Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
39
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 15 October 2017
Lovely collection, caught up with a lot of stuff I didn't have
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
several tracks on here from the early days not often heard and some i have never heard.- brilliant addition to my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2017
This is an excellent cd. 3 discs of pure Deep Purple rock classics. Heavy Metal heaven! Will definitely recommend you to my friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2017
Very fast shipping... excellent CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2009
I had a few Deep Purple albums on vinyl many years ago. One was an anthology double album containing the brilliant Hallelulah. Anyway I bought this compilation cos it was sooo cheap and it had my favourite track Hallelulah on it But the whole compilation is flippin' excellent. The cover of Hendrix' Hey Joe is awesome as is Kentucky woman. It's the early pre eighties tracks that appeal to me more because of the Hammond Organ sound so I wasn't too fussed about the later stuff not being on here. Nevertheless I also purchased the album BURN alongside this and that too is brilliant. Well worth the money as none of the tracks on here seem to have been shortened. Child In Time is in its entirety.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
This is a very tricky album to review. There is no doubt, that when Deep Purple were at the top of their game they were untouchable as a heavy metal /rock band! However, that is not the whole story and to some extent this compilation album covers much of their history in telling it. The first disc is interesting. As expected it kicks off with 'Hush' and other songs from the mark 1 line up. The musicianship is excellent, but the group depend more on that as they hadn't really got strong songwriters. So they rely on quite a few cover versions of which Neil Diamond's 'Kentucky woman' really stands out and their cover of 'Hey Joe really doesn't. But towards the end of that disc and on disc two things really kick into top gear and all the old favourites are on show. This of course includes two of the greatest opening tracks to an album of all time in the shape of 'Highway Star' and 'Burn'. The only song that really lets down this part of the collection is the rather mean-spirited 'Mary Long'! But in general both the mark 2 and 3 line-ups show the group in blinding form with Richie Blackmore's unique and astounding guitar work, a rhythm section that had to be one of the most powerful and best around and in Jon Lord one of the best rock organists around!
Disc three has some interesting stuff from the Mark three line up and even includes some of mark four with Tommy Bolin replacing Richie Blackmore. However, towards the end of this disc (after the band had reformed) the band seemed to be running out of ideas with songs that often start with a good riff but rarely go anywhere.
Overall, one gets the impression that Deep Purple were a band that really shone brightly for the first part of the 70s and have rather faded since. That said, let's be thankful for those few years because when they shone bright, they were blinding! Probably worth 3 1/2 stars, but not 4!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2009
For anyone wanting an overview of Deep Purple, this 3CD set is just about unbeatable, unless you have a friend with a big DP CD collection, and is good at burning compilations. The only track that I would have added is a live version of "You Fool No-one", but that would have meant leaving something off, "Flight of the rat" is a very welcome inclusion, not usually seen on DP compilations.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
I'm very happy with the purchase of The Platinum Collection. It is a nice compilation of Deep Purple's best songs. It has the full length songs in it and they are the popular versions you expect. There have been other compilations on the market where the songs were in their short version, or were a concert recordings, rather than the studio versions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2010
Frequently underappreciated while Sabbath and Zeppelin garner most of the 70's rock era plaudits. Yes the second, Gillan, incarnation was the most powerful but this collection proves there was plenty to admire in the rest of the band's output. I might have trimmed one or two numbers and slipped on the Coverdale era 'You Full No One' (Yes he was a colossal pain in the backside but the man could sing!). Some live versions are a step up from the studio offerings but this is a very fine selection stretching from their kickstart with the hit recording of Hush to the, presumably, final phase with Ted the Mechanic and Perfect Strangers (Another record that they could have happily included another track from). Outstanding value. Lazy, Space Truckin', Highway Star and Wring That Neck are all present and correct making this a more complete and satisfying set than the other single disc 'Best of' compilations doing the rounds. If you're looking for a single Purple purchase go for this one. If you're not sure about the band get it anyway and be delighted that you took the chance.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)