Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 31 August 2014
This lovingly crafted gem of a comedy drama survived just two seasons (with good ratings) before it fell victim to the Machiavellian shenanigans that dictate what thrives and what it left to shrivel in the world of network TV. I defy you not to fall in love with it. Great story lines, and a perfect season arc with performances to die for. Ellen Muth is quite simply extraordinary as our heroine (if that's the correct term), George. It has aged quite well considering it was made over ten years ago. I am now looking forward to season 2 and the feature film made in 2009 which tried to tie up all the loose ends caused by its unexpected cancellation as a series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2007
I came across this following a chain of recommendations from the very different (and highly recommended) "Wonderfalls". It took me a while to get into; the basic premise doesn't quite make sense, and the writers are not afraid to give main characters (including the heroine) some pretty unappealing traits. But it really grew on me in the end; I think the second series is even better, come to that. The joy of it is in the characters; they are so well written and acted that the holes in the basic concept end up mattering not at all. It sneaks under your guard; it's very funny, but much less sentimental than most, even very good, American series; George's parents' marriage, for example, really is in very bad trouble, her little sister really is very badly screwed up, and there's no pretence everything is all for the best somehow. The Amazon blurb that each of the Reapers "has a lesson to learn before they can move on" gives a completely wrong idea: it's not that sort of show at all. It's much better.

I particularly like the development of Dolores Herbig, George's very odd boss in her day job. There is very much more to her than we (or George) first realize.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2017
This is laugh out loud funny all the way through. For some reason, this craziness and laughter helped make my own father's passing a little more bearable. I try to watch the series every few years as a rememberance and treat to get a little perspective on life or break it down. Sometimes, we just need to take a step back and look at our situation through the funny glasses.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2009
Dead Like Me is a bizarre, surreal and morbid comedy. It follows a bunch of "grim reapers", including the recently departed (and central character) George, as they come to terms with their deaths, go about their job of collecting souls and try to 'live' amongst the living.

Unfortunately, having the privilege of working alongside death does not mean that the reapers reap (forgive the pun) any financial benefits. Instead, our characters have to earn their living which leads to some cracking comic moments - George's interactions with her boss Delores Herbig (as in her-big-brown-eyes *groan*) and of course my favourtite scene of Mason stealing money from a parking meter and later being mowed down by an angry Roxy, who just so happens to be parking meter officer...

Whilst this show has an interesting beginning, the rest of it is all 'middle' - hence 4/5 stars rather than 5/5. The show doesn't have much by way of story arc or that much character development. When you get to the final episode, you can't help but wonder "what was the point of that?". A bit harsh really seeing as Dead Like Me is brilliantly entertaining and has some fantastic characters: from the 60s drug/booze addicted Mason to gun-toting-hard-as-nails Roxy and blonde 50s screen-siren-wanabe Daisy. The writing is witty and sharp. However, I must admit that whilst I love all the ancillary characters (especially Mason and Rube), George sometimes leaves me feeling a bit cold. I'm not overwhelmed by her constant moaning. That, together with the lack of any real direction, lets Dead Like Me down...but only a bit.

Minor grumbles aside, Dead Like Me is a real gem. Bryan Fuller is a master when it comes to quirky and entertaining shows. After all, this is the guy who created Pushing Daisies (fantastic!) and wrote some of the best episodes of Heroes (Season 1).

You may not fall in love with Dead Like Me after watching the first episode, but give it time and it is a real grower (I am currently steaming through series 2 which is sadly the final one) and, as stated in the title of my review, it is completely and utterly addictive viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2015
A bit of a cult favourite. Featuring Callum Blue before his defining role in Smallville. I think his and Mandy Patinkin's roles in this was my reasons for getting it. 14 episodes in this debut season, but its not like more popular series where you could watch several episodes in one sitting, not by this author's opinion, anyway! But it can fill a gap certainly!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2016
Sheer hilarious at times
A sullen teen is killed by a toilet seat
And is recruited to be a grim reaper

The series lasted 2 years and a tv film
Black comedy. At its best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2009
Hard to label this series but it is very enjoyable.

The humour relies heavily on the context of the series so you really only get to appreciate it once you are well into the episodes and there is more depth to characters that you would think at first viewing of the pilot.

It takes a while to get on board the formula, with George narrating the links in her slightly irritating nasal voice but once you are halfway through the series you are hooked.

A unique series, very well made
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2016
this is funny, dark, original, imaginative and well worth watching cannot believe it got cancelled, just shows how mainstream people are, they would rather watch gumph like the kardashians than something more entertaining than this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2013
great cast, great act.
although the background is about the death - the movie is not scary at all. it is funny.
the humor is sometimes darker than expected or may be even below the line - but it suits the situations finely.
very peaceful quiet series, no extra nerves will be waisted during watching. great titles and music.
movie about life. and gream reapers' life. very touching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2017
Fantastic.... watch with my daughter and George is brilliant! Great cast great story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)