Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
12

on 20 June 2011
Interesting storyline and probably one of the only truly decent Game boy advanced games to exist. Game mechanics take a bit of getting used to, but still worth getting to know what happens after kingdom hearts 1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2015
Excellent arrived quickly and as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2015
Nice boxing. A little of dust in the cartridge, but easy to clean. Game works perfectly. Great buy!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2015
Quick delivary and the game is in great condtion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 June 2005
This is a great step forward for the brilliant Kingdom Hearts series. You are again in control of the hero Sora, a 14 year old boy with the power of the keyblade. This game is based inside a castle, with each floor being a different world. Many of the worlds will be familiar to you if you played Kingdom hearts for the PS2.
The whole game, including the battle system and navigation of the castle, is based on cards. This may seem complicated at first, but you will get to grips with it all eventually. The graphics are superb, some of the best I have seen for the GBA. Familiar characters will pop up throughout the game.
So, if you love Kingdom Hearts, I advise you play this game.
Graphics - 10/10
Game Play - 9.5/10
Sounds - 8/10
Overall - 9/10
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2008
The magical adventure continues.... on the GBA! Yes the series goes to an unexpected turn to your favorite portable console. Unfortunatly it's gone a bit 2-D apart from the occasional 3-D cutscene.
One thing makes this game stand out from the other KH games. Everything is (cleverly) done with cards! To progress to other worlds you use cards! To fight heartless you use cards. Even to open doors you use cards.That's how things work in the mysterious Castle Oblivion.It may sound confusing but once you've learn't and got the hang of it you'll really like it!
Some of the Disney worlds may seem a bit of a joke or just recycled from the original game but in Castle Oblivion everything becomes new and exciting!
So pick up a copy of the brdge between Kingdom Hearts and Kingdom Hearts 2!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2007
I have finished the game and I must say that it is one of the best GBA games made so far. With excellent graphics, a unique battle system and a storyline that keeps you wanting to play more this game this a must have, especially for those who played the previous Kingdom Hearts game.

Why do I say that it is such a great game? Well for those who have played the original Kingdom Hearts game on the PS2, the game is a follow up story to the sequel, Kingdom Heart2. You learn so much from the storyline from Sora reliving his memories, meeting old friends and battling old enemies too. After finishing the game with Sora, you get to play as another character in Reverse/Rebirth mode. This is just as good as the original mode, even better for some!

The battle system can be hard to handle at first and it takes time to get used to. It took my quite a while to get used to the card system personally. You use cards, which you can modify in your deck to suit the way you want to battle. Cards include attack, magic/summons, items and enemies. There are several boss battles, so they can be a bit challenging and you have to play the right cards at the right time to do the best of damage.

The only downers to this game are that it can get repetitive when fighting the same heartless again and again on one level or world. However, this can be changed if you modify your deck and try out different strategies to beat the heartless. If you do get bored of fighting (which I doubt) you can look for special treasures in certain rooms, which are in certain worlds. So you can always go back and do things, especially if you missed them (like me). You can also try getting rare treasures in special Moogle packs, in which you exchange Moogle points for cards that can be used in your deck.

