Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
21
Never Said Goodbye
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 December 2017
Just not as good as I expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2006
Cerys' second solo album sees her moving away from the contry-esque, bluegrass feel of cockahoop and back to a fuller band sound. However, its still a world away from Catatonia and is hard to describe what genre it falls into. There's elements of psychadelic pop, rock, and a bit of folk thrown in for good measure but what remains constant throughout is the superb standard of songwriting, which is intelligent and melodic. Cerys definitely has a 'marmite' voice - people either tend to love it or hate it. I fall into the first category and can honestly say it's never sounded better than it does now. Her vocals move effortlessly from a soothing whisper (Blue Light Alarm) to soaring (Open Roads) to all-out howling (Oxygen - probably the best song on the album) coming fairly close to her old Catatonia sound in parts. The really good thing about this release though is that it builds on her former music career and doesn't try to imitate it. The album follows a musical journey, mirroring the personal one taken by Cerys in her post Catatonia days, from escaping her problems and fleeing to America in the opening track 'Streets of New York' to finding happiness and returning home to Wales for the albums closer, the beautiful welsh-language ballad 'Elen'. A truly fantastic album that deserves the title of 2006's best kept musical secret - buy it!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2006
When I first heard this album I was a little bit disappointed, mainly because if the 'loudness' of some of the songs, on one song you can barely hear Cerys sing over the very loud drums - but after a few listens I'm completly hooked!

Streets of New York is a brilliant, upbeat opener for the CD (and the recent live shows) When Cerys sings "Please don't be alarmed, I'm at the start of something" she's not wrong.

There's a good mix of musical styles on the album from Oxygen, where Cerys lets loose for a rip roaring finish; The Endless Rain which is a slow, piano ballad and Ruby, which sounds a bit like an acid trip!

Get this album as soon as you can, you will not be disappointed!
0Comment| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 19 September 2014
There are Kate Bush albums less interesting than this follow-up to the rather twee Cock-a-Hoop. I make the comparison since both have an inherent 'sweetness' to their voices which can turn harsher when necessary, for example on the raging track Oxygen, from this excellent set of eleven songs.
Cerys Matthews is what I'd call a Good Thing. She's well established now as a radio presenter, song collector, and general good egg. This sumptuously presented digipak with booklet that includes the lyrics is a selection of thoughtfully written songs by the Welsh chanteuse, all with arrangements which complement the varied musical styles on show.
Such are Cerys's many interests and activities we perhaps don't hear as much from her as we might like, so this often breathtakingly lovely album from 2006 was doubly welcome.
To me there are no actual highlights, merely 45 minutes of likable songs that I enjoy more each time I play them.
I love her enthusiasm, and her ability to 'sing out' if the song needs some welly. To labour the Kate Bush comparison again, to my ears this is a more memorable album than the latter's Aerial, released nine months earlier. It doesn't meander or drift, there's substance here, coherence too.
A fellow-reviewer has said this is clever and fun - I couldn't agree more. I like this album a lot. It has integrity and, in its own modest way, a sassy kind of class.
The final song Elen is sung in Welsh, and closes this rather special event with a gentle, caressing beauty.

Hyfryd, Cerys!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2007
I took a punt on this, having loved the first Catatonia album and disliked the subsequent ones. I'm so glad I did, it's the best album I've bought in years. It's a complete mix of styles, even within songs, but it works. Clever and FUN.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2006
Seriously the best album I have heard for years! I cannot say anymore - just buy it and see for yourselves!!!

Thanks Cerys Simply Amazing xxx
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2013
Another unusual and wonderful album of music from this interesting singer. Am just now catching up with her older music. Good value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2011
Once again Cerys Matthews has released an excellent solo album, her voice is amazing - can listen to her all day long.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2015
I enjoyed the album and having the booklet helped to confirm some of the lyrics . I love Cerys's voice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2016
Interesting album, different to previous ones I have listened to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Cockahoop
£11.05
TIR
£14.06
Explorer
£14.78

Need customer service? Click here