.

Engrossing film which is very "British".

Highly recommneded
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2010
You need to be an aficionado of the British film industry products of the fifties and sixties. It is an interesting story of the confusion which can arise as an Army unit deploys, in this case during the Suez crisis, and the opportunities which can arise for those with ill intent. Gripping, will they or won't they get away with it. Good photography with actual trucks, huts and uniforms which no longer exist outside the studios.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)