Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 February 2009
Transmit Disrupt is, quite simply a fasinating mix of angst and melody all rapped up in a collection of beautifully produced songs. 50 minutes of music that is as good as it gets in my opinion and well deserving of a place at the top table. If you're a fan of Hundred Reasons and Jetplane Landing you've probably invested in this masterpiece which I believe offers just that bit more than 'The Neon Handshake'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2007
This album by Hi4H is definetly different to the neon handshake, however it seems people are all to ready to think thats a bad thing, ITS NOT!

This album builds on their previous ideas and brings a new maturity to the table, if you loved the first album buy this, nuture it, and realise what an utterly amazing band these guys are.

Crank the volume knob to the max and let yourself go...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2005
My first experience of HIFH was at a leeds festival a few years back, I fought my way to the front two bands before to ensure I was there for when they started. Those two bands were terrible, dampening my hopes for the quality of 'Heroes live performance. What followed left me wandering around disorientated wondering what just happened to me, they rocked until my brain turned to mush! It was the highlight of the festival, outshining even the mighty Mettallica in my opinion.
Being a huge fan (I collect all of their releases) I have heard quite a large amount of Transmit Disrupt already on various singles as B sides or limited releases, and its quality is still awesome. I have to say it does not sound quite as polished as 'The Neon Handshake' but it is quite diffrent, which is a nice suprise. I would recommend the first album if your new to these guys, but if your already a fan this is a forgone conclusion, order it now!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2005
I'm going to try and even up the Review balance here: This is a good album, but it doesn't sound like The Neon Handshake.
What's happening is HIFH are making a *new* album and going for a *new* sound. The Neon Handshake was brilliant, but just because this album doesn't sound exactly the same doesn't mean it's bad.
I've noticed several attacks on the vocals: I think that Justin's singing has improved since Handshake. His singing is certainly still in tune, his range still incredible. On Transmit Disrupt he is breaking away from predictable melodies and exploring the musical spectrum vocally.
There are some very un-Neon Handshake songs on here - almost techno/dream metal - which are unexpected but not unattractive.
Complaints about the quality of the recording should also be ignored - it is a brilliantly made record (even the last two tracks) but again does not conform with the style set by The Neon Handshake.
I would reccomend this album to anybody who doesn't mind heavy music with a twist.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2005
My hopes were high for this release, the follow up to the fantastic 'The neon handshake' released a couple of years back. These were confirmed when my copy of 'Transmit Disrupt' arrived in the post. Immediately I fell in love which has barely left my stereo rotation in the past week. The band combine great riffage, experimental sections with a fantastic groove and almost unparalleled technical drumming. The vocals are fantastic and HIFH have created track after track of memorable mosh pit anthems. Stand out tracks include singles 'Kamichi' and 'Models for the programme', 'They will call us savages', 'Silent as the grave' and 'Discos and casinos'. A fantastic album that any self respecting rock fan should add to their collection pronto!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
All bands that want to get somewhere have to keep moving, and the Heroes have done this with "Transmit Disrupt." Taking the post-hardcore/power-punk of "The Neon Handshake" and pushing into more complex musical arrangements, deeper lyrics and a far more original sound, Hell Is For Heroes might find that they have isolated some fans in the short term. In the long term, however, it is this progressive attitude that keeps the band alive and "Transmit Disrupt" is certainly alive and kicking. With far more variation than the debut album, T/D will probably find different highs and lows with each individual. Personally, I love the powerful rock songs that have a deeper edge than anything found on "The Neon Handshake." They Will Call Us Savages, Silent As The Grave and Quiet Riot all maintain the raw power of the Heroes' original sound, but also introduce more delicate guitar playing and more passionate arrangements. The ventures into a more mellow sound (including the title track Transmit Disrupt) are equally succesful, although at first a little eerie and unfamiliar. Electronic songs such as the instrumentals seem to fit far better with Hell Is For Heroes, and although they take a back seat in this album I wouldn't be surprised if more electronic elements were introduced as the band moves along its musical journey.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 March 2005
When Hell is for Heroes were dumped by the major label EMI, a lot of people were asking, what next for the band? would they be able to produce such good music again on a smaller label? the answer, most definitly is yes. If anything, they have vastly improved their post hardcore sound into a sound that they can call their own. It seems as though this time the band themselves have produced the sound they want, not to conform to EMI's idea of what post hardcore should be. The sound is raw and exemplifies Justin's endless energetic vocals. The drumming again is a very strong focal point of the music and has also improved. But what is most important is that the whole band are tight and have found that perfect formula to create an excellent uplifting and throughly original sound that they can call their own. Best Songs: They Will Call Us Savages and Discos and Casinos. Long live HIFH!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2005
This is brilliant. I brought HIFH'S first album when i read a review of it. I was not disappointed it was excellant because it includes the kind of songs that stayed in your head for hours. However when they were dumped by EMI i thought that it would spell the end for HIFH but thankfully it didn't. You can tell that their DIY approach has worked. When tracks like 'Kamichi', 'Models for the Program' and 'Folded Paper Figures' are played you realise that HIFH are not one ablum wonders that some have dubbed them. If anything this album is better than the first. Also I went to see HIFH live at the London Astoria when they supported Biffy Clyro. Where they simply mind blowing. So if your a true rocker then this ablum must be in your collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2016
Christmas present for my daughter
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2005
HI4H's new album is a definate progression from their first. I'm a big HI4H fan and thought their first album was brilliant. The band always possessed a certain maturity to their songwriting that you don't find in similar bands like Finch and Boysetsfire. On this album they have tried to take that songwriting to the next stage, introducing different musical ideas and concepts into the pretty templated Hardcore/Emo genre.
Tracks 1,2,4,7,8 are the standout tracks for me with ;They will call us savages' being my personal favourite. However you get the impression this album was made on a budget and they ran out of money towards the end. The last 3 tracks are probaly the worst HI4H have done, with the ending instrumental just feeling like a tacky 'unfinished song' tagged on the end. If all the tracks were as good as Savages etc, then this could've been album of the year. Still, a pleasing result.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)