Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
9
4.1 out of 5 stars
The Magnificent Duke
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 25 July 2017
As new for used product.
Quirky content biffyesque
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2005
this album is a fusion of two of scotlands best muscial minds. The Dragon and The Atmoshpere, or so we're told. The actuall members of the band are J.P Reid of sucioperro and Simon Neil from Biffy Clyro. This 18 track album (yes amazon got it wrong and only put a twelve track listing) is split into 3 sections. 'When the world: Explodes, Implodes and Corodes'. The first song will be Explodes, second will be Implodes and third will be Corodes and so on. The Explodes category is the hardest/screamiest section from the three. The second section, Implodes, has tracks that are softer and remind me of some of the tracks on Biffy's 'vertigo of bliss' album. The third section i cannot really describe, it is entirely instrumental and is pretty wierd.
Overall this album is magnificent and should be bought by any Biffy Clyro or Sucioperro fan, infact it should be bought by everyone. Limited to only 4000 copies so get your hands on it now.
11 Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2005
Duke! Duke! Duke! Duke! Duke!
This is how the chants will reign over crowds when Marmaduke start playing live shows. This freaky rock has influences coming in from all directions (Biffy Clyro, Pink Floyd, 65daysofstatic, At the drive-in and loads more) all put into a mixer and blached firmly for an hour and 3 stages of experimentalism. When The World Implodes, Explodes and Corrodes are the 3 stages of love and pain that Simon Neil and JP Reid drag you through. Featuring some crazy psychadelic rock to instrumental drone rock this album features some freaky stuff but is pure class.
Check this out!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2009
Some of it is nonsense, and it won't be everyone's cup of tea, but this album has awesome moments, and I think I love it even more for its adventurous, hit-and-miss stumbling. It doesn't sound like early Biffy Clyro but it does feel, to me, more like the direction I wanted them to go in - more dark, twisted and surreal but with a few 'normal' songs along the way. I also think it manages to get away with being intentionally obtuse, but not pretentious - as if all the strangeness that was missing from Biffy's over-polished Puzzle was siphoned into this CD.

The album's cut into three shuffled sections - The Implodes (acoustic) and Explodes (heavier) sections are the best, Corrodes (odd, heavy, synthy ambience with no vocals) can be a bit monotonous and I tend to skip them. The really stand-out tracks for me are A Conspiracy and a Devil and The Red & The Number, but I always find that listening back through the album, the other tracks surprise me... it's hard to match names to tracks though.

They're amazing live, much better than on CD, though be prepared for a maniacal Simon Neil in a gimp mask running through the crowd, and the rest of the band dressed in feather-crested skin tight ladies clothes while a silent figure in sparkly trousers and a plastic mask makes encouraging gestures towards the crowd. Both singers are excellent - though the songs where J.P. Reid gets more lines tend to be my favourites.

Their upcoming album Duke Pandemonium sounds like it'll be a lot more accessible - I highly recommend listening to this one first though. The fact that it's initially so hard to swallow only makes it better when you do find the bits you love. It does require you to want to like it though - I'm sure cynical listeners will find it as easy to hate as I find it to love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2009
Yeah as I said it's a great album but there are two problems. The first is the corrode sections. For those who don't know the album is split up into 3 sections, When the World: explodes, implodes and corrodes. The corrode sections are made up instrumentals and are laced throughout the album, every third track. This means there are 6 on the whole album. The main problem is that they are very dull. Considering the great riffs and samples from the rest of the album, from the second album and some of the stuff Biffy have done, it's disappointing that there isn't more variation in these, some of them are around 4 minutes long and consist of the same monotonous tune repeated.

The second problem is the overall sound. I don't know if it is mainly Simon singing as the pair blend together at times, but the general vibe from the rest of the album is quite Biffy-esque. This is not a bad thing, Biffy Clyro are great and this is almost like a 4th (or 5th or 6th by now) album, but since this is a side project, surely the idea is to go in a different musical direction, which is what they do on their second album, and is the reason that one is so much more interesting.

So overall it's a great album but it can feel a bit familiar, and those corrode sections drag it down, simple solution of course is to go through and delete those songs, unless you like any of them, but I'm reviewing what's on the disk and those sections could've been a whole lot more exciting than they are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2006
The title for my brief review roughly sums up what I feel describes the three distinct sections of the album.

"Explodes" does exactly that, with violent screaming from Simon Neil and some ingenious riffs, beats and harmonies from the two protagonists. These songs are by far the heaviest and most raw on the album. Personal favourites are "The Red and the Number", "The Kill and the Cure" and "The False and the Cinematic". Apart from displaying an impressive knack of naming these tunes very well, the duo effortlessly weave their web of lyrical intensity into the fabric of the (somewhat volatile) music.
"Implodes" explores the more introspective side of Marmaduke Duke's world. Each song makes a perfect foil for the "explosion" before it. The soothing acoustic arrangements are far from the vitriolic and desperate stances of other songs on the album. Melodies and vocal harmonies are well-wrought - this is most evident, in my opinion, in "An Egyptian and an Imposter", "An Imposter and a Magician" and "A Curse and a Coyote".

"Corrodes" is intriguing. (This section forms songs 3, 6, 9, 12, 15 and 18 - the above song list details "Explodes" and "Implodes" erroneously). Personally, it forms perhaps the weakest side of the album, but that is not to say that the music and the arrangements themselves are weak, they are not. Somehow, the music does not always "add up" and left me thinking on several instances..."well that was weird". Having said that, I suppose one would not expect anything from these two musicians that was purely straight-forward.

I know that my opinion of the album will get even better on successive hearings as I have only listened to it a handful of times so far. Altogether, the album is well worth buying, especially for fans of Biffy or Sucioperro or even, perhaps, Oceansize. Keen musicians and lyricists will not be disappointed, and those with an ear for musical innovation would do well to pick this up. Hmmm, a live show would be fascinating!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
Far from the different sound that you would expect from Biffy Clyro's Simon Neil, however, it is a great project.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
Good value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2009
I think is just a bit too mental for their own good. None of the songs leave a lasting impression and theres only a couple of good ones. The second album is tons better in my opinion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)