Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
240
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 16 May 2017
Wonderful to watch the wonderful Joan Hickson as Miss Marple .
The quality doesn't seem bad at all , packaged well.
Prompt delivery , good price .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2017
One of my favourites, it gives you such a wonderful feeling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2011
From reading other reviews it would seem that there is a bit of confusion about whether or not there have been any cuts made to these episodes compared to the original BBC broadcasts.

Here are some facts courtesy of the BBC:
The series was broadcast between 26/12/1984 and 27/12/1992.
There were 16 x 50mins episodes, 1 x 115 mins episode, 3 x 110 mins episodes and 1 x 100 mins episode, making a total of 1345 mins approx.

The DVD Box set states: 'Running time 1350 mins approx'.

So it would seem there are no cuts.

Having watched most of the episodes now I am happy to report that the episodes are complete and match the original broadcast format. I hope this clears this up for everyone.

Enjoy this fabulous series!
22 Comments| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
This collection is, in my opinion, the best 'Miss Marple' set available. It is kept ready to 'fill the gap' when the TV service falls short of entartainment and/or education (which happens frequently).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 October 2007
I was surprised to discover that only 12 Marple stories had been made into Joan Hickson films - I was so sure that there were more of them when I was a child.

I honestly believe that this 'bible' of Marple films is the best available. They come contained in a lovely faux book enscribed "The Marple Collection" down the 'spine' showing that some thought had gone into the presentation of this collection, rather than just being shoved into a cheap cardboard container.

I recommend this collection to anyone (and everyone) who enjoys murder mystery genre. It's an outstanding set of films.

One down point - as usual - no extras.
22 Comments| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2016
The box set which arrived was not the one in the photograph but the cheaper £38 version and I was charged £75
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 February 2006
Note, as of 2013 this Miss Marple set has been replaced by the new BBC The Miss Marple Collection [DVD] boxed set which contains the same set of twelve DVDs repackaged into a more stackable DVD case. There's no advantage in buying this older set unless it is significantly cheaper than the replacement one. There's also no point upgrading to the new set if you have this older set, as it seems to us that there's no difference between them regarding image quality and content (we have both this older BBC Miss Marple set and the latest boxed BBC set).

----------------------

As mentioned by other reviewers, but worth repeating, if you read Agatha Christie's books Joan Hickson was Miss Marple. Every nuance of her performance is perfect, even down to clearing her throat before answering the phone. The investigating policemen also shine, i.e. Inspector Craddock, superbly played by John Castle, and Inspector ['nutty?'] Slack, equally superbly played by David Horovitch really are a joy to watch. In fact most of the clever wry humour of this series derives from the interactions between Miss Marple and the police, as wisely the murderers and victims play it very dark and straight. The complete series is a joy to watch, achieving almost Miss Marple perfection, even down to the theme tune. Perhaps surprisingly we bought this DVD set for my 11 year old daughter who loves this series despite finding Wallace & Grommet and The curse of the WereRabbit a bit frightening. 'A Pocket full of Rye' is her favourite, so it can also be a real hit with the younger generation. My personal favourite episode is 'Nemesis'. Despite Miss Marple being her favourite character, Agatha Christie only wrote these 12 novels.

Other reviewers comment that these Miss Marple episodes have been edited from that originally broadcast [while others refute this], but to be honest I can't remember that far back - they were first shown from 1984 to 1992, and my daughter loves this DVD set anyway. It seems unlikely these programs have been edited, as the BBC has gone to a lot of trouble with this set to present all the episodes serialised and sequenced exactly as they were when first broadcast. All the DVDs are English audio only [mono], with English SDH [hard of hearing] subtitles, rated PG, Regions 2+4 PAL UK, 4:3 standard TV and run-time is 1350 minutes. There's no DVD extras though, and the DVD 'book' case is attractive but a little bulky [8cm wide]. The picture quality and colour balance of this DVD set is quite good on a standard TV, although the older episodes are predictably slightly fuzzier than the later ones. This series contrasts well with the recent Geraldine McEwan's Agatha Christie's Marple, who tends towards a rather good Margaret Rutherford impression - who herself certainly wasn't Agatha Christie's idea of Miss Marple, but she was great simply as Dame Margaret Rutherford.

If I had to chose though, this Joan Hickson's adaption easily gets my vote every time. Typical Miss Marple quotes: "She looks just like an ordinary, slightly nosey, old lady, which to some extent is just what she is. Her camouflage is perfect. [But] her reasoning is flawless, her powers of synthesis formidable; and above all she never lets go". "Human nature is the same everywhere", replied Miss Marple. "He called me Nemesis, you know" said Miss Marple, "and he wasn't being entirely humorous". Top marks to the BBC for persevering and adapting all twelve Miss Marple books to such a high standard.
1010 Comments| 373 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
It was just what I wanted for the holidays!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2017
This is absolutely fabulous. I have been wanting to get it for quite a while. If you like murder mysteries, I recommend it. I haven't watched them all yet, so I can't say if they are very different from the books. [I have read all the Miss Marple books]. I recommend this set not just because the packaging is nice, but because Miss Marple was played by Joan Hickson, and in my humble opinion, she is the perfect Miss Marple. I have watched one Miss Marple story in which her character was played by another actress, and I don't think she did her justice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
What a shame the BBC doesn't do something to restore this series. It is probably one of the best things they have ever done, with superb casting - excellent old-fashioned English actors (essential in these stories), many now sadly gone for ever. Even the locations, so quintessentially English, are no longer in existence as they were when these were shot. The costumes, props, make-up, acting and settings are all perfect. The music is absolutely right, beautifully composed and performed. What a pity the beauty of all this is only seen through a fuzzy picture! It is a real masterpiece and deserves to have every film and sound expert put to work to restore it to its original glory; then it should be issued on blu-ray, like they've done with Pride and Prejudice.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)