Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2015
Get this dutch print of CLASS OF 1984.
the picture quality is excellent,it's full screen.
as far as i know it's uncut.
if you have a fascination with the 80s(as i have),
watching this is a must. With extras including:
1.a making of class of 1984
2.commentary+more,good price also.This is a real winner!
"RABBITS"
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2016
good film great 80`s nostalgia
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
good service,great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 July 2013
Great film, in English with foreign subtitles. The film is hard to get on DVD so I was just glad to get it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2016
Classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
This is a small cult classic.. well acted, well directed, and of course totally over the top!

Anyway, I watched it again inBlu-ray, and happily the digital transfer and remaster job is very good, in audio and video.

As for the movie itself, you will get glued to the screen all along the way. The performances are good, direction good, screenplay works like, well, clock work.

It is over the top, obsiously exaggerated (heck, I think there was never the case of a teacher having his wife raped by four guys, and them killing them all). Also, the reasons for Steigman gang to follow him that way, and to be so utterly bad, and never being caught, are never reasonably explained... There is a brief attempt to describe Steigman as a genius with a tormented soul, but this part of the plot goes by the window fast.

Anyway, a good movie, that has stand up the test of time well.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
I just ordered this classic movie from <...> for $14.99, all Australian fans cannot get this 3 Disc Edition here, it will not send to Australia {for some stupid reason...} But anyway, i ordered this 3-Disc Deluxe Edition from the above website. The special features are a WHOPPER to behold. It has new featurettes on the actors in the film, Perry King, "Mr. Norris", i think there are a few others too. I can't wait to recieve it in the mail. One of my all-time favorite Cult Films.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
I give it 5 stars for the excellent acting on Timothy Van Patten's part as the Gang Leader, Perry King was ok but Roddy Mcdowall (who will forever be Cornelius the Chimp in Planet of the Apes to me) was outstanding to watch.
The film did'nt shock me as this is exactly what goes on in and still goes on in schools anyway and the screenplay was well thought through so it falls into that early 80's video nasty club that pushed the boundaries.
I recommend the movie to anyone who like me is curious as to what all the fuss was back then over movies that shocked but avoid if you are easily offended by strong physical and sexual violence and bad language.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2016
gritty and disturbing high school thriller about a new teachers psychotic wife who tries to use her husbands position in order to get to his new pupils. the petrified pubescents soon realize the danger and get the schools ruling gang of mad punks to try and get rid of her before she gets them. meanwhile... the teacher, oblivious to his wifes secret wicked ways, is now waging his own war on the gangs brutal control over the school, where drug pushing, prostitution and attempted murder are the only subjects for the day. all hell breaks loose and ends in the ultimate showdown on the night of the school concert, organized by the troubled teacher. can the gang prevail and save the panic-stricken pupils from impending doom? or will their personal vendetta with the teacher lead to academy armaggeddon? and how will the teacher react when he finds out the personal gut-wrenching truth behind it all?

find out (if youre tough enough) by attending ... the class of 1984.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Class of 1984 is an amazing film with the power to shock audiences even a quarter of a century after its release. I mean, this film is fearless, brutally honest, and disturbing on several levels. It's easily the most intense high school film I've ever seen. Its depiction of violence and crime in the schools has been called prophetic - and for good reason: teachers powerless to control their students, administrators unwilling to take charge, cops hamstrung by witnesses too intimidated to talk and "slap on the wrist" laws for even the most dangerous of juveniles, security guards patrolling the corridors, metal detectors at the doors, and so much more. Class of 1984 was a wake-up call that has yet to be answered all these years later.

One can only hope and pray that no public high school today is remotely like Lincoln High. When tough guy Peter Stegman (Timothy Van Patten) boasts that he runs the school, he means it. When he's not thumbing his nose at authorities or having fellow classmates assaulted, Stegman runs a bona fide criminal network, pushing drugs, pimping prostitutes, you name it. He and his gang of fellow hoodlums (including one sadistic girl) answer to no one inside or outside the graffiti-marred walls of the high school. The only person with the guts to stand up to them is, of all things, the new music teacher. Andrew Norris (Perry King) makes himself Stegman's Enemy Number One the very first day - and that initial skirmish soon, and inevitably, turns into all-out war. If there was ever an army of one, it is Andrew Norris. The principal gave up long ago, choosing to keep looking the other way as his school comes crashing down around him. The only other faculty member we get to know is biology teacher Terry Corrigan (Roddy McDowall), a broken man who relies on alcohol to get him through each miserable day. And the cops are impotent to act time and again because no witnesses are brave enough to talk. Even a young Michael Fox (sans the J. in this early role) is afraid to speak up, even after one of his friends comes to a bad end, courtesy of Stegman's illegal drug emporium.

Norris is no saint, mind you. When he's falsely accused of physically attacking Stegman, he goes a little bit off the deep end, giving the punk a strong dose of his own medicine. That's when things turn dangerous. A good thrashing is soon the least of Norris' worries, as his friend Corrigan cracks up completely, one of the few good students in the school is stabbed in the middle of the cafeteria, and no one in a position of authority is prepared to do anything at all to restore order. All the while, Norris is increasingly baited and taunted by Stegman's gang. The stage is now set for the film's rather shocking last 15-20 minutes, which begins with a surprisingly disturbing attack and just gets more and more intense from that point on. If you thought all high school orchestra performances were mind numbingly boring, you haven't seen Class of 1984; no one remains seated when this show ends.

I wasn't expecting the kind of violence this film unleashes toward the end. Although it registers much lower on the shock meter now than it did back in 1982 (one of the screenwriters, Barry Schneider, was so offended by it he had his name removed from the credits), the level of violence may turn a few people off - although I can't see how anyone can consider it unjustified.

What I found truly surprising, though, was the quality of the acting. Timothy Van Patten as a ruthless gang leader? I was expecting to devote at least a full paragraph to some good old-fashioned mockery. And Roddy McDowell? He's never been a favorite of mine, but he was incredible in this movie. Even Perry King delivered in a big way. Every which way you look at it, Class of 1984 is just a great movie.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)