Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2007
This is a 6 track live recording of Keane back in 2004.

5 tracks from the hit album 'Hopes and Fears' and another track 'Allemande' that appeared as a B side to 'This is the last time'.

I bought this after watching the group perform live on their recent 'Under The Iron Sea' tour and great memories came flooding back.

'Somewhere Only We Know',recorded live at the Forum in London,kicks off proceedings,but finds Tom Chaplin's vocal not up to its usual high standard,although fear not,the rest more than makes up for this slow start.

'We Might As Well Be Strangers'is performed live in Berlin,'This Is The Last Time'is an acoustic version live from Toronto and 'Everybody's Changing' is caught live at the Airwaves Festival in Reykjavik

All are performed with great aplomb,proving Keane really can cut it live and are well on their way to bigger and better things.

The superb 'Bedshaped' live from The Brixton Acadamy in London is a brilliant finale that has the crowd eating out of Keane's hand as they sing along,no doubt with lighters in hand as they do so.

In between we find 'Allemande',a ballad written back in the late 90's that beautifully fits Chaplin's choiresque vocal accompanied by Rice-Oxley on piano,a song that would have graced either of Keane's two studio albums.

This is a great live offering that along with my other recent purhase,'Strangers' a dvd that also catches the band live on tour,will appeal to all Keane fans.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2010
I knew for a while KEANE but what a surprise hearing part of this disc on a music streaming site.

So, I bought it. The minimalism I love in music is there. Less instruments, but a voice ahead maybe tired (Somewhere only we know), a synth box hidden (Everybody's changing)or a simple piano (This is the last time).

Indeed, this is real music. The one lost in pre-electronic-made one, lead by pre-teens already star (for how many time?).

Please guys, carry on create and play real music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2010
As a big fan of the early Keane material this was an easy choice for me to make! The CD is a collection of 6 live songs from throughout 2004 in date order, from May 10th ; which was the exact day they released their debut album, to the height of their success that year in November. The album begins and ends with a live performance at London and in between are live recordings from Berlin, Amsterdam, Toronto and Reykjavik (in Iceland). The 4 singles are included as well as We might as well be strangers (one of my favourite from the debut album) and Allemande which Tom explains in the introduction that it's an old song which they used to perform when they were a guitar band and it was used as a B-side. It is also on the Japanese version of Hopes and fears. It's a very nice, mellow song with just piano and vocal (something Keane did best).

The artwork for this EP is pretty minimalist with an eerie drawing of a man and woman in between a record player and the inner sleeve contains just 2 pages with a picture from the last listed concert at Brixton academy. I would certainly recommend this album to any fan of the band. It will not disappoint any Keane fan because the band sounds amazing live and every song is great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2016
Keane's career had just started, and it was really boosted when Hopes And Fears was re-released as a 12-track CD in 2004. When Live Recordings 2004 was released as a European import single, it was 5 live tracks and 1 live acoustic track with impressive artwork. Sadly, it really a collectors & die-hard fans rarity item. But if you find a copy, buy it and thoroughly love it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
This was a gift that I found disappointing,As a fan I expected a bit more polished work, Heard better on full Albums.only fir die hard fans I think
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Just the 6 tracks, I would have liked to have had more but these are some of their earlier and best ones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2010
Good but their live performance not as polished as now. Still very enjoyable and well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
why are all the reviews about Keane lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
I like Keanes music and must say its good to hear that he can sing well live, not like some popstars. Good purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)