Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
18
3.7 out of 5 stars
The Doll Master [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.36+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 October 2016
In this 2004 fantasy revenge horror a man fell in love with a woman and made a doll in her image but his love was so strong it gave the doll a soul so when the woman was found murdered and the doll-maker was killed by vigilantes, the doll remained by his grave for 60 years before she was discovered. As five individuals come together to have dolls made of them, the doll' soul seeks revenge.
The premise for this is superb, but sadly, somehow it didn’t quite grab me. All the elements were there: a good location, decent plot, creepy music, beautiful women and hunky guys, it actually generated a few jumpy moments being quite intense throughout. I think a lot had to do with the long winded translation where everyone insisted on calling everyone by name as they talked to them –like it was a sales convention, I found I was name reading more than plot reading.
The single disc loads to play, chapters, set up [stereo 2.0 default/5.1, subtitles on/off] and extras [making of, deleted scenes, 2 interviews, theatrical trailer and 5 other releases]. Rated 18, this has swearing but it’s not translated into the subtitles. There is no sex or nudity,it but does have intense scenes, gruesome moments and some very scary mannequins. Well worth a try but not quite top marks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
A rather disappointing Korean horror. The film begins with a rather clichéd set up whereby a group of people, each displaying their own quite obvious character flaws; (the narcissist, the sleaze-ball, the unhinged insane one) are invited to a huge house where most will inevitably be killed. And as usual, there's no phone signal. In spite of that, the house full of disturbing-looking dolls could have provided the set-up for a well constructed horror. There are things which just make no sense and the characters are so one-dimensional there's no real empathy for most of them when anything happens. Even the main character, as she never shows any compassion for the evident heart-break she caused through her childish carelessness. Without spoiling things, it is not clear why the accomplice went along with the sick plan. How did Mi-Na come to be like a real person as well as in doll form? Once you find out who/what is responsible for the killings, how can occurrences of the dolls moving of their own volition be explained? And what went on with the Oldboy doppleganger husband that led to him being tied up like an animal? Too many gaps and gore and not enough plot and consideration. As a fan of Japanese horrors, I was hoping for something cleverer and more engaging than what this film had to offer. And it seems like the dolls of this film have more heart than the real life-forms.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2017
This was a above average horror, Good story! Doll goes on revenge rampage ! Some gory scenes (wont frighten u much)! Worth a look ,Good english subtitles ,that dont go to fast so u can enjoy film,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2012
While this film is far from the scariest Korean release and does lack a little originality on the main theme (Horrors with dolls have been running for years) this is till a great film in it's own right.

The acting is just superb and the story is very entertaining. There are a couple of good jump scares along the way, however I would describe it as creepy rather than scary. As others have said, not the finest release but still something thoroughly entertaining.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2005
Although some of the elements are in danger of being done to death within the genre (ghostly, ebony-haired females, inanimate objects turning into killers) I found this film entertaining and well directed throughout, with a couple of unpredictable twists. The premise sees a group of youngsters (don't worry, there's only one dizzy teen!) drawn to an isolated mansion to take part in a modelling project for a pair of sinister dollmakers_ or so they think. The glaring mannequinns that hang around the house like bats lend a spooky voyeuristic presence throughout, particularly in the first night scene. There is also something of The Pit and the Pendulum about it in parts, with a dark secret hidden from the guests in the darkest bowel of the building that plays a part in the conclusion. Watch alone at night for best effect.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
The customer reviews ratings reveal alot about this film, all reviews are between two and four stars and this is fair. It's not one star bad but also not five star great.
I think your enjoyment of this film comes down to how much you love/fear dolls.
A South Korean film, it's an interesting mix of creepy Japanese scares and the clever twisty plot that Korean films such as a tale of two sisters have.
The problem is its not quite as creepy as the best J-horror and the plot not as clever or unpredictable as you'd hope.
But this is quite a low budget film. Imagine one of the best direct to DVD films or a film you catch late at night on the television that turns out to be great.
It's not a masterpiece, far from it, but it's a good film and you'll watch it once and really enjoy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2005
I really enjoyed this film. My room is filled with scary dolls so this probably affected me more than most people. It wasn't really scary, just odd and my partner guessed what was going on about 20 minutes into the film. I enjoyed it. The characters are your typical annoying, teen slasher chars, you're not bothered as they will probably die. And by the end you want the lead to die as she just screams....constantly. But overall, I enjoyed it, it's not the best, but far from the worst. Maybe rent instead of buying.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2012
Whilst this film may not be perfect, I think it has enough to warrant it's first 5 star review.
The film is well acted, well filmed and has a good story to it. It's not particularly scary but
it has a creepy atmosphere that makes it unsettling to watch at times. It also made me feel genuinely sad for
one of the characters (this is not something that happens often!).

I suggest you give it a watch and see what you think, it might not be your cup of tea but it's a
good film and I think there is definitely something to be enjoyed within it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2012
Dolls are scary...some are really scary...

Not a bad movie, but not great. It has some really scary stuff, but in overal the movie is slow and ending kinda boring.
But I liked it for the original scary dolls (and the one in there room... OOOH GOD WHY!!!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2016
A must for BJD (ball jointed doll) collectors, an absolute delight to see these dolls focused on so much. The plot is pretty transparent, and it's certainly not frightening, more jumps than frights. But I thoroughly enjoyed it and well worth buying to keep.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)