Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
9
3.7 out of 5 stars


on 13 July 2005
Goodness gracious me--what a treat! This is absolutely one of the funniest DVDs I have seen in some time. A must for Python diehards, a treat for the casual fan and a real surprise for all others. I could complain about the vision quality, but I won't because it doesn't really matter, here the humor is the thing. It's the late Graham Chapman live, discussing his life and his friends in 1988. This isn't really stand-up, and it is not Python sketches, it's more a casual chat amongst friends. Feels that way, anyway. It's splendid to be able to spend a bit more time with Graham. Thanks to all who put this together!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
A wonderful relic for fans of the late, great Graham Chapman, this DVD of his lecture tour of American universities in 1988 is consistently entertaining and sometimes hilariously funny. Fans of 'An Audience With..' will be familiar with the format, a celebrity relating tales from their career in front of a live audience and the topics on offer here range from hijinks with the Dangerous Sports Club and Keith Moon, through Monty Python and on to Graham's (sadly unfulfilled) future plans.

The video quality is quite poor, the footage having been shot on what appears to be non-broadcast quality 1980s personal video cameras, but with the stories on offer, we can be thankful that this tour was recorded at all.

A little gem then, for fans of Graham and Python in general.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2006
The quality of the footage unfortunately is not the best. Looks like an amateur filming. But Graham's performance in front of the college students is a treat. He could have been a stand-up comedian. Only the good die young...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2009
When a person of great fame and genius suddenly dies before his time, opportunists everywhere attempt to 'Cash In' on that tragedy.

They re-release all of his work, repackage it as 'Memorial Tributes,' and most disgustingly of all, try to pawn off the substandard and mediocre rubbish that he would never have agreed to publish whilst he was alive.

Monet, Renoir, John Lennon, Michael Jackson, Elvis Presley, even Spike Milligan; it seems to happen whenever a great artist dies. So in the end, I should really have known better when I decided to buy this DVD.

In summary, it is a collection of American University appearances, recorded on a substandard 1980's video camera; basically consisting of Mr Chapman sitting on stage and talking to a room full of 'Monty Python' fans. And like a book of posthumously published scripts which I borrowed from the library, it was definitely not his best work.

In short then, the opportunists would try to sell an artist's shopping lists if they thought that it might turn a quick buck. Graham Chapman was the life, the soul and the very spirit of 'Monty Python.' And ignoring this rubbish, we honour his memory by remembering him as such.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
This was great fun, as the cover says footage is less than perfect but well worth it in the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
A few Chapman gems I hadn't come across before. A real loss to humanity, his early demise...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
Not a very exciting nor funny DVD. Not your fault
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2005
I haven't actually watched this programme yet, but: be aware that, although listed on Amazon as a PAL disc, this is actually a region 0 NTSC disc (which makes sense, when you consider that the footage was shot in North America).
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2008
Graham Chapman was a part of the genius of Monty Python. Sadly if I had seen this DVD before seeing Monty Python, frankly I wouldn't have bothered viewing the latter. It consists of Graham Chapman trying to be funny in front of an audience - and in my view - failing miserably. I love Monty Python, so looked forward to seeing a solo performance from Graham Chapman. I was disappointed - and I think, so will you.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)