Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
4.7 out of 5 stars
The Cookbook
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 5 July 2005
Now with six albums under her belt, Melissa "Missy" Elliott shows no signs of turning down the heat with this sizzling Cookbook. With old pal Timbaland in tow, Missy recruits a Who's Who of talent, including the ubiquitous Neptunes, Fantasia, Ciara, Mary J. Blige, Slick Rick, Mia and Lil Kim, among others.
Starting with a humorous skit introducing the guest artistes, the album opens, literally, with "Joy", featuring Mike Jones, and produced by Timbaland. The lead off single "Lose Control" featuring Ciara and Fat Man Scoop is a dance-friendly fun track, as infectious as Gwen Stefani's "Hollaback Girl".
Another hot track is "On and On" produced by The Neptunes, my other picks being "We Run This" which samples that `80s staple "Apache", "Bad Man" a Jamaican dance hall anthem featuring Vybez Cartel and Mia, and "Teary Eyed" produced by Warryn Campbell.
Her slower tracks simmer, but still burn, especially the sensual but X-rated "Meltdown"
Brutally honest, funny and sometimes salty, Missy's cookbook is a sure-fire bestseller.
Amanda Richards
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2005
"The Cookbook" By Missy Elliott Is A Great Album And Includes The Single "Lose Control" And The Forthcoming "Teary Eyed" Also This Disc Gives You Access To A 10 Minutes And 47 Seconds Long Interview!!
Guest Stars Include: Ciara Harris, Fatman Scoop, Slick Rick, Mike Jones, Mary J. Blige, Pharrell Williams And More.....
My Favourites Are "Lose Control" "Joy" "Partytime" "We Run This" "Irrestible Delicious" "Can't Stop" And More......
There Are 16 Tracks And There Are Only 2 I Dislike!! GO BUY THE ALBUM!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2005
Missy's new album is fresh from the oven and sizzling! At first when I heard Missy's new single lose control I didn't even like it that much. Now it's my favourite song ever! After lose control grew on my I saw her new album was out and listened to some samples of her other albums and loved them so I took a chance on this and now I love it. My favourite tracks are lose control, the best hip hop-dance anthem ever, the sexy irresistable delicious, the soulful teary eyed, the mega click clack and so many more others which i could be all day listing. The weakest is probably the ballady remember when. All in all, a superb album. Buy it now!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2010
Missy elliott's good work here! i loved her flow and also the production on this album which missy always comes hard on!

The song produced by Bangladesh is just FIRE! and teary eyed and bad man is obvious tunes that make you nod your head whenever you hear it!

Quality

(Props for clean version, hate the needless swearing)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2005
What can I say, album number six but by far her best since Supa Dupa Fly. This albums rocks it from beginning to end. I can't find a bad track on this album, the production is tight and mostly by Missy herself. She seems to churn the albums out almost every year, but this is far from an album that has been rushed out by any means. The album gives a demonstration of all kinds of black music with a mix of r'n'b, hip-hop and reggae flavours, all of which are perfectly in balance with no track sounding the same. Standouts are 'My man' with Fantasia which has a bassline to blow your speakers and the crazy in love style song 'Gotta Move' which I just can't stop listening to. The collaborations are not overdone and the artists Missy has worked with all suit each track, especially 'irresisiatble' with Slick Rick which just takes you back and the snippet of 'What's the 411' with Mary on 'My struggles' is great. I have every Missy album and if you need to buy one then go for this. The good thing about this is you get to hear a mixture of Missy rapping and singing which she didn't do much of on her last album and with a voice like that I'm glad she has this time! Any fan of black music will not be dissapointed!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2005
Missy's sixth album and she is sizzlin! My favourite track is Bad Man (instant dance hit!). Despite timberland's little contribution, but that doesn't really matter 'cos this Missy doing what she does best ... BUY IT NOW!!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
I love Missy and this is another great album by her, and is different to her others as well! Great condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
This was much better, perfect CD and packaging, not a mark on it. very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2005
I bought this album cos i absolutely adore missy's music, i thought like other missy records, it would be a few tracks that everybody would love, like 'lose control', and then it would be mostly 'full on' missy elliott sound only appreciated by hardcore missy fans. But, i was pleasently surprised, this album is full of tunes that any1 with a love of R&B or hip-hop would love, from the infectious sound of 'lose control' or the 'Aaliyah like'; 'time & time again'. i especially love 'bad man' that features british talent 'MIA'.
A top notch quality record, buy it and im sure u won't b dissapointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
One of my favorite of hers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)