Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
8
4.4 out of 5 stars
Skunkworks
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 September 2017
Best thing Bruce has ever done great collection of a different direction for him .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2010
After two hit-and-miss hard rock albums, Dickinson made the brave decision to release an 'alternative metal' album. Dickinson himself skates over this album when discussing his solo career in interviews. Personally, I think Dickinson's bravery paid off and it's my favourite of his solo work. It could very easily have been very embarrassing - a 38-year-old man trying to compete with younger, fresher alternative metal artists. While this is no 'Ritual De Lo Habitual', 'Undertow' or 'Rage Against The Machine', it's no less credible. Had he released this in '90, rather than 'Tattooed Millionaire', I'm sure he would've been taken far more seriously as a solo performer. I can't help feeling this album missed the early nineties alt-metal boat. As another review pointed out, this album is strangely reminiscent of Rush, but I think that's the use of guitar effects. Every track is cleverly arranged and catchy, yet still suits Dickinson's voice while avoiding conventional metal and heavily distorted guitars. After this album Dickinson returned to the Heavy Metal genre, directly competing with Blaze Bailey's then failing Iron Maiden...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2007
Main reason I'll put this here is to help people who're split over whether they should simply buy an original edition of this, or the one with the bonus disc.

Simply put, the bonus disc includes B-Sides and extras recorded during the "Skunkworks" era, two tracks ("I'm in a Band with an Italian Drummer", "Re-Entry") were deemed good enough to be put onto Disc 2 of Dickinson's "Best Of", and rightly so. The recording quality is just as good as the studio album itself, and parts of the disc (Mainly "God's Not Coming Back", and "I will not accept the Truth" on disc one) see Dickinson singing similarly to his later 'Maiden days, combined with the Skunkworks style, which works well. "American's Are Behind" is a very odd track, with Dickinson verging on rapping, though it's more talking very fast with a strong English accent.

The live tracks are three of the best tracks from the first disc, and the cover of Iron Maiden's "The Prisoner" sounds pretty damn good too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
When Grunge was dominating the musical spectrum, Bruce and a new band recorded this "different" album from the previous and the next ones that he has made. Although, under my point of view, this is not the best of his recordings, there are several nice songs. If you like Bruce's style of singing, this album won't disappoint you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2005
I have owned this album for many years, and I still listen to it regularly. It remains a defining piece. "Solar confinement", "I cannot accept the truth", etc ... Waouw ! What a punch. These remain in my top 10 favourite songs ever. And the whole album is for me high up there with "screaming for vengeance", "back in black", and "number of the beast" (etc...).
A MUST HAVE for metal fans.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 May 2005
In my opinion, this is Bruce Dickinson`s finest solo album. Following the experimental "Balls to Picasso", "Skunkworks" sees Bruce trying his hand at `90`s style alternative rock. It works really well, at times the tracks are reminiscent of Rush. Bruce is in fine voice and his band, which featured ex-Gun guitarist Alex Dickson, are really tight. Some of the songs are unorthodox (for metal) with the real standouts being "Back from the edge", "Solar confinement", "Innerspace" and "Strange death in paradise". The whole thing rocks hard with a really loud production. Also included on the second CD are rare out-takes and the four tracks from the now very rare "Skunkworks live EP". This is probably the furthest Bruce has ever strayed from "old school" metal and the results are fantastic and still fresh.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
I was not sure what to expect from this album as it was reputed to be unlike Bruce's other solo works. I was pleasantly surprised. Despite some of the songs being more rock and less metal as compared to say: Accident Of Birth or The Chemical Wedding, they were an interesting experiment in doing something new and different which overall worked.

The 2 CD version which I have, is recommended because of the rarities it contains on the second CD. As Bruce briefly explains in his "Greatest Hits" album, they were part of a "lost album" and Skunkworks currently has the only surving parts of it (at least until they find the missing Master tapes).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
I am not a rabid Maidenophile but every time I try to get into this I lose interest. The 90's weren't so great that a great talent had to ape the conventions. I am all for striking off in another direction but this on leads to a dead end street.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here