Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

  • Lyla
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
23
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 March 2005
With the song recently played on Polish radio (?) and now everyone playing the same clip the eagerly awaited comeback single Lyla is being sung by Oasis fans everywhere.
The single is a 'grower' though and I think it doesnt have the same immediate impact as other previous first tracks from new albums (DYKWIM, Go Let it Out and Hindu Times).
The first 15 seconds really do sound like the Stones 'Street Fightin' Man' which Oasis covered on a b side previously.
The chorus "Heyyyyyyyyyyyyyy Lyla, the stars are about to fall, so what d'ya say Lylaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa" however is very catchy and after a few plays you'll be tapping your foot for sure and singing along with it.
Probably not the greatest comeback single by Oasis but the song will grow on you for sure and I think the best is yet to come on this album
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2005
I didn't know what to expect before I first heard Lyla... After the Glastonbury shows with the debut of 2 new songs "Meaning of Soul" and "A bell will ring" i was a little nervous of what this next album track would sound like.
As it happens Lyla is very upbeat and very much a feel good song ; it has some feel to it that was not present in The Hindu Times which makes it feel especially summery. The verse melody is nicked from The Rolling Stones - Street Fighting Man but who cares; the chorus is pretty catchy and Noel says this is one of the albums weaker tracks which leaves great optimism to the new album. Only criticism is the guitar lead bits sounding a bit crappy i thought; what happened to the good old guitar solos of morning glory era ?!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2005
OK so the boys have never exactly been at the forefront of originality, but hey, who cares. It seems that they have now moved towards a more 'Rolling Stones' type sound, which is no bad thing. Lyla definitely has a 'Street Fighting Man' feel about it. If this song is anything to go by, the album will be a classic, and will hopefully carry on where What's the Story left off and Be Here Now showed us flickers of.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2005
Lyla is a great song by OASIS, it grows on you, stays with you and importantly gets you pogoing!!!
Liams vocals are great, so are the lyrics-again some memorable ones by Noel showcasing his God-like genius. The guitars and drums charge the song onwards and the piano that haunts this song throughout, especially toward the end, is fantastic.
It also highlights the fact that the OASIS wall of sound is faultless and has never sounded better.
Its anthemic qualities and sheer brilliance will see Lyla go number 1 and be sung loud and proud by the OASIS brethren at every gig.
Allright kidder!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2005
...this CD could have been so much better. The production leaves a lot to be desired as the sound is tinny with bass virtually non-existant. The Oasis "wall of sound" trademark is sadly missing.
As for the songs......brilliant !. Lyla is a mid-tempo stomper which borrows from the Stones Street Fighting Man but is pure Oasis.
Eyeball Tickler is a breakneck rocker (for Oasis at least), direct and to the point, no flab just 2mins and 45 secs of what makes ya feel good.
Won't let You Down is a beautiful acoustic finale with Liam doing his finest Lennon impersonation.
So 5 stars for the songs but the rotten production lets everything down which makes me concerned for the upcoming album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2005
Blah blah blah this sounds like this, this sounds like that. Yep the usual oasis ripping everyone else off whilst Keane, Embrace, Coldplay and the Doves are all spin offs from each other.
Oasis return with a bouncy new song that has some life in it, unlike the dreariness of some so-called great bands.
It'll get your foot tapping and grows on you, it'll be stuck in your head and it'll be great to stick on full blast on your card stereo in the summer
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2005
When I first heard Lyla (I managed to catch the video exclusive on channel 4 a few months ago), I wasn't overly impressed. Maybe my expectations for Oasis to re-produce some of the material from WTS Morning Glory and Definitely Maybe were a bit high but I was pretty disappointed at how the hype built up for their brand new single of 2005 turned out to be for very little.
However, when I got the pre-release copy of Don't Believe The Truth, I listened to Lyla again and now I love it. It's by far the best song on the new album ('Keep The Dream Alive' and 'A Bell Will Ring' are pretty good too) and since then I have been unable to get that chorus out of my head - it's so damn catchy! It's definitely Oasis' biggest hit since Little By Little from their last album, Heathen Chemistry.
Musically it may not compare to some of their classics, such as Don't Look Back In Anger or Live Forever. Quite honestly the guitar solo isn't a patch on any of Noel's earlier ones. However the main riff which also grows on you is a simple variation of G and A chords, which goes to show how Noel and the boys can still create great music from 2 chords and the return of Noel's over-reverbed Les Paul guitar. Liam also does a great job on the vocals with Gem Archer and Andy Bell making a fine performance with rhythm guitar and bass.
So, all in all a great song. Truly a fantastic return to form for Oasis in nearly 3 years since their last album. My advice...sit back and let it grow on you!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2005
Oasis for me haven't really done a great album since definitely maybe, while what's the story is generally regarded as their best personally i think there was a fair amount of filler on there 'hey now' 'hello' the title track and the weakish singles 'some might say' and 'roll with it' spring to mind. So to Lyla, a very pleasant surprise indeed Oasis sound fresh and exciting again while it borrows heavily for once it actually still sounds sprightly and new and hopefully will be a good indicator for the new album. Oasis are always better when Liam takes centre stage and if this is anything to go by Oasis mania could strike yet again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2005
This feels like high hopes dashed again - a fairly decent tune marred by a monotonous stomping rhythm every bit as dull as when it was last wheeled out on "Force Of Nature". So after a minute of Zak Starky's unimaginative THUMP THUMP THUMP drumming the melody sounds tired, worn and rather dull.
Still, as ever, Liam sounds absolutely fantastic - sneering away and adding his usual bite, it's just a shame it doesn't lift the rest of the song from the doldrums.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2005
great come back for Oasis with a extremely catchy song like LYLA. Not their best ofcourse but a very oasis known single style(roll with it). The song just keeps going over and over...theres no end for this song you never get tired of heearing the same thing!..symply great.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)