Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
36
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 3 December 2017
Beautiful music from an excellent artist. Wonderful! !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2017
This recording contains all of Jacqueline Du Pré's best works. Can't fault this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2016
This includes so many of the worlds great cello concertos performed by this exceptionally gifted cellist. Of course, the Elgar cello concerto is included, a version which over the years, has achieved a cult status. I find I particularly like the soothing slow movement of the Boccherini concerto. Among the smaller pieces found on the third cd are such gems as Saint-Saens' 'The Swan' , and Bruch's 'Kol Nidrei. For the sentimental among us three concertos are conducted by her husband Daniel Barenboim, who, in addition, accompanies her on a number of short pieces on the piano.
This a piece of musical history.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2017
One of the finest Cellists the world has ever known (THE finest IMO), this 3 CD set offers some sublime recordings and offers outrageously good value for money. The recording quality is excellent for the age of the Master Tapes too. Five Stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2017
Very good, many thanks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2017
beautiful playing on these CD's, with the Dvorak being outstanding
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 August 2011
This is a very reasonably priced three CD set of du Pré at her best. Although I lean towards Paul Tortelier, the reasons are more historical than musical, many people consider her to be the cellist of the twentieth century and with good reason. She had the ability during her short career to bring out the true depths of feeling only the cello can achieve and few cellists.
Beginning with a piece she made her own and an early recording many consider to be the very best with the London Symphony Orchestra conducted by Sir John Barbirolli, it has a wide range of her performances including later recordings with her husband, Daniel Barenboim.
Although, both in terms of range and value for money, the other reviewer's suggestions recommending the seventeen CD set is probably true (£15 more, fourteen more CDs but I didn't see it first), this is still a good purchase and one I recommend.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2012
Jacquie’s playing is absolutely exquisite and very sensitive. She is undoubtedly the best cello player I have ever heard, and the music quality of the disc is superb.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2017
What a lovely performance from Jacqueline. She has been sadly missed, but this set of three CDs will 'bring her back to us' whenever we wish to remember her wonderful talent. Thankyou.
Margaret D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2013
Wonderfully moving music by , imo, the best cellist of the 20th century. It's a standout recording in my classical collection.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)