Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
32
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2010
This 1990 remake of George A. Romero's classic 1968 horror film isn't bad at all (as far as remakes go). This version was written by Romero (he was also co-executive producer) but directed by Tom Savini. The good cast features Babylon 5's Patricia Tallman (who at 5' 9" is quite a tall woman), Candyman's Tony Todd, Tom Towles, from Henry: Portrait Of A Serial Killer and Bill Mosley from House Of 1000 Corpses and The Devil's Rejects.

On the whole, this remake sticks pretty close to Romero's original film but the opening scene where Barbara and Johnnie encounter Zombies in the cemetery is slightly different, the ending has been changed and does not pack as big a wallop as the original and some other aspects are a bit different. The main difference of course is that the 1968 film was filmed in black and white (although it was reissued in an awful computer-colourised version) whereas this 1990 version is in colour.

Quite a few 1960s horror films that could have been filmed in colour were filmed in black and white instead in order to achieve a certain look and create a creepy atmosphere. Prime examples of this are Alfred Hitchcock's "Psycho", Mario Bava's "The Mask Of Satan", Robert Wise's "The Haunting" and, of course, George A. Romero's "Night Of The Living Dead". I must say that the 1968 version of "NOTLD" is much creepier than the 1990 version largely because of the way it was filmed - the eerie black and white photography really adds to the overall effect and creates the right sort of mood for this type of film.

If you have not seen the original film then you will probably enjoy this remake much more than if you have seen it, if you know what I mean. It virtually goes without saying that the original has become something of a horror classic and did not really need to be remade but the remake is still an entertaining and enjoyable horror film in its own right.

This DVD features the film in its correct aspect ratio of 1.85:1 and the special features include a director's commentary, filmographies, a featurette and a trailer.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
Tom Savini remakes an absolute classic and just about gets away with it.
I bought this to replace my VHS copy, especially as the recent Blu Ray limited edition was such a botch job.
The story is surely familiar to every horror fan but Savini manages to add a twist or turn on the original which manages to keep this remake reasonably fresh.
Of course this version will never surpass or supplant the original but it's fun to watch another horror icons take on such classic material.
Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
A GOOD MOVIE - SLIGHTLY BETTER THAN THE ORIGINAL VERSION. THE BARBRA CARACTOR IS SLIGHTLY TOUGHER. THE OPENING GRAVEYARD SCENE IS A BIT MORE BRUTAL INCLUDING ANOTHER ZOMBIE WHO IS PULLING A MOONY ' HOW CHEAKY OF HIM '
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2016
Very happy with my night of the living dead DVD very good quality and picture and sound packaging was great no worries there my package came on time very pleased with the delivery on the whole delighted with my product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2009
In the late 1980s George A Romero, the man who popularised the zombie survival horror and made it a genre all of its own, realised that due to a copyright oversight he could be in danger of losing the rights to his original creation, the Night of the Living Dead. To prevent that he produced a remake to be directed by make up impresario Tom Savini that would keep the Intellectual Property rights with him.

While not a shot for shot remake this film hews so close to its template to be almost redundant at times. In fact, its one of those remakes where you notice the differences so intensely because they are cushioned in the comfortably familiar. Like the original this film sees a small cast of characters trapped in a secluded house as the dead rise and shamble toward them, seeking flesh to eat. It's the same characters although their personalities are changed in some cases, most notably Patricia Tallman's Barbra who starts out as an emotional mess but overcomes her fear to become quite effective... very much unlike the almost catatonic original. The charismatic Tony Todd's Ben is very much like the Ben of the first film, a natural leader although with possibly a shorter fuse. Tom Towles version of Harry Cooper is totally dislikeable. The character was a craven bully in the original, but here he is just totally loathsome which is a necessary trait for the films pay off (which is one of the areas in which it is markedly different from the 1968 movie).

Curiously, it's not a tremendously gory film at all, certainly it's less focused on blood and guts than either the original Dawn or Day of the Dead. The zombie make-up is pretty decent though with corpses at several stages of decomposition shambling about. Although this is absolutely a stand-alone film it's too similar to the original not to be compared to it and its not a flattering comparison. Its fine as these things go, but it lacks the claustrophobic inevitability of the original, a glossy sheen to the film makes you less interested in the characters, and some of the differences in the character's fates are less than impressive (young hick Tom is never suggested to be the brightest bulb in the box but his stupidity at the last in this version is almost epic).

Overall, retaining Intellectual Copyright is hardly the most noble of reasons to remake your own work, especially if you're not going to improve on that work, and that's the problem here. While I'd struggle to resent Romero keeping ownership of his own ideas I can't help but be struck by the pointlessness of this version. This is not bad, at times its even good, and the ending is a lot less nihilistic but its not a patch on a little movie with the same name released 22 years before it. This would be fine on late night TV, caught and watched on spec, but if you're going to buy Night of the Living Dead, buy the original instead.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
Long before Michael Bay and Hollywood remakes of literally every horror film known to man, we had this remake from 1990. In general I loathe remakes, but Night of the Living Dead is a rare exception. It's probably due to the fact that at least Romero was heavily involved in the film, with the added bonus that Tom Savini directed.

