Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
60
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 December 2010
BUY IT AT TWICE THE PRICE.....ITS A GIFT.....AND BESIDES ETTA JAMES IS A LIVING LEGEND....A TRIPLE CD ALBUM FOR UNDER A FIVER NEW...INCREDIBLE VALUE.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
As a collection of Chess recordings, this one is hard to fault. There are a few track missing that might have added to the package - Can a compilation is ever be perfect? - but l can't complain. In addition, the sound quality is very good. Considering the price for this content, l think this is a worthy purchase. In the absence of a tribute box set to the the great lady - it won't be long - this collection does a good job in highlighting what a soulful and gutsy performer she was.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2005
I bought this 3 disc compilation set over the single CD version, because it features all of the songs plus about 30 more for hardly any more money. Was it a good buy? You bet! Etta James is one of the best soul singers, especially if you like you soul a little bit on the bluesy side. 'At last' is worth the cost of the CD alone, but there are about 50 more great tracks in this set-you can't lose.
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
These three CDs contain the best of Etta James' tracks for Chess Records, at this price a real bargain. If you listen to Etta James sing these songs and remain completely unmoved then you're dead inside.

Vocally stunning, musically and instrumentally perfect, I'm not sure noise gets any more beautiful than this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
Another purchase in my "expanding my music collection backwards in time" project - in this case following a BBC4 program which featured Etta singing "At Last" - a song I had forgotten. She certainly had a fantastic voice, and her classic years of the late 50's and early 60's sound fantastic. Some of todays RnB singers could learn from her "less is more" style. Only gave this 4 stars as when it reaches her later work I found it rather bland "funk" type material which I personally dislike with a passion. Having said that there is more than enough superb music here to keep you singing in the shower for weeks!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
Etta James wonderful artist wonderful performer. These albums take me back to my youth. She laid the ground for so many artist who followed her; espcially women with a bluesy edge. Love them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2012
I initially bought this boxed set because I wanted a particular track for my wedding. I only knew a few of her songs but I was blown away by all the tracks and haven't stopped listening since! You can feel the emotion she conveys in her songs, some of them even give me goose bumps.Thank you Etta James for leaving a terrific legacy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
I only knew of Etta's music but did not actually have any of it and that is why I wanted a good sized collection. These songs are excellent but as is nearly always the case when buying such a large collection there is some repetition of sound but well worth the cost and I do not want to moan about having too much in one go!

She is one of the those important links in the development of popular music/culture as one of those soul singers ahead of her time aka fore runner of Aretha Franklin.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2012
Just discovered Etta James...what a voice, and this CD provides a complete cross section of her best tracks at an great price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2011
Etta James was the bridge between American R&B and Soul music. This CD has all her best song and is worth buying for her rendition of At Last,alone. In my opinion she is more soulful than Aretha and has a better more melodic voice
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)