Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
10
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2006
It takes alot to impress me where mix albums are concerned. Of the vast collection I own, only a handful get played with any kind of frequency. The likes of Sasha & Digweed's Northern Exposure, the classic 2 Many Djs mash-ups, GU's Nick Warren in Reykjavik & Sasha in Ibiza....all legendary mixes in their own varying ways. But now I can safely add another to the Elite - Fabric22.

You just know Scratch Perverts are going to be good before you even hear them. Prime Cuts, Tony Vegas & Plus One? It doesn't get much better as a collective! In short, you need this cd in your life. As is typical of many of their sets, the first half concerns itself with hip-hop, mixing classic tracks like Roots Manuva's Witness (One Hope) with other British hip-hop like Skinnyman; bringing in Mr Scruff beats and taking the cream of the US crop in the likes of the Kanye West assisted Dilated Peoples track This Way. The Pervs very own Stand By (now used on Lucozade adverts) signals the departure of the hip-hop (but only after the monstrous bass of Dead Prez) and careers off into energy-rush inducing drum n bass, via the indie/rock tones of Ian Brown and Radiohead. The album reaches its crescendo on the ridiculously catchy Another Planet, by which time you are probably exhausted.

But not too exhausted that you couldn't listen to it again straight away. The highest praise I can give this album is that I am yet to come across anyone who doesn't love it. So many people have borrowed it off me, I've barely had it myself these past few months.

It's the mix cd for people who don't like commercial hip hop. It's the mix cd for people who don't like dance. It's the mix cd for people who don't like mix cds. It's the mix cd for people who don't even know what a mix cd is.

Just buy it - you won't regret it.

And try and get hold of their Radio One Essential Mix from 2004 - an even superior mix than this. Take the above, and throw in the likes of Metallica, RHCPs, Dizzee Rascal, Chemical Brothers and Prodigy to name but a few. Yes, exactly.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2006
Heard this album just recently now, although it has been released for nearly a year now. Scratch Perverts have pretty much chosen all the best tunes they could for this set. Not only do they play some of the best Hip Hop around but they've included some pretty great Drum and Bass too. Spot on to these boys for making such a cracking album. My only fault i found with the album, is the songs got a little dull in the middle of the cd (7-10), some pretty uniaginative selections. However saying that, the CD is one of those rare ones where you can listen to every track without having to skip. Nice One
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 April 2006
Fabric have outdone themselves with this latest offering from the extremely talented Scratch Perverts. I am not much of a hip-hop fan but I thought I would try this CD anyway and it blew me away. These guys go from rap to breaks to techno to drum n'bass seamlessly scratching away the whole time. The standout track on this album for me would be the awesome UNKLE remix of GDMFSOB by DJ Shadow and Roots Maunuva. This track marks the start of act II in the mix with up tempo beats and dance floor destroyers. Excellent stuff.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2005
They have certainly picked a good selection of tunes here! Including, Mr Scruff, the Roots, Dead Prez, Ty, Alter Ego...
It starts off more Hip-Hop style and then the last tracks progress onto a more Drum 'n Base style. Although I like D'nB I much prefered the Hip-Hop side of these tracks that luckerly take up most of the album. If you like the Scratch Perverts you bound to love this since it's all their style of tunes.
My fav tracks:
Ha Ha - Ty
Witness (Walworth Road Rocker's Dub) - Roots Manuva
Guns Are Drawn - The Roots
Hip Hop - Dead Prez
Stand By - Scratch Perverts
Rocker - Alter Ego
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2012
After reading the reviews before buying this i didn't expect much but knowing what the scratch perverts are about i still thought it would be good and what do you know it was.. the vast majority of this mix is pretty bobon done with skills and panash. To be honest i wasn't over keen on the end of mix when it goes in to drum & bass mode. After having it now for a few weeks i now think it's pretty ace. So much so its actually got me interested in D&B after along time of not listening to any.. I would highly recomend this mix fior use on your I-Pod or as i use it to play around with whiles scractching over the top.

happy listening.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2006
This is a great mix album with some wicked tracks in there! For anyone who is into good stuff like UNKLE, DJ Shadow, DJ Krush, Roots Manuva...etc! Nice mix of styles on here too, from hip-hop to break-beat, and Radiohead and Ian Brown both get a look-in too...so its all good!!! Well reccomended! Teg.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
Seamless work from the Scratch Perverts..again.
defiantly recommend. Pure gold all the way through. More like this please
smooth cherry!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2016
Definitely worth the money and came within days thank you so much 😎
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2008
Too much hype regarding this mix cd me thinks. One guy putting it up there with GU's by Sasha and Nick Warren and the gift from god that is Northern Exposure? Please!!!! How many of these hip hop / trip hop/ DnB mixes is out there? Loads and there are a good few a good bit better than this. When compared with some of the other Fabriclive set this is pretty weak. If you want a real gem from this genre buy any Dj Krush album, or Alias "The Other Side Of The Looking Glass"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2006
I can't see what the fuss is about. Up to about track 15, this is a typical, well-worn mix CD format, as 'yo, yo' corny as you like. From then on it does get interesting, to the point of being very good, but by then you'll be reaching for the paracetemol.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.75
£10.13

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)