Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
16
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2017
Enjoyed the mix
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 August 2016
I really LOVE this compilation!

Featuring a plethora of little known but poptastic Psychedelic tracks from the 60's its a constantly entertaining affair with a lot of variety along the way. Aside from the music itself it comes with an EXCELLENT booklet with lots of pictures and information and comments on all of the acts. This is an especially nice touch seeing as I doubt you will have heard of many of them and helps to tell the story of WEA's attempt to put the pop in psych and make it more chart friendly. The only frustrating thing about this release is that some of the best tracks are by artists that either made only one or two singles or who had whole albums of ( on the evidence of the singles here) material rejected by the label when the single failed to sell.

Take, 'Hell Will Take Care Of Her' by Brass Buttons, for example. According to the booklet nothing more was ever heard of the group - something that will seriously depress you when you hear the song! The folk inspired title track by MC2 is also a 'lost gem' and when you read that they actually did record a whole album of material but it was never issued due to a disagreement with the groups Producer, Lenny Waranker you will feel like weeping!

There are some real 'curiosities; here as well though to keep things interesting. 'Straight Aero' being one of the more unusual because most of Jeff Thomas's other records were more in line with Country Blues than tripped out pop. The always reliable ( for something odd and different) Kim Fowley track, 'Strangers In The Sky' is a pretty unique 'Sci-Fi' mish-mash of ideas and was never going to be a hit but it says a lot now for the spirit of experimentation that was going on back then. The seven inch format was still being fully explored by artists and that made listening to new records WAY more enjoyable then than the often predictable, 'instant' stuff that gets churned out today. I also like 'Astrologically Incompatible' by The Bonniwell Music Machine for the same reason. The writer himself may not think much of it now ( he says so in the booklet) but as a songwriter myself I think its a bit of a lyrical masterpiece and very entertaining!

There are one or two tracks that are slightly under-par here but then you are always going to find that on a CD of 24 songs, aren't you? Not everything is going to 'float your particular boat', is it? Overall though, I think this is a cracking collection and one you will be sure to play time after time. Because most of the artists here are so obscure part of the appeal of this CD is that listening to these old songs now gets you dreaming of 'what might have been' both for the artists and from, I suspect, the days of your youth...

Buy This!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2017
The most important thing to me about this compilation is that it introduced me to the WONDERFUL West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band!!! Who made about 5 awesome albums, and who I love just as much as Strawberry Alarm Clock!! So.... Check out THE WEST COAST POP ART EXPERIMENTAL BAND.... NOW!! (after buying this fun compilation!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 June 2006
If you're into hard-core psych you'll probably hate this album, but if you like sunny psychedelic, honey-dripping 2-minute pop singles (along the lines of Strawberry Alarmclock or middle-period Beatles) you're gonna just lurve it. I like to play this at full volume in the garden on hot summer days. It's that kind of stuff. The Misty Wizards, The Association, Kim Fowley and Noel Harrison are all treats. There're also some old favourites: The Electric Prunes,The Monkees and The West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band. It's all good, but not to be taken too seriously. (NB: This compilation was previously released under the title "Hallucinations". My advice is always check the track list when purchasing any compliation.)
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
I took a bit of a gamble with this cd, it had a reall high rating looking at the reviews. But i am sorry to say it never paid off, the lyrics to nearly all the songs are nursery ryme type, and are sung in that type of way. The music also is very whimsical and very simple it made me think of a childrens lp, for the class room. To big of a emphasis on pop and very simple psych. If you like this simple gooey pop this should be for you, if you like your popsike a little heavier and mature stay well away. One series of cds i would recommend for some more adult like popsike would be the psychedelic pstones series i have three of them and will also be purchasing the fourth one. They are the best of all the popsike comps for me, but as with this cd its all down to your personal taste
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
With fantastic sound quality, great tracks you'll find on no other compilation, and no filler or kitschy psych pop, this CD is an all round winner. I have all the compilations, and while they vary with audio quality and rarity of the music, this CD does not suffer from any of those deficits. Amazingly, it's still going for really low prices, proving that price does not always reflect quality. This is a must have for the psych fan, especially as a lot of these songs are not easily available or would cost a lot of money to track down. Nothing is lifted from vinyl, every track sounds like it came directly from the master tape. The two EMI compilations Insane Times (UK psych) and Ah Feel Like Ahcid (US psych) are also essential compilations for the psych newbie.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2005
I discovered it was the same compilation as Hallucinations, which is excellent, but I don't really want the same tracks again because of Warners' sneaky repackaging!
If you don't have Hallucinations buy it, other wise avoid it!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2005
Apart from track 19,this album is the same as Hallucinations, a cd also released by Warner!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2017
Great selection of tracks! Some real gems, with a fascinating and excellently researched booklet. Indispensable for anyone interested in the music of the psychedelic late 60s. Superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2010
If you your Psychadelia, then this is a real bargain. There is'nt one bad track on the album, which makes you wonder how many others are out there?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)