Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
36
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2011
Kontroll is a fabulous Hungarian thriller that is both stylish and quick paced with a soundtrack to match. The plot centres around ticket inspector Bulscú (Sándor Csányi) and his fellow odd ball colleagues who unenthusiastically patrol the underground train line beneath Budapest.

Bulscú is an apathetic man hiding from the world above who begins to question his life as he's confronted by the threat of a serial killer stalking the platforms and discovers a beautiful female passenger who travels the line in a pink bear suit.

The underground is a dark atmospheric setting for a thriller with its pools of light and sense of urgency as people rush in and out of the station and it's like glimpsing another world. Likewise the plot rolls along as though its running out of time and as Bulscú represents the `everyman' his story is engaging enough to keep you gripped and on his side. Kontroll is a gem of European cinema with quirky characters and plenty of dark comedy to keep you invested. This is a film I will watch again and again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2011
superb original, quirky, low budget film from Hungary. Set in Budapest metro, some odd characters, well paced plot. The sub titles seem to add to the film. If you like your fims dark and almost mono chromatic under the harsh electric lighting of the metro, then you will enjoy this. Nice opening sequence of progressive strip lights striiking up along the platform as the day starts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2011
If you are fed up with Hollywood then give this a go. It has great characters a good, if weird, story line and zips along apace.

It will make you think twice before taking the Tube again!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
funny strange exiting scary had the film before but loaned out never returned had to have it again jack
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
dark and twisted film,but thoroughly enjoyable. subtitled. quirky. im just using up my word count really. films to feed your mind.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2010
Having recently visited and fell in love with Budapest myself, a Hungarian friend of mine recommended this film to me, to feed my fascination with the city and the Magyars, stating that this film is "absolutely Hungarian". I watched it, not knowing what to expect, and found myself absolutely captivated by this truly unique film, the entirety of which is set in the metro system of Budapest, albeit fictitiously enlarged and complex compared to the real one, and follows a team of ticket inspectors as they attempt (and generally fail) to catch fare dodgers on the trains, dealing with various re-appearing characters in the system. However, this story arc is really just a container for the stories of the characters themselves, focusing largely on the character of Bulcsú, who has clearly come underground to escape from some personal demons above. The film overall is quite dark but never depressingly so, it's poignant at times and downright hilarious at others. I wouldn't, however, call it a thriller. It has occasional thriller moments but the majority of the film jumps from human drama to comedy to romance to the undefinable. Definitely worth watching if you appreciate off beat films.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
I saw this film years ago and wanted to see it again, so I was really pleased to find it here. It's the kind of film which you can watch several times and keep finding something new in it. There are comic moments, sad and beautiful characters, dramatic chases, grindingly nasty reality, love, death, ambiguity and redemption - and it's also *really weird*.
You need to be able to read subtitles quickly to get the best out of this film (unless you speak Hungarian). The action gets confusing if you can't follow the dialogue, but I found it well worth the effort.
Watch it! And share it with your weirdest friends.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2006
Highly original thriller set in the Budapest Underground centres on roving teams of ticket inspectors as they spend their days "chasing non-payers",dealing with other problems such as a resident serial killer and trying to find meaning in their existance when as one character puts it "everyone hates us". Heady mix of suspense, romance, horror and comedy filtered through really good characters with a pulsing soundtrack to boot. The U.k Film Industry came up with Creep, Hungary gives us Kontroll.Spot the difference.
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2017
This film is meant to be a comedy but it isn't funny. Was it the subtitles? Has the humour been lost in translation? I don't think so. Would it make Hungarians laugh? If they like a bit of slapstick, maybe. It's one of those strange situations where I feel for the director, because I think he put a lot of effort into this. But that essential ingredient is missing. The end product is less than satisfactory. Sorry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2016
As a Hungarian descendant, its of interest to me...actually a decent film. I like films that are set in underground stations...a good scenario for an adventure!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)