This remake pretty much follows, almost scene for scene the original with the final twenty minutes or so deviating.
At first I wasn't too sure what I was watching. The original for me at least was pure horror for the first twenty minutes, here this doesn't happen, and yet it's the final moments where the film is genuienly eerie.

Because it's an updated remake you may think that will allow for tons more blood. But if its gore you're looing for you will be very disappointed. There is very little here, but kudos to Savini for this, he character builds instead. The real FX comes in the form of the zombies themselves, which of course look brilliant.

What Savini has carefully done is pay homage to this wonderful film and also has looked after the original makers of the movie by extending copyright and freeing up royalities. This is true as Savini mentions this in the extras.

I'm not sure if this remake if being made now would be any good even if Savini were directing the film. Things and times have changed, for evidence look at how fake CGI still looks, and at how awful Land of the Dead was.

Oh and a mention to Tony Todd, everything he is in is great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2000
Tom Savini, famous for being the biker gang leader in Dawn of the Dead and the special effects man behind Friday the 13th (not to mention the guy with a pistol in his pants in From Dusk till Dawn...) bravely attempted to remake a film which defined 60s horror - and he didn't do a bad job. Obviously, someone from an FX background is going to pile on the gore (why not, eh?) but the biggest twist for me in this film was the main character, Barbara. Rather than being a typically 60s feeble heroine, eventually eaten by her undead brother, Patricia Tallman takes her life into her own hands (it seems her time on Star Trek wasn't wasted) and comes out guns blazing - a welcome twist well in with the tradition of Romero's original trilogy and in keeping with the idea that the better horror films get most of their ideas from a contemporary public consensus. It's true, should the dead walk now we'd be much better prepared than we would have 30 years ago; women wouldn't run around screaming for help like Penelope Pitstop, they'd be up there shotguns 'tchk-tchking' right beside us blokes....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Love this, sorry, I know its sacrilege, but it prefer this to the original. Same story, virtually exact same direction, damn near shot for shot most of the way through, but a bit more believable on the make up front
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
Like most remakes, spin-offs and rip-offs of George A. Romero's original "Dead" trilogy, the 1990 remake of "Night of the Living Dead" didn't exactly need to be made. Sure, the original pre-dates it by a good 20+ years and audiences are always seemingly thirsty to see a good thing come back from the dead again and again, but as it stands, Romero's seminal zombie opus is still pretty darn perfect. Nevertheless, special effects maestro Tom Savini (who worked with Romero on both "Dawn of the Dead" and "Day of the Dead") took a stab at the material and with the blessing of Romero himself (who also rewrote the script and served as a producer) set to craft his own take on the undead epic. The plot is exactly as the original - and if you haven't seen the first one, then run out of the house and get it right this second.

Anyhow, zombies immediately confront a brother and sister visiting a dead relative at a funeral. The brother gets whacked and the girl, Barbara (Patricia Tallman), makes it to safe shelter in a house with other survivors. There, they make their last stand. The movie still begins with the famous, "They're coming to get your Barbara," line from her brother.

So Barbara makes it to the house and finds essentially the same cast of characters - the heroic black leader, Ben (Tony Todd of CANDYMAN fame), the Cooper family, Tom and Judy. But there are some key twists, particularly when it comes to Barbara's character. In the original, she was a mousy and terrified woman who could barely get a peep out. Now, she is tough as nails, a sharpshooter and revels in destroying zombies. Don't forget, 1990 was right in the era of the "tough woman" era, a few years after ALIENS.

Makeup wizard Tom Savini's color remake of George A. Romero's 1968 classic follows the original almost shot-for-shot,... so quality comparisons are somewhat pointless. The result is passable, but the very fact that the original was made 22 years before makes this version seem almost dated in its restraint. And also by the time of its release, Romero had already raised the gore quotient with Dawn of the Dead (1978) and Day of the Dead (1985), so Savini's starting back at square one further lessened the impact of this pointless retread. If this version has anything to offer, it is Patricia Tallman's engaging lead performance as a gun-toting independent woman, one of this film's few elements not lifted wholesale from Romero. Despite all the negatives the film was still quite good and somewhat entertaining but the dreaded and creepy atmosphere that the original film had was severely lacking in this version, I still recommend this to horror fans though. It's definitely worth checking out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2001
I have always liked zombie films, and have watched Romeros original trilogy a number of times. But when I first saw this film in my local Blockbuster store I had to buy it. It was only avaliable to buy online. Thank God for Amazon. It is a classic film and really does what all good horror films should do. Suspense, gore and a little relieving comedy. The best thing about it is the extra twists. Having seen the 60's original you think you are gonna know what happens next...could you be more wrong. Extra gore, extra frights and one hell of a different ending make this film a great film even without its already used title.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)