Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
129
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.95+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2005
Having read the novel by Sarah Waters, and being deeply moved by it, I decided to order the dvd and see how it had been interpreted on screen. I was impressed by the fact that the chemistry between the characters was not lost, and you genuinely cared about each individual. The only complaint that I actually have is the fact that a lot of the story had to be 'reduced', for example, in the book there is a lot made of Maud tending to her mother's grave with Sue always standing nearby, whereas in the film, that is not mentioned at all, which I felt was a shame.
However, overall, this is a fantastically produced production, based upon a real literary masterpiece. The acting is fantastic, and the passion, completely raw.
This is a film which will continue to move you over and over again.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2007
I found this film absolutely first class from start to finish. I don't rate anything 5 stars unless it is exceptional in everything and I personally think this dramatisation from Sarah Waters novel is exactly that.The story is a beautiful one set in the London of about 1860's, combining lesbian romance with the day to day brutality of the period.The worlds of Sue,(Sally Hawkins) a "fingersmith" or pickpocket and that of heiress Maude,(Elaine Cassidy) a young lady collide with the help of fraudster Richard Rivers(Rupert Evans)and Mrs.Sucksby (Imelda Staunton)with a plan to cheat the heiress.There are several unexpected twists which I do not intend to give away.Superb,convincing characters and acting,a brilliant screenplay by Peter Ransley and director Aisling Walsh in on top of her game.
0Comment| 132 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Saw Handmaidens, loved it so bought the book Fingersmith. Loved that too so when I found out the BBC had done an adaption had to complete the set. It is also wonderful. In my opinion best to see/read them in the above order as there are more plot twists in the book than the film and the BBC adaption is pretty close to the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2005
After having seen the hilariously comical BBC production of Sarah Waters' Tipping the Velvet, I wasn't all that sure what to expect of BBC's Fingersmith. Fortunately, the result is more than satisfactory: miniseries featuring Elaine Cassidy and Sally Hawkins in the lead roles is superbly loyal to the book, wild and exciting work. Although all of the performances are truly exquisite, one of them still stands out: the young Elaine Cassidy in the role of Maud Lilly is all one can hope for and then some!
Strongly recommended, but do yourself a favor and read the novel first; it's such a magnificent experience.
11 Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 December 2013
To be short, it's an excellent film (two parts in one DVD). Obviously I'm not going into the plots unlike some other reviewers so it'll be a 'safe review' for those who haven't watched it yet.

I thought the whole film was very cleverly made, including the meticulous attention to details in the costumes, the scenes in London, and so on so forth, and the script writer did an excellent job too! It was completely unpredictable, and although it was based on the novel by a modern writer, it was almost as good as Charles Dickens' Bleak House, apart from some sensual scenes which were slightly too graphic, which would probably prevent this work to be compared to more classical novels by film or book critics.

The actors were also brilliant - the two main young female characters were convincing and very impressive - I want to congratulate the actresses. Charles Dance appears as a Victorian scholar, the role that Dance would be the best actor to play. All the supporting actors and actresses, especially Imelda Staunton was brilliant. This kind of high quality TV series is something I think my TV license fees worth paying for (although obviously I had to pay some more to get this DVD)!

I understand that the author of this novel wanted to picture the love and carnal attachment between two young women from two completely different walks of life, but I can't stop wondering if showing the lesbian love so graphically was really necessary in this drama, as the whole story would easily grab the viewers' hearts, and there are great twists, and these alone can make the whole story unpredictable and exciting, so without the sexuality parts this would have made a great film for much wider audiences (although I imagine the author wanted to set lesbianism as the central part of the context). Because of this, I don't think this will make the best choice for a family movie for Christmas.

It's a three-hour-long film including both parts, so it's quite long, but if possible I recommend you watch both parts in one day as you might get confused the different perspectives that are shown in each part. Unfortunately there are no subtitles available in this DVD. If there were, I might have added one more star to my rating.

Hope this helps and you enjoy the film. Merry Christmas!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2016
Terrible - very wooden acting, cartoonish characters, tedious & boring.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2005
The actual TV mini-series as a stand alone story was presented very well. Excellent cast, the usual quality of BBC costumes and environments, and the story itself providing twists and turns and unexpected moments.
However if you've read the book, then viewing this adaptation feels like it's missing something. The book was a "can't-put-down" thriller, with so much character development and subtle plots and sub plots. I think the TV series missed some of that intensity and depth. It's very enjoyable but fans of the book will feel it's maybe a bit average.
The DVD itself is excellent quality with a really good behind-the-scenes extra, with interviews and comments from most of the main cast. On the whole still worth 4 stars!
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
Really disappointed - turned it off 1/2 way through not a all as it was described & would not recommend
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2006
"Fingersmith" is a tale that is narrated by two orphaned girls;
Susan Trinder was raised by Mrs Sucksby, in a household of fingersmiths (pick-pocketers), in the centre of London.
Maud Lilly is a wealthy heiress, who when her mother dies, was sent to live with her Uncle in a Country Mansion.

One day Richard 'Gentleman' Rivers, arrives at Mrs Sucksby’s with an elaborate plan, which involves defrauding Maud of her inheritance.
If Sue help him, she'll get a share of the possible £30,000 inheritance. Her part in the plan is that she has pose as Maud's maid and convince her that 'Gentleman' is the man for her and that one she should marry.
Slowly a relationship develops between the two girls and as 'Gentleman's' plans take shape, Sue begins to have doubts.
The scheme is finally hatched but as Maud commences her narrative it suddenly becomes clear who has double-crossed who!!.
I honestly did not see the twist at the end of episode 1 coming. Just over 2.5hrs long ... well worth the £6 that Amazon is selling it for. 5*
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
This series in based around two females: Firstly, Sue, who is brought up by Mrs Sucksby, a surrogate mother who took Sue in as a baby. Then you had Maud, who lives with her very strict wealthy uncle. Both women are brought together, by a scam (Sue goes to work as a maid for maud), where basically Sue and a male fraudster Rivers, set to have Maud admitted to a mental health hospital. Thus, Sue would make a lot of money.

However, all is not as it seems. There are lots of deceptions going on.

As the story progresses, Maud and Sue begin to fall for one another. Both Sally Hawkins and Elaine Cassidy play their roles brilliantly within this TV adaption. What is really brilliant is that aside from all the deception, it is a love story.

A complicated plot! But beautifully told and will have you guessing till the very end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)