Overall this game is fun for everyone, not just kids or teenagers, but adults can play on this excellent and addictive game.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 October 2005
Since the conclusion of the last Kingdom Hearts game back in 2002 (It's been too long!), many of us, myself included, were desperate to get their hands on the sequel, all because of the magic and brilliance of the storyline, the game itself, and the poignant ending that left everyone hungering for more.
Since its announcement in mid-2003 along with Kingdom Hearts 2, Chain of Memories became one of the most anticipated titles for the Game Boy Advance, and despite the game being finished way before its release date, we still had to wait several months more than Japan and the US to get our hands on the game.
Now, finally, it's here. But it is it the follow-up we were hoping for? Well, story first, game opinion later.
Chain of Memories follows on directly from the events of the last game. Sora, Donald and Goofy (along with their chronicler, Jiminy Cricket) continue their search for their friends, Riku and King Mickey. Their search leads them to Castle Oblivion, where the moment they enter, they forget all their abilities and some of their most important memories. A mysterious new character, regarded as the Unknown, appears before them and tells them that the only way to restore their memories is to venture further into the castle and fight whatever lurks on the different levels. As with the story in the last game, things are not always what they seem.
Graphically, the game is faultless. The whole Disney movie feel is recreated beautifully on the GBA and the PS2 quality cut-scenes are out of this world. When I first heard about the 3D cut-scenes being incorporated into such a tiny cartridge, I was very doubtful as to whether the GBA would be able to handle it without crashing, but it's amazing how smoothly the 3D animations run, and it's even more amazing as to how many 3D movies Square-Enix have managed to fit in.
Sound wise, the game is fine. Obviously, asking for the soundtrack the calibre of the first game in a GBA title would be asking too much, but the developers have done a brilliant job in recreating much of Kingdom Hearts' original music in MIDI format. It sounds really catchy and not in the least bit irritating. If that's not enough, voice-acting is also in the game. Although obviously not to the same extent as that in the last game, it's still great to hear Sora's voice in battle mode. I was also greatly impressed to hear 'Simple and Clean', transferred so well to the game, play during the end credits, showing that no expenses have been spared.
Gameplay is always important. Given the fact that the controls on the GBA pale greatly to that of a PS2 controller, it's obvious that you're somewhat limited in utilising moves and customising options. In Chain of Memories, you don't have a thing to worry about. As with last time, fights are in real-time, but a new card-based system allows you to perform Sora's moves with flourish. On paper it may seem that playing with this new card system is a bit complicated but like the previous combat system, it's easy to learn and it's great fun. And because the game is mostly 2D, it isn't plagued by the dire camera problems of before.
What is a dream come true is that after completing the game with Sora, players have the opportunity to play as Riku in another story that weaves in and out of Sora's tale. This adds yet another dimension to Chain of Memories and makes for all the more entertainment.
As for the story, they are a few things to nitpick about. When playing through the Disney levels, it felt as though it was just repetition of the last game's content, which is fine considering what the aim of this game is, but for me, I felt the events of the different worlds could've been reinvented a lot better than they have been.
The really interesting aspects of the story, however, are the events that take place in Castle Oblivion and the manipulations of the Organization, a party of Unknowns who are fascinating characters. Such freshness and a deeper dive into the mysteries of the Kingdom Hearts universe result in a captivating plot that is every bit as fantastic as the story in the last game. And it's made even more engrossing when played through from Riku's perspective.
So how much enjoyment will you get out of Chain of Memories? Just as much, if not more so, than the original Kingdom Hearts. On average, you're looking at forty hours gameplay playing as Sora and Riku. All Kingdom Hearts fans will not regret purchasing this. For those who haven't played the original, I recommend getting this nevertheless. It'll easily fit into the top ten list of best GBA games ever. It's a more than worthy sequel, it was well worth the wait and I look forward to Kingdom Hearts 2.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2010
The story is explained fully so its easy to slip right into it especially as i've played this game last out of all the other ones currenty available.
Some of it seems like you're just repeating what you did in Kingdom hearts I, but in theory it is, as the whole game is based off Sora's memories. The gameplay with the cards is easy to pick up and get the hang of and just as easy to master.
Some bosses are challenging but I haven't come across anything too hard.
Overall, it's a really good game and definitely worth getting I just wish they'd release the ps2 remake in europe
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2005
well i loved the orgional kingdom hearts so i had to get this game and i was not dissapointed, it kicks of with excellent graphics then you begin the game in the castle of oblivion where your memories have been taken and you must get them back. the battle system is really innovative to as it uses a card style system which is in no way turn based.
get this if you liked the orgional kingdom hearts!!!
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)