Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
39
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£32.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 June 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Classic film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2007
This film has steadily accrued a lot of interest in its content over the 40 years since it was made, which has really brought a total sea change to the way we live and to social attitudes. Not just a curio though, as you will see, it is very brightly played, especially by Lynn Redgrave, who gave a performance here better than any other from her illustrious family I have seen. The crisp photography captures a pretty memorable London from an age when everybody was wanting to be seen there. The direction is typically arty, as was the fashion in British film making then, giving it a reputation it has never managed to live up to since, but then that's how good the 60s was to the Brits all round - We have never had it so good since, in any sphere, except that is, with social freedoms and attitudes toward marriage and parenthood:the underlying theme of the film. It is a pacy, entertaining slice of 60s life that should rate very highly nowadays on the nostalgia scale.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
thanks a lot!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2010
Just one big complaint about this decent, but no-frills, edition.

It is full-screen, not the 16:9 and 1:78:1 that is described on this page. It is listed the same on the DVD itself, but it is full-screen (the credits are cut off on both sides) with no other options available.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 9 September 2011
22-year old Georgina (Lynn Redgrave) is perky and funny and undeniably frumpy. She wishes she were more like her pretty (but self-centered) roommate (Charlotte Rampling) who's always being invited to parties and has a handsome boyfriend (Alan Bates). The only man who seems to want Georgy is her father's boss (James Mason), a rich and married older man who has ogled her for years.

This is a sweet comedy/romance that lacks a real Prince Charming but does have a strong woman with a huge capacity to love. Georgy ends up with someone to devote her life to, though whether it is a happy ending is left to the viewer. The spirited theme song by the Seekers was a big hit when the movie came out in 1966; it reflects the happy-go-lucky mod attitude that had taken over London at that time. Redgrave is endearing as Georgy, Rampling is suitably shrewish, Bates is a very cute cad, and Mason makes for an off-putting but convenient lecher.

The movie is engaging, funny, and touching. Recommended.
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 December 2005
A comic and mean look at love and marriage in the 60s. Lynn Redgrave plays the title role and is just right for the part – not quite pretty, not quite shapely. She plays a lumbering, warm-hearted, mumsy 22-year old, who's never been kissed. She shares a flat with pretty-bitch friend, Meredith (Rampling) who sleeps around. The latter's boyfriend Jos, played irritatingly by Alan Bates, enjoys having fun with her, but when she becomes pregnant and they marry, finds Georgy Girl more fun than his new wife. Meredith takes off, happily leaving them with the new-born child, but Georgy's intense liking for domesticity doesn't suit Jos either and they part.
The humour comes largely from Georgy's other life, in which her parents are butler and housekeeper to middle-aged northern millionaire "Mr James" played by James Mason. Unknown to her parents, Georgy has become the object of desire for their employer, who pursues her with a touch of comic desperation (and a trace of his characterization of Humbert in 'Lolita').
His acting is well up to the mark but as often in his northern characterizations, his accent is hardly convincing, belying his own Yorkshire roots.
Bates, who was much in demand in the 60s for his portrayal of feral, working-class types, gives no depth to the character of Jos, whom he plays as consistently childish and jocund, a performance which grates after a short time and it's somewhat of a relief when he departs.
Nonetheless, this is quite a period piece and worth viewing for that and for Redgrave's performance. However, the portrayal of pregnancy and motherhood as a tiresome burden will not sit well with modern audiences who have no experience or recollection of a time when kids were not a fashion accessory.
By the end of the film everybody gets what they want, or almost, and the conclusion is largely upbeat and amusing.
DVD quality is good, but no extras.
0Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2005
This is a Film that I have been after for a long time which I have always remebered from Childhood even though this has been on TV the DVD is worth having as this refects the 60's and the Taboos in those days, This Film is not only fantastic it is a must for collectors of Britsh Films, This story is simple but effective and I can't praise it enough if you don't purchase it rent it and you will see what I mean.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2009
I love this film, have done since the first time I saw it on TV. There are some great performances from the cast and though it is very much set in the times it was made the subject matter means that it hasn't dated at all. The streets of London contrasted with the claustrophobia of the flat and even the large house her father works in is a delight to behold; though I had barely been born when this film was made it is great to see the way things were back then. Lynn Redgrave, Charlotte Rampling and Alan Bates draw you into their world; sometimes with repulsion, sometimes with loathing but always and ultimately with joy - Georgy Girl ends up getting what she most wanted and that's reason enough to purchase and enjoy this gem.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2010
I've just watched this DVD and whilst I thought the film was great, I'm annoyed that the dvd had been released so badly cropped. When the credits begin you can only see half of the titles. Can't really complain I suppose, when you consider the price but I would have been prepared to pay more and have a decent scope and perhaps one or two special features.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)