Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
32
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 December 2010
A very good film. If your into zombie films & such, you'll Feckin love this. Although it's considered old now & re-make. It's still amazing. So it doesn't have all the fakey computer rubbish. That's what's so good! It still gives me the creeps to watch it over 20 years later! I watch these newer zombie films & think yeh it's good, it's got action, adventure & realistic make-up & really grusome scenes. But they don't scare me. They don't build any tension for me.
This stuff has it all! Buy it. Now....right now.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2012
This is an almost shot-to-shot remake of George A. Romero's original Night of the Living Dead, The movie is excellent and features some creepy looking zombies. Another zombie flick to add to the collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
legendary fx artist tom savini makes his landmark debut
as director in this 90's gorefest revamp of the classic
60's horror shocker night of the living dead directed by george
romero and in this version barbara is not the screaming damsel
but armed to the teeth ready to survive the hoards of zombies
that plagued an small american town house she's more of an ellen ripley
heroic type after plucking up strengh and character to overcome her hysterics
and take charge and must make it through the night or become like her lover
from the graveyard one of the walking dead and babylon 5's patricia tallman
played it spectaculary this is a horror classic of the 90's with a killer soundtrack.

review quote:BABYLON 5'S PATRICIA TALLMAN PLAYED IT SPECTACULARY-frankie smales

frankie (cool rider) smales

frankie smales tv and movie review uk
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2012
I really liked the original. When I first saw this version (on Sky many years ago well before the Dawn remake) I thought it was excellent. Having watched it a couple of times since on DVD - I remain a fan of both NOLD's (and guilty of enjoying the 1st Dawn remake- with CGI & running zombies). I agree with a number of other reviewers that occasionally the differences appear more marked because of knowledge of the first NOLD. However - "damned if you do, damned if you don't" in any sticking to the source (sauce) debate.
Effects wise this is a very different ask to (original) Dawn or Day of the Dead. Gore is fairly minimal, tension is predominently well maintained but these films are never likely to catch Academy attention.
Script and performance wise - this is a much tighter film than the NOLD with "bonus scenes" in the 3 original film box set - this is much more tense.
Great little shocker... If you are a zombie film fan, this is a fun view. If you like the original 3 "...Dead"' this is a worthy addition to it. If you are only interested in speedy storytelling over suspense or tension this may not rock your boat* (Apologies - * potential Zombie Flesh eaters & remake of Dawn of the Dead spoiler).
I was not aware of the provenance issue that brought Tom' new imagining of George' revisionist script. I think the boys done good.
^Review Title just a timeline defeating reference to the amazing original Day of the Dead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2001
this film is not that bad. it is nice to see it in colour. but the only problem is the acting was really bad. even tony todd was a bit cruddy. there are alot of conversations in this film that are started but never finish. and you end up trying to figure stuff out for yourself. if you watch it. the part which really gets you thinking is when the black guy is first introduced. you will be trying to tell him what to say but he never says it and it just makes you frustrated. i know it is confusing but you have to watch it for yourself. tom savini is the best and has done a fair good job at it. i like it how romero wrote this script to have the soft blonde girl from the original be the hero in this. pretty cool. the only thing i was upset about in this movie is that my fave character turns into a zombie. i wont say who? fun to watch!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
I loved the original version of this film even though it was in B&W but this remake is great a great horror for all zombie movie fans I'd recommend this DVD to everyone
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2000
This is the 90s remake of one of the most famous horror films of all time - "Night Of The Living Dead".
Unlike the original, and more like Dan O'Bannon's "Return Of The Living Dead", there is a mixture of comedy with the horror - most notably in the introduction of Tony Todd's "Ben", a fantastic, and hilarious character who throws molotov cocktails, cuts off doors to hammer them into windows (!) and, my favourite, acts like he's actually taking the whole thing very seriously.
There are some original elements to the film, which give it that extra lift it needs to take it from horror farce to horror brilliance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2011
This film is the exception to the rule that remakes are always worse than the original. It is actually better than the original night of the living dead. no running zombies (yes remake dawn of the dead im looking at you!!!!) tense plot. Barbra doesn't act like a deer in the head lights for the entire film until becoming zombie chow. Great acting from all the cast. Tony Todd (the guy from candy man) and Patricia Tallman (Ben and Barbra respectively) do especially well in my view. As a last point this film is more about group dynamics during a crisis than mindless gore for its own sake. if thats what you are after go buy hostel or Saw 99999999999999 ( or what ever number that silly film is up to)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2009
This one of the very few remake movies to be a lot better than the original. The movie is
A) a lot scarier.
B) Better acting.
C) Easier to Understand
d) Has 10 times better graphics than the first.

The movie is basically the original Night of the Living dead with a few altered bits. The main one being that Barbara is now a strong female leader, rather than a screaming blonde female stereotype.

First watching this movie, it's really scary. The music adds such a creepy effect. It's a fear that these zombies are coming for the survivors, and they really need to get their ideas together if they want to survive.

Overall, this movie is a lot better than the original and....SOMEONE ACTUALLY SURVIVES!!!! But i'm not saying who :P
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
A classic and quality remake.Pat Tallman is a true star! A must for any zombie/horror lover's DVD collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)