Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

2.2 out of 5 stars
10
2.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
7
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 May 2006
This DVD is of a dreadfully low production quality. It would appear that the author simply placed himself in front of a camcorder and pressed record. Location footage had a distinct hidden camcorder feel. Other interviews have appalling sound quality and the American narrator does not even pronounce Thames properly. Save your money as I am asking for mine back.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2006
I was wondering if I could be bothered writing this. But I thought of you, future buyer. DO NOT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE AS I DID, DON'T BUY this. It is an outrageous amateur package of appallingly poor audio & video quality not worthy of Dan Brown's masterpiece. I am not talking about the controversy about the code; everybody is entitled to their opinions; I am talking about the extremely poor quality of this shamefull piece of video. it's a rip off!!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have never found the need to give a bad review before but this package is worthy of condemnation. The filming is unbelievably amateurish and the background music is inappropriate throughout and particularly annoying when played whilst the experts talk.

Sound quality is variable and placing this with the other criticisms makes this a production that the purchaser will not want to watch or listen to. Indeed one star is too good for this.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
A faithful aaptation of Tony Hillema's novel. Exceeded expectations. The lead characters were just as I imagined Chee and Leahorn to be. The somewhat sinister setting was reminiscent of 'No Country for Old Men' (but with slightly fewer corpses) and added to the drama. Highly recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2005
Amongst the many points of reference for the "facts behin Da Vinci Code" genre, this has to be by far the poorest. It is basically divided between face-to-face bits with the charisma-lacking narrator Simon Cox, during which he nods and postulates (in fact does everything but educate), and location-shots with an unknown American narrator who can't even pronounce the place names.
The location shots are, at times, interesting, but only very rarely do they reveal anything that is useful in the context to determining the truth behind Dan Browns "facts".
The mandatory (and very lengthy) interviews with Lynn Picknett are entertaining, but once again you don't really LEARN anything. At best, all that is demonstrated is that Da Vinci had a disdain for the Catholic church, and even the evidence for that rests on considerable speculation.
The Priory of Sion is almost bypassed completely, with Cox conceding "the jury is still out on that one" (in spite of all the solid proof that exists that it was a French hoax).
About 20 minutes is spent in Rosslyn Chapel, commenting on the architecture and the scenery, with atmospheric music, but no actual relevant facts are presented.
On the whole, the DVD is extremely boring and devoid of any solid factual evidence in EITHER direction. Extremely dissappointing. For a good, concise review of the facts behind the Da Vinci Code, read "The Truth Behind the Da Vinci Code" by Richard Abanes.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
oh dear. This is just my opinion but it does come across as amateurish, almost an attempt to bring a Blair Witch feel to things. I was grateful that I had watched this on Prime as i would have been very disappointed to receive it as a DVD. Some of the scholarship that is offered as part of the Templar Revelation is dubious to the say the last and imposes 20th century values on first century actions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
Feels very amateurish. The sound quality is poor in places. If things which can be easily checked are got wrong (eg pronunciation of London's river) how much trust can be put into those which aren't?
Lots is made of the symbology of The Last Supper and how things staring you in the face (as wrong) are missed; and yet no mention was made of the (possible symbology) of the biggest wrong: people of that time did not sit up at a table as the picture shows - they reclined on cushions.
One of the speakers was very hard to take seriously as she kept reminding me of Morticia from the Addams Family or Valeria from Carry on Screaming.
Overall very amateurish and I learnt nothing new nor was persuaded on any point that was put forward as nothing was given to disprove a different, or the normal, understanding and only that this point must be right.
Doesn't allow a zero star rating I wanted to give.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2008
It seems amateurish to say the least, as others have said, it is as if he has just plonked himself down in front of a camcorder. The American narrator is awful and the pronunciation of Thames and Herod is laughable.

I also don't like the wierd camera cutting technique. I would steer clear.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2006
i have to say that this is one of the most interesting documentaries i have ever watched.
I have, for a long time been a massive fan of Da Vinci's work and after watching this feel i now understand and admire his work a lot more.
i would definatley recommend The Da Vinci code to any person that has a passion for art - infact anyone at all.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)