Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
31
Want Two
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 December 2014
I thought 'Want One' was good, but this is excellent! It's funny how these songs get into your brain an' you get enjoyment every time. Three tracks stick particularly come to mind. The cuteness of 'Little Sister', the heart-rendering "The Art Teacher' and the exuberance and outstanding musicality of 'Old Whore's Diet'. Truly fantastic album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2017
I love Rufus, I have all his cds, this is a gift for a friend. She loves him too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2018
incredible!!!! cheers Roberto
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2018
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2015
FINE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2005
I bought this cd purely on the basis of loving the previous "want one". Rufus grows on you, you have to listen carefully to the lyrics, which are brilliant. But I thought I had a damaged cd because the first track, Agnus Dei starts out sounding like a record needle that is scratching, rather than a melody or rhythm of any kind. I tried the cd on my desktop computer, then my laptop and finally my stereo system. Still thinking the disk was damaged, I cleaned it. Then I bought another copy. Guess what? It's meant to sound that way, but hey, you never know!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2014
The content is fine and the disks were as described but when the whole structure of the case is broken then there's no point in lying and pretending that I'm happy with this as a purchase. Either Royal Mail need some therapy, some kind of anger management so that parcels aren't abused in transit, or sellers need to be more clear about the state of goods.
Jury's out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2017
It makes me kind of sad listening to Wants One and Two, and Rufus' preceding albums. After scaling such dizzying heights it was downhill all the way after this - when he stuck to making straightforward albums (Release The Stars etc) the quality of the songs just wasn't there, and as for his sonnets, Judy garland obsession and operas, well...maybe the less said the better. It seemed like fame, celebrity friends, the whole "fabulous" experience had turned his head. Still , he sold a lot of albums and tickets, so who am I to judge?
As to this album, it is quite simply perfect. I didn't think Want One could be bettered, but Two achieves the feat. The standard of songwriting, playing and the delicious, lush production are all staggering. The Art Teacher almost reduces me to tears even now, 13 years after I first heard it - a crushing tale of a young girl's heart being stolen and never returned, achingly performed. Rufus has never sung better, though on songs such as Crumb By Crumb, Memphis Skyline and Peach Trees he has a damn good try. His voice soars, he inhabits the songs completely. Listening to this album is an emotional experience. Old Whore's Diet (as you might guess from the title) is a strange one, with Anohni (Or Antony Johnson, as she was then known) contributing excellently straight-faced vocals alongside Rufus and a wonderful band and orchestra performance, playing as though grappling with a lost masterpiece by Paganini. Similarly unusual in style is Little Sister, a sort of minuet but with Rufus' "between his teeth" singing making it something special. There really is not a bad moment on this album (the bonus French language songs are superfluous, but do not detract from the brilliance of the piece overall).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2005
Rufus has suggested that this album is the leftovers of the "Want One" recordings but I think he's being overly modest. This is THE most eclectic material of his canon so far but that shouldn't suggest a lowering of quality. From the first song, "Agnus Dei", a hymn to God, to the last, "The Old Whore's Diet", which is a reference to God knows what, the CD is chock full of originality, beautiful arrangements, and heart breaking honesty. Elton John called him the most important composer alive at the moment, and this shouldn't be disregarded despite your view of Elton's current viability as a contemporary performer. Elton knows quality, and he's passing on the baton that Brian Wilson handed to Elton when he heard his output from the 1970's. Rufus has altered my life and I swear I'm not indulging in hyperbole.
I honestly believe this CD will be the beginning of the worlds' recognition of an honest-to-God genius; failing that, I'll know the truth.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 February 2007
I'm still a little undecided about RW. There's no questioning the care he gives each song. The arrangements are classy even when it's just him and piano on the French language number near the end of this album. The lyrics too always have much resonance. But his voice, which is technically fine, does pall at times. Its nasal, droning quality is overt on 'Agnus Dei', an exquisite blend of East and West. On the next track, RW jumps to straight, beaty pop with caviare. No expense is spared. Thereafter, each track is fine in its own right, but RW's mix of drawl, drone and slur is a bit much after a while. His 'Dream' song, though, is inspired, while 'Old Whore's Diet' takes off in another direction, with its insistent lyric and latin rhythm. 'Want Two' is cut from the same cloth as its predecessor, but comes across more as a collection of disparate tracks, whereas 'Want One' is more of a unified tapestry. The songs are, on the whole, as good, but 'Want One' probably shades it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Want One
£5.70
Rufus Wainwright
£5.64
Poses
£5.15
Out Of The Game
£8.78

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)